We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for early morning flights and a place to park your car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Custom Hotel to your Saves list
Custom Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Lucerne Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for early morning flights and a place to park your car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. We were looking for a place to spend the night prior to a 6:30 AM flight (we live 120 miles from LAX) as well as a place to park our car for a week. The price for both was very reasonable and the hotel impressive. The hotel is probably 25 years old, but it has been completely remodeled and is very European in style. The room had a great view. I could see the Hollywood sign, (very far away) as well as downton LA. The bed was very comfortable, High Def. TV, Nince amenities in the room and a staff that is extremely friendly, and helpful. Upon returning from our trip, I was concerned that the hotel wouldn't pick us up from LAX do to the late arrival, but they still will pick up up until 1:00 AM

Since our stay was a quick overnight, We didn't get a chance to try the pool, or the restaurant so I can't really give a review of them.

Room Tip: East side rooms have a great view, take a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello, Larry M:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a thorough and flattering review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We thrive on guest feedback as it allows us to evaluate our product, service and operations and make changes when necessary. It also allow us to determine where we're performing well. From your review, it sounds like you truly enjoyed your visit with us!

We're so delighted to read that you found the property to be clean, comfortable, conveniently located and that you enjoyed the service provided by our hard-working staff. Rest assured, your kind words will be shared with the respective teams and credit given where credit is due.

In your review you mentioned the hotel appeared a bit aged. We acknowledge this and we're in the midst of an intenstive preventative maintenance program to restore the property to the high quality that our guests have come to expect and enjoy with Joie de Vivre Hotels. We'll continue to invest heavily in the property over the year to make improvements in this area.

In closing, thank you so much for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure travels return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    434
    209
    97
    71
See reviews for
198
343
170
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. The hotel is a newer renovation of what must have been a very standard, 1950s era hotel. The decor is very nice if you like a modern, minimalist look. Don't expect any higher-end services i.e. spa, gym, etc for this price but the pool area is very nice. Rooms are comfy too with a pretty nice tv and large, though not too luxurious, bathrooms. Staff were all very helpful in recommendations about what to do and where to go in the city. All in all, for what amounted to about $100/night when all taxes and fees were taken into account, this place turned out to be an excellent deal. I would not hesitate to recommend this place at all.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying $20/night for parking. There is plenty of room to park in the neighborhood r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello, sg2002:

Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for posting a review of your visit here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate guest feedback as it helps us higlight when there's areas for improvement and when we're performing well. From your review, it appears you were truly delighted by all aspects of your visit!

We're so glad to read that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, conveniently located, a good value and - most importantly - that you enjoyed the great service you received from our staff throughout the hotel & restaurant. Rest assured, your kind words did not go unnoticed and I'll be happy to share them with the team.

We're glad that you found the hotel to be centrally located to everything "Los Angeles". Just minutes from some of L.A.'s best beaches (Venice & Santa Monica) along with being just 25-30 minutes (in L.A. traffic) to Hollywood, West Hollywood & Beverly Hills, etc. Most of all, we're convenient to LAX, just an 8-minute ride, perfect for those travelers with late or early flights associated with their visit to L.A.

In closing, thank you so much for being a valued Custom Hotel guest! We do look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There was simply nothing to complain about at this hotel. Reasonable, very clean, comfortable, convenient. Zuzana is a joy. Convenient to the freeway system. You do need to call them for van pickup at the airport. I noticed several plane crews on site - usually a good sign.

Room Tip: All I can say is that the room I had was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Greetings, Charles V:

Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for posting such a delightful review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com!

We're so delighted to read how much you enjoyed your entire experience. It was great to read how much you enjoyed the comfort of the bed in your guestroom. We undstand that a clean, comfortable and quiet night's sleep is paramount to a great hotel experience - and we're glad to have exceeded your expectations in all areas!

We're also glad to read that you enjoyed the greast customer service you received from our hard-working staff, in particular Zuzana. We'll be sure to pass-along your kind words and give credit where credit is due. It's heartwarming to read when members of our staff go above-and-beyond to deliver memorable guest experiences!

