We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent LAX Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Custom Hotel

Save Saved
You added Custom Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Custom Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #78 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent LAX Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Extremely warm and helpful staff made for an unexpected stay in LA a great visit. Rooms clean, modern design, and quiet for being so close to airport. Private airport shuttle to and from LAX a really nice amenity as well. Very nice lounge off pool and cabana's with interesting menu.
Definitely recommend if need to stay near LAX area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hello, Steve C:

On behalf of all of us here at Custom Hotel, thank you so much for being our guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate the kind words and we're delighted to read that you found the hotel convenient to LAX.

We're also glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the public areas of the property including the pool, cabanas and restaurant. It was also great to read that you found the hotel to be clean and that you appreciated our unique modern design. Our ongoing effort is to break the mold, so-to-speak - of the traditional airport hotel.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    357
    168
    73
    51
See reviews for
170
280
152
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The title says it all, this is a nice airport hotel. It's only a short drive from LAX and there's a free shuttle you can request by calling the hotel. The location isn't great if you're planning on sight seeing, as the hotel is of course situated near the airport and is a good 30-40 min drive from Beverly Hills. That said, there are buses which can get you to other tourist areas and city tours are available which will pick you up. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern and very clean. Nearby you have parking, a few shops including a large supermarket and a few restaurants, pretty much all you would ever need if just passing through.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hello, Frosty84:

All of us at Custom Hotel wish to extend our sincere thanks for your business, loyalty and your flattering review of your recent experience here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation as it allows us to review what we're doing well and where there's room for improvement. We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit!

First off, we're glad you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our airport shuttle service! Yes, just a phone call away and generally we're there within 10-15 minutes to collect you at LAX in our ultra-modern, sexy Mercedes Benz "Sprinter" vehicles. Our drivers are committed to make your arrival experience as effortless as possible.

We're also glad to read you found the property to be clean and well-maintained! We're working around-the-clock to offer clean, safe and comfortable surroundings for our guests.

As you mentioned in your review, we're not in the heart of downtown, but we offer lots of transportation options including: towncars, taxi, easy access to bus routes and guided tours as a great way to get around town. Our friendly staff at the Front Desk are well-versed with the many transportation options available to our guests visiting the area.

In closure, we're so excited that you enjoyed your overall experience! We anxiously await an opportunity to welcome you back to Custom Hotel and have you as our guest once again.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place was so great! Staff was very friendly. The valet even helped me fix my car! The rooms are cute. It is close to places to eat and a little shopping center. It isn't far from the airport. I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant though, I would have liked to. This place was a great value and I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello, Kai88:

Thank you so very much for your patronage at Custom Hotel and for your flattering review of your recent experience!

We're delighted to read that you thouroughly enjoyed all apsects of your experience! We're working so hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience from start to finish and it's nice to read the fruits of our labors.

We look forward to welcoming you to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to the Los Angeles area! If there's anything we can do to make your next experience even more enjoyable, don't hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I had a quick stopover (12 hours) until my next flight and I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. I did not hear any airport noise. It is right next door to a supermarket which is very convenient. Very close to LAX and the hotel shuttle picked me up from the airport within 20 mins of calling. That's great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hello, gogirlnyc:

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Custom Hotel and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate your patronage.

We were excited to read that you found your room, service from our staff, the location of the hotel, property cleanliness and airport transportation to all exceed your expectations! We're working hard to provide a great product and great service at a reasonable price.

I have passed-along your kind comments to the relevant staff. It's always nice to read when we're doing things well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure travels return you to the Los Angeles area!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapoils
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Cute and lively bar, but the renovations stopped after the lobby. Pervasive chemical smell, grimy feeling once you get off the ancient elevator, for which you will wait eons. Room was dirty and noisy. Better value at a mainstream LAX hotel. Go to the Custom for a drink, but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello, pollypurebred:

Thank you very much for being our guest and for posting a review of your recent experience here on TripAdvisor! Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it allows us to evaluate our service and operations and make necessary changes. We were dissapointed to read that your experiece did not exceed your expectations.

We were delighted read that you found the property's location and public areas enjoyable. However, we agree that there is room for improvement throughout the property to bring it to the level our guests and ownership have come to expect and enjoy. As they say, "Rome wasn't built in a day..." We have made huge improvements to the property in the short time it has been taken over by Joie de Vivre Hospitality and will continue to do so in the weeks, months and years to come.

I have passed along your feedback about the "chemical smell" and "dirty" guestroom to our Executive Housekeeper for his review and follow-up. We have established very high standards of cleanliness for our housekeeping teams and your feedback will be used as a training opportunity to continue to improve.

We are also working with our elevator maintenance partner to address any issues within our control regarding the speed of the elevators. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

In closing, thank you so very much for your feedback and patronage! We do hope that you'll be willing to return to Custom so we can show you the improvements we're making to the property! Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of further assistance.

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed in the Custom Hotel January 2012 for the third time, I really like the place; it is reasonably priced, close to the airport and not to far from Santa Monica. To other points if interest it's quite a drive, but that's true for pretty much every place in Los Angeles.

The rooms are quite large and have really nice furniture; the service is friendly.
One recommendation: There's a parking lot just across the street which is free, so you don't have to rely on the valet pricing at the hotel.

A definite recommendation, I would (and probably will) stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hello, Michael U:

Thank you for your continued patronage and loyalty to Custom Hotel! We also appreciate your outstanding review of your recent experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We pride ourselves on delivering better-than-expected experiences with a clean, safe and appropriately-priced product and great service. It's heartwarming to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit.

We're glad you enjoy the hotel's location... just minutes from LAX, without all of the noise and situated in a neighborhood you can feel safe walking around.

In your review you mentioned parking in a nearby lot. We want to advise you and other travelers reading this review that the retail parking lots surrounding the hotel are specifically marked "2 Hour Parking Only". The owners of those lots can and frequently do tow away vehicles parked overnight. The only safe alternative to valet parking is street parking. However, do review the painted curbs and posted signage to ensure you're parking legally.

Thanks again for your business! We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time you're in the Los Angeles area!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Seems to me that the LAX hotel market is rather dismal, inexcusably so for such a major hub. For one thing, it’s mature… most of the properties have been around for 20 years or more. I don’t find it to be particularly user friendly; Century Blvd. is kind of a nightmare for a driver to navigate, and even worse for a pedestrian. Aircraft noise can be an issue. Venture much beyond and you can wind up in some pretty unwelcoming areas. And one really has to shop around for a good value. The Custom is a terrific alternative.

Not sure what this hotel used to be, but the Joie de Vivre chain came in and really jazzed it up. I liked the aesthetics of my room a lot, particularly the bathroom, and when I looked out the window, I saw what appeared to be a surprisingly trendy pool deck. Granted, the common areas are a bit scuffed up in parts, but this is a busy hotel. I had a rental car the entire time, but I stayed here on the last night on my trip and was sick of driving. I was pleasantly surprised to see a few restaurant options within walking distance, including a couple that are located in a shopping/condo complex right next door. The immediate area had a bit more of a neighborhood feel than one would find anywhere else around here, and it was quiet – no jets flying past your window – seemingly safe and less congested. And they had free wi-fi! With parking and tax, I paid under $150, so I have no complaints on that score.

Some people probably stay here for the duration of their Los Angeles stay. I wouldn’t, just because the Westchester/LAX area isn’t one that I regard as particularly convenient to the rest of LA. But because this place really hit so many of the high points for me, I would definitely stay here again for a late arrival or early departure.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hello, George_PConnecticut:

On behalf of all of us at Custom Hotel, thank you so much for being our guest and for posting such a flattering review of your recent experience with us and the world here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is so critical to our operation as it highlights what we're doing well and where there's room for improvement. Overall, it appears you were delighted with your visit!

When we came up with the "Custom Concept", we set out to re-define the traditional airport stay. As you pointed-out in your review, there are a lot of "box" hotels around LAX. Custom is proud to be the only lifestyle-boutique hotel in the LAX area. With quirky touches, unusual amenities and a distinct atmsophere, we're doing everything we can to break the mold of the "traditional layover hotel". We're positioned in a great area of town that you can actually step outside of your hotel and feel comfortable walking around. Free of the noise pollution of LAX, but conveniently situated just a mile from it, we're in a great neighborhood with a park, driving range, shopping, loads of dining options and minutes to L.A.'s famous beaches (Santa Monica Manhattan and Venice, to name a few.) Oh, and did I mention we're one of the few hotels at LAX that's super pet-friendly? We accept all dogs without size or breed restrictions.

Joie de Vivre has invested heavily in turning this property around and we'll continue to do so until the property is brought to the high expectations our guests and owners expect and enjoy. For example, we're in the process of adding refrigerators to ALL guestrooms and robes, slippers, magnifying mirrors, towel rings, improved bedding and coffee-makers to our premium "Elevated" guestrooms. And there's more on the horizon for the entire property, too!

We're delighted to read that you found the hotel to be an overall great value! We've carefully positioned ourselves to be a reasonably-priced airport option.

In closing, thank you once again for your patronage! We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom the next time your worldly travels return you to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] Custom Hotel is a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.