We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Boutique Hotel in LA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added O Hotel to your Saves list
O Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   819 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Orchid Hotel) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
bar I kitchen & D'Vine
Ranked #149 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Boutique Hotel in LA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is advertised as a boutique hotel in downtown LA and it is certainly that. But it is not at the level of true boutique hotels; it is a transformation of a former hotel property and the renovation was to a medium standard. They have tried hard to produce a good ambiance and have do OK with what they had. But there remain lots of issues. For example, the lighting in the rooms is very poor, with no reading light beside the bed. The rooms are small enough that there is no lounge chair to sit in, making TV watching difficult. The glass topped counter where you put your computer means you cannot use a digital mouse. The sink is modern but has no real space to place toiletries. Many things like that. BUT, there is a restaurant in the hotel that is truly excellent. Reason to stay: it is less expensive than any other downtown hotel of some quality. Hotel is still a work in progress. Very halpful and responsive staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    104
    84
    30
    11
See reviews for
20
86
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here en route from the East Coast to Fiji, and this location was just perfect. The area immediately around the hotel seemed a tad bit dead during the day on weekends, but the place really comes alive at night. It's a short walk from the Staples Center in one direction, and from a ton of great restaurants in the other direction. Plus, the metro is about two blocks away, and you can take this to get to many other destinations, including Hollywood. Furthermore, if you just feel like staying in, the O Hotel Bar and Lounge on the ground floor is a great option. The server on the night we ate there was just the cutest thing in the world, the lentil soup is to die for, as is their main chicken dish. It will be an added bonus if you are there when the band is performing-- I think that's on Sunday nights-- they have a very varied repertoire, and the members are quite pleasant.
One of the highlights of our stay was Arturo. He works at the front desk; I am not sure what his job title is, but boy does he deserve a promotion. From the minute we got there, he was super helpful with us and with everyone else who had any questions or needed any help at all. He was always able to multitask and keep his cool. I really hope that he goes far. Thanks to him, we booked a black car to the airport rather than a taxi, which made more sense given how much luggage we had and how much more comfortable we were able to be in the black car service. No request was ever too much for him; if we asked about anything, he made it happen. It was actually thanks to his recommendation of the soup at the O Bar and Lounge that we even ate there, and he was so on point. He was so accommodating, and no request was ever too much for him. Keep up the great work, and you may just have found returning guests if we are ever back in that neck of the woods.
Otherwise, the room is a bit tiny, but we really didn't need much room as we spent less than 48 hours there, and were not really unpacking. Glad to have had a robe in the room. The lotion in the bathroom was divine!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Relatively close to shopping, eateries and the convention center (Staples). This hotel is very inconsistent in the service levels. The staff is shaky and mostly foreign speaking with thick accents which can be very hard to understand at times. I have stayed here several times before and the noise levels vary depending on the night of the week. The front of the hotel is definitely louder than the back part. The rooms are clean, but very small and cramped. The king size bed makes it very hard to move in the room. Be prepared to test your parkour skills! The bar and food prices are steep considering the type of food they serve. Mostly, the food appears to be pre-packaged and heated in the back. The hotel has undergone some growth changes and tries to live up to the "trendy" branding hype that it is a boutique hotel. My main concern is their new pricing - very expensive to stay there now. Their current rates are probably more on the the same level as JW Marriot, but no where near the class. The O hotel would have to do a lot more to justify their hgih costs.

Also, if you drive a car to this hotel the parking is a separate daily cost and there are no discounts if you are a guest of the hotel. Be prepared to pay more fees to park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

#1 found a long curly hair under my pillow at check-in. Told the person but nothing happened. Room kinda smelled dingy, wall AC wasnt that effective, LED lighting didnt give enough light, room was tiny.
Location was great close to pershing square, some other bars. Parking sucked since we pay at the structure n had to carry all our luggage to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

.............not the hotel. We couldnt find anywhere to stay! Difficult to believe in a place the size of LA!!! We found a deal for the next two nights and it was the 'O'. Cosmopolitan 'trendy' hotel in good location in Downtown LA. No parking at the hotel but ample public parking nearby for $7 per day. Room was on the small side but for $230 (plus service charge) per night was reasonable for area. Continental breakfast was included with many lovely restaurants within short walking distance. View from room was a brick wall approx 10 feet away. Wouldnt rush back but difficult to find real fault. Not too keen on the 3 beggars in two nights who asked for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is good located in Los Angeles Downtown city. Unfortunately the area is not so good with few shops and restaurants and after dark the area not feel 100 percent safe. If I would go again to LA I would think about staying in Hollywood area or at the beach.
The hotel is new and designed. Have a google tv with internet connection. There is also wifi in the hotel for your own devise. The hotel also give you two bottle of water each day, there is a fridge in the hotel but is it empty since the room not have any minibar so it is each to put your own drinks and food in the fridge.
The hotel is so design the functionality has become bad. When using shower the whole bath room gets wet because lack of shower protection wall and the shower head was impossible to put in its holder.
They only give you one small small tube with body lotion for two people staying a whole week.
They only have one bathrobe in the double room.
We lost one pair of sunglasses during the stay at the hotel when we were out and got our room cleaned.

The breakfast was okay but not perfect. Not so many different alternatives. I did not try the restaurant in the evening but it seems like the restaurant had good quality since had won rewards and most of the guest in the restaurants were locals and not hotel guests.
One good thing is that is close to metro that goes the whole way to Universal Studios and just outside the hotel the public transportation bus to Disney land goes.
We had a room on the top floor outermost so I heard a constant noise all the time. I think it was from the maintenance machine for air condition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights in the O hotel and it was really nice. Great location for downtown area, mant nice restaurants just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. So ask them for good places to go. Compared to San Fransisco or NYC, downtown LA is not much. However, we liked it! Good fun for à day and plenty of parkingspace for only 12 dollars à day (nextdoor of the hotel.
The hotel is à good 'hub' from where you can visit other areas like Hollywood or santa Monica beach.
The only downside: breakfast is the same every day...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Address: 819 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.