In closing, thank you so much for being our valued guest! We can't wait to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time you find yourself in the great city of Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Superviasor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First off the hotel room and decor is amazing. We sprung for the high room with view and it is definitely worth it. We had a great view of LA. The beds and room decor are great.

I only had a few minor issues. The first was our room wasn't ready until after 3pm. We showed up early at 1230 and although we were early the desk agent said she would put a rush on it for 130. When we called back it still wasn't ready at 1:30pm. I would usually understand but its a small hotel and we saw maybe 3 other guests the whole time we were there so seems a bit weird to take so long to get rooms ready. The ice machine on our floor was not working and no one told us at check in. The other issue was the bar/restaurants were all closed by 1045pm. We didn't know this until after we got back at midnight from dinner with friends. The only valet parking option is a bit annoying, but they are fast with getting your car if you call down ahead of time.

I would definitely recommend the hotel with all those minor issues.

Room Tip: get the top floor rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Front Office Supervisor at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello, Jordan A:

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that your experience at Custom Hotel met your expectations. If there is ever a way we can improve in our service, product or overall operations, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Guest feedback allows us to constantly improve and we couldn't do so without the voice of valued guests like yourself.

We invite you to return to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Front Office Supervisor
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently visited the Custom Hotel in Los Angeles and was greeted by a very friendly and courteous staff. I was very appreciative of the special service provided by Daniel Hirsch, manager during my stay. Because of some special health needs, I needed a piece of furniture added to the room in order to sleep properly. This was noted in the records and was taken care of immediately and helped make my stay comfortable and relaxing. Mr. Hirsch greeted my daughter and me with a friendly smile and attitude throughout the stay as did the rest of the front desk staff. Even the maids were friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable---and we enjoyed the multi-colored window lights, a feature we had never seen before. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello, Bill G:

Thank you so much for choosing Custom Hotel for your recent visit to Los Angeles and for posting such a flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it helps point out areas for improvement and areas where the hotel and staff are performing well. It was delightful to read just how much you enjoyed your experience with us!

Thank you so much for the kudos! Whenever we can make special arrangements to make guests comfortable, rest assured we'll do whatever it takes! It was my pleasure to accommodate you!

Also, we're so glad you enjoyed the unique LED lighting in your guestroom. This lighting allows our guests to set the mood of their guestroom to any color in the spectrum and also serves to illuminate the hotel differently each night - based on the mood of individual travelers like yourself. So, the hotel's exterior has a different look each and every night. We're glad you found them enjoyable. (For guests that prefer not to participate, they can easily be turned off.)

We thank you so much for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spend the Friday night in Custom hotel in LA.
Room was clean, even dough it is close to airport, it was quiet. Friendly staff in lobby very helpfull, quick valet parking. Next trip to LA will be including stay in Custom hotel. Highly recomended.!!!! Thank to you all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello, Ivan K:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it directs us on areas where we can improve and areas where we are performing well. It was delightful to read just how much you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us!

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was such a surprise to me. It looked decent online but really impressed me in person. Was very cozy and very enjoyable. The rooms are super modern and trendy that they remind of a hipster place. Decor of the building is different but I liked that.
Hotel staff are helpful and great as well. Willing to answer your questions. The morning I wanted to go downtown, the guy behind the counter was super insightful into cool places to eat and how to drive there and avoid certain trouble spots.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello, Jordan M:

Thank you so much for being our recent Custom Hotel guest and for posting such a great review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience - from the hotel's location, cleanliness, guestrooms, sleep quality ... and most of all, the service you received from our Front Desk team! We're so glad that you felt welcome, important and appreciated at Custom Hotel! And, we're glad to read that you were pleasantly surprised by your experience, too!

Thanks for highlighting the great service you received from Ryan at the Front Desk! It's heartwarming to read when members of our staff go the extra mile to deliver great guest service! Rest assured your kind words will be shared with him and the rest of the team. Thanks for the kudos!

In closing, thank you so much for being our guest! We simply can't wait to welcome you back to Custom Hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.