We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Custom Hotel to your Saves list
Custom Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 336 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of a two week road trip between LA, Palm Springs and Vegas. I was travelling with my partner, and two kids aged 13 and 5. Would definitely stay here again

How long did we stay? 4 nights

Where we booked/how much we paid – via www.lowcostholidays.com £312 total for a room with two double beds. Booked about 4 months before travel.,

About the place-
The hotel is a modern design, painted grey, a tall tower block in a residential/office area. They have valet parking for $20 per day with in/our privileges. The reception is bright airy and welcoming. Lots of modern twists throughout. Outside pool area, quite a small pool max of 30 people I would think. Plenty of sun beds and shade around the pool.
Deck 33 restaurant overlooking pool which served lovely food.

Locally – Literally 5 min drive from LAX airport. You see this hotel on take-off and landing!!! However the windows are thick and we NEVER were bothered by the airplane noise. Supermarket next door (Ralphs) for any supplies needed. Small selection of restaurants locally including KFC drive-thru, pizza places etc

Favourite bits –
Room was big, modern and well-equipped
Cute toiletries offered
Fridge and safe in room
Quick checkin, information then emailed such as check out time and invoice.
Pool area was nice, relaxing and well equipped
Deck 33 restaurant and bar was modern, fun and served lovely food – friendly staff
Free wifi with unlimited users per room

Bits we disliked/or could be improved –
Three lifts however they were super slow. We often waited at least 5 mins to catch a lift down
Breakfast buffet could be improved. $12 pp and although it is varied daily they are slow to serve, you must ask for juice which comes in a small plastic cup, slow to replenish foods. The actual food was tasty!
On the Saturday afternoon during our stay there was a private pool party. Whilst we were allowed entry to the pool area we had to queue on the street (not appropriate in swimwear!), it was extremely loud music with inappropriate lyrics for kids swimming at 4pm and a general whaft of cannabis! The management were kind and offered us free food during our stay – needless to say we didn’t swim for long!! There had been no warning of this pool party or we wouldn’t have promised the kids a swim!!I have emailed regarding this however received no response 21 days on!!

Any tips-
Definitely recommend staying here as its just 15 mins to Venice or Santa Monica, 30 mins to Hollywood, and 5 mins to the airport. Our sleep was perfect and the standard was great especially for the price we paid. Maybe just avoid the private pool parties. I would suggest management just put a sign warning guests if they have a party booked!
Small diner nearby called KJ’s – do an American selection for breakfast for a better price

Web Links
www.customhotel.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello, mlperkins:

Thank you so much for your patronage and very detailed review of your experience at Custom Hotel. Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it allows us to evaluate our service and operations and make necessary changes. Overall, it appears that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Thank you so much for your feedback on the weekend pool events we offer. This is an event schedule limited to the warm summer months and regretfully there's no way to get word out to all of the different booking channels out there. However, our Front Desk team should be advising guests of these events upon arrival for weekend stays. We'll revisit that with the team and ensure they're properly advising our guests accordingly.

It was nice to read that you found your guestroom clean, spacious and comfortable with all of the amenities you expected to be there. We're always interested in our guest's feedback about our product as we continue to improve it.

We're also glad you found the hotel to be conveniently located to LAX and the local area which offers a wide-range of dining, shopping and recreation opportuinities.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed virtually every aspect of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    432
    209
    96
    70
See reviews for
198
343
170
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Large and quiet room (even though located almost right next to one of the busiest airports) with a very comforatble bed. A very friendly staff. The shuttle service was excellent. Apparently, they welcome animals. I would definitly recommend the hotel for the business trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello, Ligita274856:

All of us at Custom Hotel thank you so much for being our guest at Custom Hotel and also for posting such an outstanding review here on TripAdvisor.com!

We're so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience including the comfort and cleanliness of your guestroom, your sleep quality, the service by our staff and the overall property and its amenities. In your review you mentioned us allowing pets. And yes, we currently welcome all four-legged friends! (We even have welcome treats for them at check-in!) We just ask that travelers disclose that they have pets at check-in so we can ensure they're placed on our pet-friendly floors.

Thanks so much for your business! We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This 12 story hotel seems to specialize in tour groups from Europe. One of the three elevators was broken 4 of the 5 days of our stay making it very difficult to get up or down. We waited over a half hour ro get our luggage on an elevator the last day because we could not walk 8 flights with bags. Apparently, there is no freight elevator because all the maids were also trying to use the same passenger elevators. The staff apologized, but this is a major metro. Unacceptable. The refrigerator in the room was not crowded with overpriced snacks. I could have used a coffee maker. We became friendly with the staff at Ralph's market next door.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello, JennyBindy:

Thank you so much for being our guest at Custom Hotel and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com. We certainly want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our out-of-service elevator. Our Engineering team has advised us that the necessary (and apparently hard-to-get) parts are enroute and the elevator should be running like new very soon!

