We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with just one problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5638 Sepulveda Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91411   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Woods, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good with just one problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites L.A./Sherman Oaks was a mixed bag. The good points are: The lobby is very pleasant and the breakfast area is set up so that the items are easy to get to, etc. Not many tables, but the lobby seating is incorporated with low tables, so that space is functional. They also have stools at a breakfast bar. We had a room with 2 queen beds. Very lovely. We especially liked the big, curved desk and comfortable office chair. Perfect for a business traveler. They provide a nice charging device on the nightstand, so no shortage of plugs! Love the big counter in the bathroom, and 2 dressers in the room is a plus. Comfortable beds. Clean room, and, for the most part, reasonably quiet. Also, off the elevator, a large sitting area with sofas and chairs for entertaining visitors, rather than sitting in one's room, albeit that area was a bit chilly, so I'm not sure that we would have actually used it. The hotel staff gets an A for their friendly, welcoming attitude. They are definitely there to provide excellent service.

Negative points: The hotel is within yards of a very busy, noisy intersection. Ask for a room in the back! Biggest problem: LIMITED PARKING. If you're not back by 7:00 PM, they put up a barrier, even if there are still spaces available in the back lot, and make you use the valet parking. They say "Just park out front and leave the keys in the car." Well.. perhaps if we had a rental, we wouldn't care so much, but with our own car, no way would we do that, in that neighborhood. Plus, while the valet service is free for hotel guests, I've never used a valet where I didn't feel obligated to tip. So, that is a deal breaker for us. Apparently they are going to build a parking garage in the future, so perhaps in 2015, we would consider going back. A couple of other minor negatives - one of the features that I've always loved about Hampton Inns is the fresh fruit mix they offer at breakfast. This hotel only offered honey dew melon. Ugh. In Southern California, there is NO excuse for not having a nice mix of fresh fruit. Also, the bathtub sounded as though it's going to crack at any moment! I don't know if it's because it's cheap plastic or it wasn't installed correctly, but seriously, it shouldn't make that much noise. But I did appreciate the grab bar. So.. if it weren't for the parking issue, we would return to this hotel, but because they force you to use their valet service, we will not. I did hear some street noise and a couple of planes in the night, but after putting in ear plugs, I slept well. One more thing I would change is that the heat pump is controlled on the wall, and if you just want the fan to run - no heat or cold, but just to have some air circulating, it won't do that. The air that came out when I hit "fan only" was cold, so we had to keep it off, so the air seemed stale. Again.. not a huge deal.. just an observation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
North Lake Tahoe, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very close to the 405 and 101 Freeways, restaurants and shopping for business travelers. Comfortable hotel - suites are very nice, rooms conform to Hampton standards. If you prefer quiet, get a room in the back, away from Sepulveda Boulevard, which is a little freeway for the morning and evening commutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the 405 and the 101 and less than 5 minutes from the intersection of Sepulveda and Ventura Boulevards. There is convenient shopping and dining within minutes. The staff is warm and accommodating and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great breakfast selections. Beds and pillows so comfy. Everything clean and fresh. Friendly staff. Room amazingly quiet even though we had a room that faced a busy street. Good location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, it was a great place. Rooms were big and modern, bed was very comfortable, pool and gym were great, the carpark was tight but there were always places to park, the breakfast was nice, the staff were friendly and help and the location was good (you are never going to have a hotel that is close to everything in LA since it is so spread out, we found this to be a good location since it was just off the freeway). You will certainly need a car to get around. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Extremely limited parking on site, hotel forced to valet cars to nearby property (free).

No charge station in room

Room had hidden air freshener behind drapes that smelled like cleaning agent.

Disappointed, not up to standards held by other Hampton locations, won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GtiFreak04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian O, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us this is why we offer our complimentary valet. Also, over the years our Hampton Inn has been doing great occupancy wise and this is why we have decided to build a parking structure just that it will take time for all the permits to be approved by the city. We hope to have it complete after summer of 2014. As for the charger in the room where guests are able to charge there phone and other devices I will follow up to make sure its not missing. I thank you for letting us know that we are missing a charging station so we can have it replaced with another one.

We just hope that you'll give us another chance the next time your in town and please do call and ask for Cristian when you are because we would like to have you stay with us again. I know that at times some guests do prefer to park there own cars and this is why we will be more then happy to save a spot for you at the front for next time. I hope to hear from you soon and we all hope you have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Hampton Inn Sherman Oaks in California and couldn't have been more satisfied. Free parking on the premises included and on arrival nearly midnight an attendant assisted us in locating a desirable parking spot. We used their coin-operated laundry facilities which were perfect -- clean and in excellent working order. ALL staff very helpful and friendly. They recommended an excellent café called Arnie's just around the corner -- within 2 min. walking. All home-made and good selection. Great owners/servers. Had my best latte ever, far superior to Starbuck's which I used to think was A-one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#74 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
#45 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks

Address: 5638 Sepulveda Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has everything you need in order to work, relax and have fun. Free internet, full breakfast and parking plus a heated indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks Hotel Los Angeles
Hampton Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Van Nuys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing