We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Banana Bungalow Hollywood to your Saves list
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5920 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for the night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just had a layover for the night in LA. Room was clean, staff were friendly and let me hang out after check out till was time to head to the airport. Wifi worked great. Shower was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    47
    20
    22
See reviews for
9
47
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, paid to have a private room with ensuite.

Great location, just a short walk to the heart of Hollywood. Free breakfast was a plus. TV in the room was also a good touch for lazy evenings after busy days.

The hotel was mainly just used as a base - we'd leave in the morning and return in the evening so we didn't really use any of the facilities or free activities they offered. A great touch was the free internet and free to use computers - there were computers right outside our room which was really good.

There was quite a lot of noise from within the hostel which we found very annoying when trying to sleep. The actual hostel entertainment would always end at 11 or 12 which was good, but that didn't stop other travellers from carrying on.

You get what you pay for and this place was cheap for a private room compared to motels and hotels in Hollywood. Can't argue with how great the location is, so for that reason I'm glad we stayed here. If I went back to LA I would definitely pay more to stay somewhere less noisy than this hostel though (and this is coming from someone who had spent the previous 3 months staying in hostels).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hostel was pretty basic just some beds and a bathroom to be shared with a group but it's location on Hollywood Boulevard was so convenient with the Walk of Fame right outside your door and Grauman's Chinese Theatre just a 15 minute walk. You can also see the Hollywood sign from the hostel. However, it was excessively loud as other guests in the room and around the hostel were drinking and coming in and out of the room all night. The beds were squeaky almost to the point where you would wake up everytime someone in the room moved in their bunk. We were given an 8 bed dorm when we paid for a 6 bed and when we spoke to management they said all the 6 bed dorms were taken which is strange because that's why you book in advance, to guarantee a room. Also, when we walked into the 8 bed dorm it was excessively hot and that's when we discovered the oven in the adjoining kitchen had been left on at the highest temperature, bit unsafe, who knows how long it had been on for. Also everyone at the hostel smokes marijuana, including the staff, when we checked out for an early flight at 5am, the people in reception were rolling joints as they bid us farewell. A decent place if you're not too fussy and on a budget. Also to end on a good note: email them about the shuttle bus, if you stay for 3 nights, the hostel reimburses you for your trip from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

if your looking for somewhere to stay in Hollywood look no further, this is the one. stayed in an eight bed dorm which actually had two four bed rooms in it, an awesome kitchen and a bathroom. free parking is the perfect bonus in LA, and not having to leave the hostel to party makes life a little too easy. free beers every night and even free dinner on our second night, toast and cereal for breakfast, wifis good, security is perfect and you can see the hollywood sign from the veranda. loved having parties in our room and down stairs, everyone was really fun and the guy that checked us in was a super hottie too!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you are a back packer or budget traveller, this is perfect. If you are looking for a hotel, go elsewhere.

As a solo, female traveller in my mid twenties, this was perfect! I stayed in an all female room and always felt safe.
I also stayed in a private room and I was very comfortable. However, if you are thinking the private rooms are a hotel, as classified on their website, you may be disappointed.

Breakfast in the Tiki area was perfect for the traveller. A few different cereals and toast were included in the coast of my stay. For a small amount ( i think maybe $5 U.S) I could get bacon and eggs.

I liked the location.
It's a short, easy and direct 10 min walk to the main part of Hollywood Blvd.
The train station is about 5 mins away.
Bus stop just across the road.
Only problem was that I didn't feel safe walking there at night time alone. But it was a small price to pay considering everything else was so convenient.

The actual set up of the hostel is much cooler than any other I saw on my travels. You feel like you are in a cool apartment block. Not a dorm or school camp like some of the other hostels I have seen.

There are sheets and blankets provided but they were not the best, so do bring your own sheets or sleeping bag.

There was lots going on for the solo ir group traveller. They have a great pool room/social area where they host karaoke and some other fun things. They also have a great room with a projector screen T.V.

Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly, always answered any questions I had.

If you are over the age of 35 I would not recommend staying here as it is a youth orientated place. There is lots of fun to be had and many friendly people from all over the world to meet.

Room Tip: Great Hostel for budget travellers. Do not go here looking for a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I decided to stay at the place for one reason only. $22 a night stay. I knew what I was getting into when I booked a place. Only requirement that I had was that they provide free parking for my rental car.

The place is pretty easy to find. Within walking distance from the heart of Hollywood.
Parking can be a bit of hassle but usually there is a spot for everyone.

Room is a college dorm styled with two bunk beds per room. The whole experience really depends on who your roommates are.

For those who are looking for cheap stay in LA and don't mind sharing a room, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Intended for drunk, young party animals. Very ageist. And run by ageists. not to be recommended to others

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. It's an "oasis for backpackers" with all the amenities, activities and events that travelers truly want from a youth hostel. This includes a friendly staff to help you, a fun international crowd to hang out with, cool rooms, lots of hip common space, a great vibe and atmosphere, plus daily events and activities that supply lots of fun for very cheap or even free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bungalow Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.