We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst surprise ever...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Su Casa Venice Beach

Save Saved
You added Su Casa Venice Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Su Casa Venice Beach
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   431 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 76 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst surprise ever...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Su Casa, and already wanted to leave after one night. The location is crazy, but the quality is aweful for the price.
We booked the suite in the upper floor, but there was a hole in the roof, a "design" window pretty suitable at day, offering light in the room, but really annoying in the morning when the sun wakes you up at 6am. We asked for another room or for an arrangement, but the BLOND GUY at the reception was making fun of us, wasn't helpful at all! He was totally unrespectful, a real jerk.
He told us he was gonna do something but never did! Finally, I went on the roof to fix it up, covering the window with some sheet.
By the way, the other guys working in the afternoon at the desk are much nicer, helpful and great.
Nevertheless, it's located in front of a rehab center for toxicomans and alcoholics, but we've never been disturbed.
It's not that bad, but for the price, it's not worth it, go to Santa Monica.

ps: The fridge was noisy the whole night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
17
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Infairness the location for the beach is excellent , however our room on the second floor ( no 4 ) had a lovely view of a government run halfway house for people with addiction problems. The view was of their outside area where they gathered to smoke and chat, which started at 6.30 in the morning! Our room in itself was ok, the A/C did not really work and you needed a phd in engineering to operate. Was the room worth the money ? No , would I use the hotel again ? No . The answers to those questions are also no, as I would never go to Venice beach again. A beautiful area which had the feel of being at Glastonbury ( music festival) a variety of street music with the hippies and colourful characters you find there if you get my drift!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during a week spent in California. We read some reviews about how the location is sketchy at night- boy, were they right. Our flight out of Maui was delayed, so by the time we arrived to LAX, got our bags, our rental car, a bite to eat, and made the drive to Venice, it was almost 1 am.

There isn't a place to park your car during check-in, because the hotel is in a little walkway not meant for cars. We parked in front of someone's house to take our bags inside. Also, the building was hard to find- our GPS kept trying to get us to drive on the boardwalk which isn't legal. There were lots of sketchy characters on the boardwalk this late at night walking around (skaters, backpackers, and perhaps some homeless people). Nobody bothered us but it was still a bit unnerving to carry all of your possessions down a dark street at 1 am).

Of course, it was late so nobody was at the front desk when we arrived, but we called an after hours number and were able to get inside with our access code. He also instructed us where to park. There's public parking nearby. Incidentally, we parked in a vendor's spot, so the next morning the amazing hotel staff moved our car for us so we didn't get towed.

Our room was very nice. Great bathroom and cute half kitchen. WE would stay here again, but we would bring ear plugs because a very talented (but loud) older singer arrived super early on the boardwalk and woke me up with a stirring version of "Wicked Games" by Chris Isaak. While one of my favorite songs, I didn't really want to hear it at 8 am.

My review sounds really negative because of the sketchy check-in experience, but really nobody from the beach bothered us. Honestly, most people don't check in so late! Also the service at the hotel was amazingly good (so friendly and helpful) and the location of the hotel was prime. The rooms were lovely, so don't let our review scare you from going. The rehab house next door was ok, too- none of the guests there bothered anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second trip to Su Casa this summer. We had a great time exploring the food options on Abbott Kinney and on Rose Avenue. This hotel is situated perfectly for a walk to Tasting Kitchen (dinner) and Superba Snack Bar (lunch). This time we had an oceanfront and love the energy of the Boardwalk, which quieted down more than we expected for a Saturday night.

Room Tip: The oceanfront has a great view of the water. We had Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Su Casa for the second time. It is now definitely our place to stay when in LA. The rooms are great, plenty of space and clean and comfortable. The beds are amazingly comfortable! Both times we've had such great sleeps at Su Casa. The use of a kitchen is a godsend for us as my wife has food intolerances so being able to make your own meals really helps. Even the smaller rooms have good usable kitchens. The bathrooms are clean and all in perfect working order, and the morning breakfast from Fig Tree Cafe was great too. We ordered dinner from Fig Tree a few times and ate in our room and found the food to be top quality.

The location is perfect. Right on the boardwalk with views over the ocean. A short walk up the road is Santa Monica and Main St Venice is right nearby. You can start your day right in the middle of it all! It's also not far from LAX which is great for cabs. If you're going to complain about the noise and some of the shady types around Venice Beach at night then you're better off staying somewhere else. We didn't have any problems with noise or feeling unsafe in the slightest. And the vibe of the place is the reason you choose Venice Beach in the first place, right?

The best thing we found about Su Casa was the staff. When we checked in and out Fernando was so helpful and professional. His level of service was top notch. We also had great service from Jose who also went above and beyond what we would expect. The staff are polite, well mannered and very accommodating to your needs. Good staff is really important and Su Casa are really ticking the boxes. Flights home to Australia usually leave around midnight and we found the staff accommodating to our needs both times we've stayed, once minding our luggage for the day and providing us somewhere to change pre-flight and once helping us with another room to freshen up. Thanks to them we'll be back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We hired the Su Casa cottage which is just behind the Hotel, a few steps back from the side walk and it was really good. Great location, so close to the activities and buzz of Venice Beach. We stayed for 8 Nights and it was just the right length of time for us. We particularly enjoyed hiring bicycles and cycling along the cycle path to Santa Monica and to the pier on Venice Beach, along with all the other cyclists, skaters and colourful characters. To cycle as the sun was setting was just lovely. My three teenagers thought Venice Beach was brilliant! Not necessarily the safest of areas, and some of the restaurants close for the evening, but we still really enjoyed our stay there. We liked the street entertainers and people watching from the Fig Tree Cafe, bought body boards for the beach and visited Disneyland and Hollywood Studios. The cottage is fairly simple, but adequately equipped and quite comfortable. It was good we always had a parking space for the car, and could leave the bicycles locked in the courtyard. The free WiFi was good. There were 5 of us staying, so the 3 children each had a bedroom each with their own bathroom, so that was a bit of a treat! I would recommend the cottage for a lively family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thanks for a great stay! Kyle manages the property with care that you would imagine at a fine Bed and Breakfast. Comfortable furnishings and perfect location in the heart of Venice. The prices are very reasonable and substantially lower than the high end competition. The staff had great dining suggestions and the stay was fantastic.

Room Tip: If available, take the oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Su Casa Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Casa Venice Beach

Address: 431 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Su Casa Venice Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer sleek, well-appointed suites with full kitchens, marble bathrooms, free wireless, internet, local phone calls, cable and direct TV as well as heating and air conditioning. Complimentary breakfast is served every day in the room and is made up of organic coffee and teas, homemade scones, toast, porridge, yogurt and granola. Our mattresses are eco green and our crisp cotton sheets are hand pressed in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Su Casa Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Su Casa Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Casa Venice Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.