We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culture of calm in a hectic city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Custom Hotel to your Saves list
Custom Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A culture of calm in a hectic city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Custom Hotel for 3 nights at the end of Route 66. A contemporary hotel where the staff had clearly been recruited to speak quietly in an extremely positive tone. A little freaky at first but once I had adjusted to them it was really quite nice. The fire pit by the outdoor pool was good as was the bar above the pool, infact I would have liked more time to just hang out in that area.We decided to pay for valet parking as we were at the end of a long journey and it worked a treat. The vehicle was whisked away from the reception area and returned within minutes whenever requested. The buffet breakfast is worth paying for as it's excellent and the contemporary seating arrangements worked well- long tables seating about 20 people. The rooms were large and minimal. My 25 year son loved his "bachelor pad". I got the feeling that they had renovated an older hotels rooms on the cheap and called them boutique. There were some clever touches that were low cost and high impact on the hotels part eg a water dispenser in reception with fresh fruit floating in it and coloured LED lights in the bedroom windows that guests could control.........these attracted passers by attention and made the hotel look striking at night. The only negative was the internet access...impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello, suebrown869:

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our valued guests take the time to comment on their experiences. Guest feedback is critical to our operation and we endeavor to improve our service and operations. We are glad that both you and your son enjoyed your trip to the states and your stay at Custom.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles, California.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    434
    209
    97
    71
See reviews for
198
343
170
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Horwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a well priced, friendly hotel situated minutes from LAX.

Having used airport hotels over the years, what struck me was that the Custom Hotel accommodation experience was akin to a holiday hotel rather than that of a soulless corporate stop over.

The rooms are very modern - just be aware of the multi coloured flashing lights! (Not sure about this one).

The bar restaurant area is in a separate building adjacent to the swimming pool - the food, choice of beers and service were all excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello johnlmoore,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us to evaluate our product, service and operations. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us and that we stood out from the "soulless corporate" properties that surround us. Please do keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the LA area.

Warmest regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel facilities are fantastic and definitely up-to-snuff for Los Angeles. But what makes this hotel shine is the staff!

I recently returned from a year abroad and had a 3-day layover in LA. Not only was the front desk staff friendly and courteous, they recognized me by name from the minute I walked through the front door. I had requested a special accommodation be made, specifically a pack of peanut M&M'S. On the second night of my stay, the staff delivered a gigantic bag of multiple packages and sizes of peanut M&M's with a wonderful thank you note signed by the front desk staff. I highly recommend this hotel and would choose it again when my travels place me in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the sound of planes, the rooms were relatively quiet considering their locatio...
See more room tips
Green Features: All the facilities inside the room were simple, clean, and modern. The products and linens used were soft, clean, and easy on the enviroment.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello Matthew T,

Thank you for posting a review of Custom Hotel on TripAdvisor. It's great to know that during your 3-day layover in LA we were able to go above and beyond your expectations as this is something we aim to do with each and every guest. The next time you're in Los Angeles please come back and stay with us, you never know we may have a bag of peanut M & M's waiting for you at the front desk.

Best Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

An old hotel refurbished in European-hip. Great location if you need to be by LAX or Loyola Marymount University.

It's great if you need to stay for a few days - Ralphs Grocery store next door, Coffee Tea and Bean on the corner, Bristol Farms a couple blocks away and it's right across the street from a nice green park if you want to walk or play tennis.

Oh yes, a bowling alley is nearby.

Even though near airport, it was nice and quiet. I found the rooms to be very comfortable. When I arrived there was a terrible smell in the hallway but it seemed to clear up.

Restaurant fine. I had a light dinner there one night. Never tried breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello, EvaTheDragon:

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate when our valued guests take the time to comment on their experiences. Guest feedback is critical to our operation and we endeavor to improve our service and operations.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles, California.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although the Custom Hotel may be alittle different in style than most hotels in the LA area; its those little quirks that make it so much fun! With a reasonable nightly rate and perks such as the Stratosphere room (must stop by) on the 12th floor, you'll be asking yourself if you ever want to go back mainstream. Like it or hate it, the one thing that will knock your socks off is the excellant customer service you receive (their staff actually seems to enjoy being there).From Ryan at the front desk to Jose in valet, you will be amazed! Thanks to everyone (especially Ryan and Jose) at the Custom Hotel for reminding me what great customer service actualy means!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello Robin G,

Thank you first and foremost for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at Custom Hotel. While I was glad that you enjoyed our "kitchy" styling I was truly honored to read that you were blown away by our service, in particular that of Ryan of the front desk & Jose of valet. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to both of their managers. Please do come back and visit us in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was forced to have a nights stay in this hotel on the 31st of August due to a flight cancellation. We were all given a $50 room credit for our meals - since we arrived WELL after the eating facilities had closed, we were told that the water in the rooms would be charged to this credit..... I get home check my credit card and low and behold I have been charged!!! I have attempted to contact the hotel through their facebook page - no answer. I must say the bed was comfortable, but the shower left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello, Donna M:

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. It was disappointing to read that your experience feel short of your expectations. As I mentioned in my initial response to your Facebook message we have credited back your account and apologize for the delay in response.

As evidenced by the many satisfied guests in other reviews on this site, I am confident that your experience was the exception and not the standard. Therefore, I invite you to return and give us a chance to win you over on your next experience. I am confident we can turn this "ow" into a "WOW" and restore your faith in our product and service. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I may be of personal service.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here to be convenient to son's school....wound up to be so much more than convenient! Great, helpful staff - state of the art room's - great amenities, spectacular views, Would stay here again........

Room Tip: higher floors, have better view and better amenities 8 -12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello italia082011,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Custom Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are ecstatic to read that your stay with us went above and beyond your expectations, in terms of our rooms, views, and staff. Please do stay with us again the next time you are visiting your son or simply in the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.