We're glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. On your next visit, you may wish to consider an upgrade to our "Elevated" accommodations! These rooms feature lots of great additional amenities including scenic skyline views, full-size ironing boards, robes, slippers, magnifying mirrors and coffee makers. Not to mention, access to our unique and exclusive social lounges throughout the hotel. Ask at check-in, you can often get these upgrades at a great deal if you inquire at the last minute!

In closing, thank you very much for your patronage. We apologize for the inconveniences and we're confident that your experience was the exception and not the standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel soon to turn this "ow" into a "WOW" and restore your faith in Custom!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a cool place to stay when you need to get in and out of LAX without hitting any LA traffic. Modern, simple, and fun with just the right amount of amenities and a wry sense of humor. High marks for comfort, roominess and one of the friendliest and most attentive staff anywhere. I stay in LOTS of hotels, and this is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are not noisy, and actually a quieter place to stay on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hello, Fil M:

On behalf of the entire staff and management here at Custom Hotel, thank you so much for your patronage and for your extremely flattering review of your experience here at Custom Hotel! We thrive on guest feedback as it allows us to constantly evaluate our service and operations and make necessary changes. We were so delighted to discover that we were high on your list of favorite hotels in all of your worldly travels!

We're so glad that you found the hotel's location, comfort, cleanliness, quirkyness, value and most of all service to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to Custom Hotel again and again as your travels return you to the Los Angeles area. Thanks again for your amazing review.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braedstrup, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Custom Hotel on our road trip around the souh western USA.
Tjeck in and parking valet whent smoohtly. The service vas exelent
The rooms are very cool whit Miami Vice decoration as is the rest of the hotel.
The restaurent serves good cousines and the staff is very friendly
All in all a very nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello, sren_pedersen35:

On behalf of the entire staff and management team at Custom Hotel, thank you so very much for being our guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to make changes when necessary and commend our staff when they are performing well.

From your review, it appears that you thouroughly enjoyed your experience with us! We are so delighted to read that you found the hotel's location, sleep quality, cleanliness, guestrooms and service from our staff all to exceed your expectations!

We do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mainly there is often no hot water and the Internet often does not work. It's a touch less clean than I'm comfortable with. On the good side there are nice touches that make it feel stylish and fun. It's a trade off of basic comforts for style. I'm a comfort gal but to each his own.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello, idonthavea:

Thank you for your recent visit to Custom Hotel and for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to make improvements in areas that need attention.

During your visit we were experiencing technical issues with our boiler systems and high-speed internet. Our Chief Engineer has confirmed that both matters have been resolved and should not be re-occuring issues. We truly apologize for any inconvenience these essential amenities may have caused you.

On the positive side, it appears that overall you enjoyed your visit with us. We're glad to read that you found the hotel's location, value and service throughough the hotel to exceed your expectations. Our guestrooms are on the simplistic side of things. But, our guests tell us frequently that they prefer simple rooms instead of rooms loaded with pricy amenities they don't need or want that 'jack up' the room rates. We're constantly improving our guestroom product. For example, our elevated rooms, just $30/night more than our deluxe guestrooms, feature lots of additional bells & whistles including: bathrobes, slippers, magnifying mirrors, panoramic skyline views, coffee makers, access to our exclusive social lounges and more. You might consider upgrading on your next visit to enjoy some of the comforts you expect and enjoy.

In closing, we thank you for being our guest. I'm confident that your experience was the exception and not the standard. If your travels return you to the Los Angeles area, we'd love an opportunity to "win you over" on your next visit. Feel free to reach out to me directly if I may be of personal service.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location. Few minutes from airport. Excellent value for money. Bus stop that takes you to Santa Monica for $1! Staff were amazing. They helped us with directions and even finding emergency medical care. Free wifi all throughout the hotel. Free shuttle to airport. Ralph's is right next door if you need anything. Hotel is managed VERY well. Staff are very professional and helpful!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello, Twins1994:

All of us at Custom Hotel extend our heartfelt appreciation for the flattering review you posted here on TripAdvisor.com about your recent experience with us! We thrive on guest feedback as it highlights areas we're performing well and where there might be need for improvements. It appears from your feedback that you thouroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

We're so glad to read that you found the staff to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I have shared your feedback with the staff at the Front Desk.

We also wanted to extend our thanks for recognizing the leadership at Custom. We work hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant and memorable experience at all times.

In closing, thank you for being our guest and we do hope to welcome you back to Custom Hotel in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.