We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Save
You added Los Feliz Lodge to your Saves list
1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

After one horribly creepy night at The Hollywood Hotel, The Los Feliz Lodge felt like heaven! My boyfriend and I stayed in the Green Casita and loved it. It was perfect for us-- right in Los Feliz, a really cute area, nice bed, great kitchen, clean bathroom, cute living room-- it felt like we lived in our own bungalow in LA. The owner is laid back and nice, the neighborhood is quiet, cute restaurants and shops are just a few blocks away. The place is decorated in a unique and eco-friendly way-- it looks just like the pictures on the website. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Arrived after dark on a weeknight and got in without any issues. Went about a mile to Hillhurst Ave and there are several quaint and very good restaurants. Spent the morning walking around the neighborhood enjoying the architecture. The room (really a small apartment-- The Blue Casita) was very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. I didn't use the kitchen but it appeared to be in good working order. Loved that the bathroom had been kept historically correct but very clean, and also liked having the windows open. Felt like I was visiting a friend's apartment. Excellent recommendations in the info book provided by the owners/management.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We saw the photos and reviews on line and thought the place looked wonderful. However, we were given one of the two units in the building on the corner (1503) which are apparently in much poorer shape. Tired old bathroom fixtures, torn upholstery, curtains that don't cover windows, horrible paint job (both in quality and in taste), quite ugly (not cool kitschy) taste in decorating, and general signs of neglect. Even the teakettle was long past safe usage. Were promised an air bed in the living room but owners forgot and then just dumped it with a separate pump and wrong-size sheets balled up in a bag for us to sort out. All in all, quite misleading advertising--bait and switch. Very disappointing!!

Room Tip: Funky is not always artsy or welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed in the Red Casita for three nights. We wanted to stay at a place that was affordable, fun/cool/cute etc. close to my best friend's house, and was located in the Los Feliz/Silverlake neighborhoods as we are thinking of moving to the area. Los Feliz Lodge met- and exceeded- all of our criteria! Its basically a hip little 1920's bungalow apt. nestled in the small gated cluster that is the lodge. The Red Casita is light-filled and adorable, with a lovely view of the neighborhood and a full kitchen (with a dishwasher!). The lodge is very eco-concious, using earth friendly cleaning products, bamboo fiber textiles, and recycling bins in the kitchen. GREAT location, quite close to Silverlake shops, restaurants, and bars. My only complaint was that the bathroom was a little bit moldy, and I think it was because of this that the towels smelled of mold as soon as they were wet. Was it something that would keep me from staying here again? Absolutely not! Wonderful place to stay and hope to again on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Los Feliz Lodge is a delightful, small inn conveniently located in the heart of Los Angeles, in a quiet area between the bright lights of downtown and Hollywood. We had the pleasure of staying in the Red Casita, a wonderfully furnished small apartment with views of both the quaint courtyard and the surrounding hills. Our casita had a small kitchen, a separate bedroom with a big, comfortable bed, and a nice patio that was great for sipping coffee in the morning. And, while parking is only available on the street, we did not have any problems finding a place to park our car at all hours of the day and night.

The owners of the Los Feliz Lodge have put together a nice guide for the surrounding neighborhood, with recommendations for many restaurants, coffee shops, and even bookstores and shopping that help to make this area unique. While we didn't have time to enjoy many of these establishments, this personal touch was greatly appreciated and would be helpful for a longer stay.

In our short time at the Los Feliz Lodge, we found this establishment to be a charming, beautiful place to stay. It's a must for people who would rather have a quiet, unique lodging experience instead of staying in the heart of LA's hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

The lodge is a very clean and tidy one bedroom house.
The decor is tasteful with a mixed style.
It is well located, and the surroundings are peaceful and residential.
Good privacy as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My sister and I were looking for a place close to the Hollywood Bowl since the concerts go late and we didn't want to drive around L.A. at night. This was just right. An interesting bohemian neighborhood that I never saw before. I usually stay in Bev Hills or Santa Monica but I would not hesitate to return here. It felt more like a "home". There was a great notebook of local shops and walks to take- very thoughtful owners who obviously take alot of pride in their lodge. We loved the space, the tidy kitchen,the desk area for our laptop, even a washer/dryer. We woke to birds chirping and had coffee outside next to a lavender bush. This is not your typical LA experience-far better actually.
Watch out for parking tickets. Two mornings/week they clean the streets. A few of us got them due to not reading the signs carefully. We parked on the wrong side one night.
I live in San Diego and thought I knew LA- I was wrong.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N. Hoover Street, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Feliz Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.