We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Custom Hotel to your Saves list
Custom Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is very close to the airport and located across a mall and with restaurants around and in the hotel.. The hotel has an European feel. They serve breakfast at a fee in the morning. The breakfast buffet was ok.

Room Tip: We shopped at Expedia.com we did not chose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Caridad,

Thank you for posting a review of Custom on TripAdvisor we are glad you found our hotel to be perfect for short stay near the airport. Being situated in a location near the airport (roughly 2.7mi away), with plenty of restaurants, a gym, and park all within walking distance many of our guest would have to agree with you that our location is great. Please do keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the LAX area.

Best regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    406
    190
    84
    58
See reviews for
184
320
166
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I live close to The Custom and have recommended it to friends and family before, all have been very happy with their experiences. So two months ago when my husband and I decided to move up our wedding by about 7 months we decided The Custom was place to have it. BEST DECISION WE COULD HAVE EVER MADE!

From the minute I called Gracie, the Event Planner, everything was taken care of. She and the entire staff were more accommodating than I could have ever hoped for. They took care of everything and made sure every detail that we discussed went off without a hitch. All of our friends a family raved about their stay and my husband and I absolutely loved staying in the two bedroom suite on our wedding night ourselves.

The food is fantastic, the grounds are pristine and it is so conveniently located. Honestly, I am so sad it's over. I could spend another week here celebrating with everyone, including the staff. Thank you so much for making our wedding perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello,
First of all congratulations on your big day. We are so grateful that you chose Custom to be a part of it. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a sweet review and we hope you will think of us for any future events in your life. Enjoy your life together!

Warmest Regards,
Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Yes, the hotel is different than the Mariotts, Hiltons, Doubletree... They have done an effort to provide design and a modern touch to the hotel. Did it impress me? Nop. The hallways are not very welcoming, and the rooms are small and not very exciting. The views are good, though. We staid at 12th floor, with unobstructed views to the Airport and that was good. Almost no airplane noise.

The location is good, only 10 minutes from Venice, and there are several places to have something to eat in the area (only a few in walking distance).

Breakfast looked good, but was not included in the stay ($110) and at $12 I said no, no.

The staff at reception and the valet were great, though.

Tip: Street park and save the abusive $22 for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello Pauak,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that your experience at Custom Hotel met your expectations. If there is ever a way we can improve in our service, product or overall operations, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Guest feedback allows us to constantly improve and we couldn't do so without the voice of valued guests like yourself.

We invite you to return to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The reviews are all outstanding for the Custom Hotel's great location, rooms, service and value. Have you thought about it as a wedding venue? My daughter's wedding was held there last weekend, and every detail was perfect. The staff was supremely accommodating to our guests -- providing them with a terrific room rate and friendly service. Many of our guests were from other parts of the country, and they couldn't get over how friendly LA is ... thanks to the great representation by the Custom. The poolside ceremony, bar, food, decorations, Hangar -- every detail -- was superb! I can't say enough about the entire experience. Wait until you see the pictures! The hotel's sales staff (Gracie) will surely share them with you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello BeckyPD2013,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review of Custom here on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to have our hotel selected as the location for your daughters wedding. Our staff were all extremely excited as this was Custom's very first wedding ceremony held on property. We did our best to ensure everything went out without a hitch and it truly was a pleasure working with and getting to know all of the family members and friends involved.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the shuttle driver, receptionist and manger Oliver everyone is so friendly and just what you want after a long flight. My husband and I are celebrating our anniversary and everyone has been so kind it makes us feel so at home - thank you Oliver and his Great Team :)
Sindy & Stephen Carmichael-Brown

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello scarmic3,

Thank you for staying with us here at Custom and for taking the time to post a review. We here at Custom want to congratulate your anniversary, we are honored that you decided to share this special occasion with us. It was great to read your lovely comments and that you felt very much so at home as this is the experience we strive to attain with each and every guest.

We do hope you keep us in mind the next time you travels bring you to the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Firstly, this hotel was, for me, cheap. Super cheap. It was an add-on to a flight to Los Angeles, when I knew I'd be driving out to the desert the following morning, and it cost about £30. I know I'm unlikely to get that price again, but notwithstanding the usual price of around £70-80, I'd happily stay here.

It's unusual for an airport hotel, in that it is in a pretty decent neighborhood with stuff around to do in the evening. The (free) shuttle picked us up without hassle from Arrivals, and we were in the hotel in 10-15 minutes. The staff on check-in were friendly and attentive.

The room itself had a great view and was plenty big enough for 2 with 5 weeks' worth of luggage. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean, and the room/foyer were far more sleek than we had initially expected. The bed was comfortable, we didn't hear anything from neighboring rooms at all, and even the toiletries were of really good quality.

We also ate hear twice (through laziness, rather than lack of choice). The dinner in the evening was fantastic, an excellent (and super-cheap for the contents) seafood spaghetti and a great burger. Good beer selection, with views over the pool - a great start to our vacation. Breakfast (around $12 for a huge buffet) was also good, and the staff were friendly.

Checkout was easy, and we were given an on-demand free shuttle back to the airport to pick up the car. We wandered around the area first, and there were quite a few places to eat/shop. All in all, exceptional value and a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello N_Lon_09,

Thank you for taking the time to come on TripAdvisor and write such a detailed review of your stay with us. I was thrilled to read that we were able to exceed your expectations when booking last minute. Please keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the Los Angeles area as we love our friends from "across the pond".

Best Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This my third stay and I always discover something new. So many great places to eat nearby. I had a incredible massage with Lauren at Just Massage a short walk from hotel and only $45. All the super friendly front desk can point you in the right direction. I'll be back Dec 9 th. I now love my LAX layovers

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello Waiohonu,

Thank you so much for your most recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience! We are so glad that you now enjoy your layovers in Los Angeles and we are looking forward to your arrival in December.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of assistance!

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.