We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nethercutt Museum

Nethercutt Museum
15151 Bledsoe St, Sylmar, Los Angeles, CA 91342 (North San Fernando Valley)
818 364 6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Grand Salon showcases cars of the 1910s to 1930s. There are also collections of furniture, dolls, timepieces and one of the world's finest collections of mechanical musical instruments.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thanks to California's gold episode for my visit to Nethercutt Museum there is not much to see in the area besides the museum that I am aware of but the museum was awesome I loved all the antique cars and going out and taking picture of the train.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    33
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding and It is Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You can sign up online for a 2 hour tour beginning at 10:00 am or 1:30 pm. You should take the tour, since you will see things you cannot see without the tour. After the tour, go across the street to tour the Nethercutt antique autos on your own. They are amazing. On the 2 hour tour you will see automobiles, musical instruments, dolls and a host of other collectibles. you will also be entertained by a Wurlitzer organ. Everything is free including parking. This is a must do. If you take the tour, allow 3 to 4 hours for everything.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Truly amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Nethercutt is some way north of town and we might have given it a miss had it not fitted in well with returning our hire car to Burbank airport. We are very glad we didn't. It is housed in a modern building and shows a larger number of cars ranging from the late 19th to the mid 20th century, many rare, a few unique. Being Brits, some of the names were unfamiliar to us but that didn't stop us marvelling at the standard of restoration of most of them, though the condition of some of the unrestored ones was also impressive. We couldn't get into the Collection which must be booked in advance and, we understand, books up a month ahead. We did, however, get to see the Canadian Pacific Loco and private carriage outside, both very impressive. Finally, if you visit make sure you search out the mechanical violin. Very clever.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This has to be one of the best attractions we have ever been to. All free and very friendly guides. You must make reservations about a month or more ahead unless someone cancels their tour. The museum alone is well worth the time to go. The exhibits are beyond description. Just go you will miss a fantastic time if you skip this stop on your trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Car nuts rejoice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Antique cars in pristine condition with very good information. Good family outing or outing for a group of guys.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nethercutt Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nethercutt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nethercutt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.