We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Save Saved
You added Los Feliz Lodge to your Saves list
1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and friendly apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the Green Casita for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Los Feliz is perfect if you want to get away from the more touristy side of LA and relax in quiet palm-lined streets. (the lodge's own little courtyard was very sweet).

I found it a great base for visiting Universal, and for taking a trip up to Frank Lloyd Wright's two local houses.

Jacob was extremely helpful and friendly. And you couldn't have asked for a more comprehensive guide to the local area. He recommended a great coffee shop in nearby Silverlake: 'Intelligentsia' and a lovely french restaurant. Both were very nice and made us feel like we were living like locals.

I'd visit every year if I could!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I can't say enough good things about The Los Feliz Lodge. What a wonderful contrast to the typical hotel experience. Our apartment was spanking clean, cheerfully decorated, well equipped and had a great view of the sunny neighborhood. Jacob Jurado welcomed us warmly, provided additional towels upon request but was respectfully unobtrusive. The property is well maintained. A guest book provides all the information you need to explore the neighborhood. Instructions on how to use the air conditioner, heat and TV are illustrated with photographs to help figure out operations. I especially liked the coffee page telling guests where to go to get coffee fast, Starbucks, a Good Cup of Coffee and place to have coffee and hang out. You bet the next time I am in LA I will be staying at the Los Feliz Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week in February in the Red Casita. Was a great location away from the hype of Hollywood and within walking distance of many cafes and restaraunts. It was also a short walk to the Red line underground train which could take you to Hollywood or Union Station. Nice apartments but there is a big difference between Retro and old and renovated. Lots of light coming into the bedroom at night made it hard to sleep. It would be nice to have better curtains to block out some light. My other concerns were heating. We were there in winter and had trouble getting heating working and on most mornings and nights it just did not work. Would also suggest a full size ironing board rather than a small benchtop one which is as good as useless.

Be aware that most taxis and shuttle services have difficulty finding it even though you tell them it is on the corner of Sunset Drive and not Sunset Boulevard.

Overall a good place to stay in a good location, some very small changes would make this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for a
week in January and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

We lived in the "Red Casita" - a gorgeous little apartment with everything we needed (and more) in order to feel at home during our vacation. It's situated in a quiet little neighbourhood but within a short walking distance to all the great little bars, boutiques and restaurants Hillhurst & Vermont have to offer. The owners have thoughtfully placed a handbook of useful information on the area, telephone numbers, flyers & recommendations for restaurants etc in the apartment which we made full use of. We also loved the free wi-fi.

The gorgeous Vista Theatre is a couple of blocks away and the Sunset/Vermont metro station is a mere 5 blocks which makes getting to the rest of Los Angeles very easy. In addition to this, there's tons of buses that run regularly (and quickly) to places like The Glendale Galleria & The Grove.

This was the first time we've visited Los Angeles and NOT stayed in a hotel - we loved the independence of having our own apartment and felt very safe & secure. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Far exceeded my expectations. Normally 'lodge' insinuates low standards, motel feel & dirty rooms; quite the opposite here. Beautiful spacious 1 br apartment (villa) w/ super comfortable cal king, full living room, dining room, kitchen. Bathroom somewhat small, but the shower is perfect & all bathroom necessities are stocked. Shower head that's 7' high, as opposed to the normal 5' which is important when you're over 6' tall. Fully stocked kitchen. Washer & dryer (?!) Everything you need is strategically placed and well thought out, and has a hip, modern design feel. Jacob (mgr) is there to answer your call or text for any reason, and has a great attitude even if you are a P.I.T.A. guest like myself, calling w/questions that are already answered in the in-room guide book. You could pay the same $ at many of these other places and have an entirely different experience. Felt like I was at home.

Only 2 things with room for improvement; some of the drapes throughout dining room & LR were not big/dark enough to cover the windows for total privacy; & the tv in the LR was too small. Neither would prevent me from coming back or from referring friends. This place is phenomenal. I'll be back. Maybe even this weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in unit 1503 for five nights in early Sept. Very comfortable apt and great location. We had some problems with the wireless and had to call the managers numerous times to restart the router. They were not only quick and responsive when we called, they were also very apologetic about the problem, which kept recurring. After we got home, they apologized again and deducted one night's fee from our bill which was very generous. Excellent service. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The unit we had was bright with a good view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Excellent location, very original and confortable. Ideal for a short stay in a lovely neighbourhood in LA (Silverlake / Los Feliz). The 1920 lodges have been tastefully renovated. We stayed in Green Casita. It was nicely decorated and spacious. The kitchen is very nice and new. The bedding is good. The bathroom is a bit old but it's ok. You can park easily near the lodges and the area is quiet.
The lodges are ideally situated at the end of Sunset Bd and Hollywood Bd. The neighbourhood is very nice and peaceful. We wanted an area where you can walk to shops and to restaurants and it is the case. There are a lot of super restaurants as well as cafés nearby, there is also a lovely vintage cinema (5 mn walk) and handy supermarkets. By car all the touristic areas are within 10 minutes, which is wonderful.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Feliz Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.