We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely DTLA Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Hotel

Save Saved
You added O Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   819 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Orchid Hotel) (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Lovely DTLA Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed at The O for two nights recently for a sort of urban getaway, and it was perfect. The location makes it walk able to anywhere you may need or want to go downtown. Lobby is gorgeous, hip, relaxing. The front desk staff is friendly, fast and efficient. My room was cool. As others have noted, they are not huge, but how much room does one person need. It had great lighting, really nice bed and linens, even an iPod dock for my own music! A nice touch is that, rather than an expensive mini bar, they provide just a mini fridge. With Ralph's just across the street I could stock up on my own wine and snacks, and they even gave me a free cork screw! I ordered room service one night....the tuna melt is amazing!!!! Free coffee and breakfast in the lobby every morning is also a really nice treat. All in all, a great experience, and value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    104
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
18
79
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Love the staff, very accomodating. Love the restaurant, great cuisine and ambiance. Rooms a bit tight but it's ok if you are not staying for long stays. Located in Downatown La if you are there for business great atmosphere. Close to some of the best restaurants.

Room Tip: Call the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a lovely boutique hotel. It was right in the heart of downtown, wonderfully furnished with good wifi access and a nice breakfast snack included. The shower was a little odd with a wand like head that was rather painful to use, but from previous reviews it sounds like it's on their to-do list. All in all i would return and stay here again as i'm generally a fan of the smaller properties (over the chains) and found this to be great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. I've become so used to big-chain hotels it was refreshing to stay at an independently owned hotel. For a small-town guy like me, the hotel seems very LA chic. Gorgeous lobby. Not grande by any stretch but classy. Room was a little small but very nicely appointed. Very fair for the price I paid on Hotels.com. Very comfortable bed. Wonderful front desk service. Continental breakfast is nicely presented. Wireless is my only criticism. It's slow. So slow that I used my cell phone hotspot. Not slow enough to keep me from coming back though. It's not a place where you'd sit in your room and work so the speed isn't a big deal for this trip (in and out).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We didn't have a good experience in this hotel. The room is dark, we barely could see what we had inside of our suitcases. It seemed like we were on a vampire's movie… what was great was the free wifi. Its near the Staples center, but we didnt have much to do on nights near the hotel. I would not reccommend it, it was not a good experience!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_O_Hotel, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello Gabriella,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We have recently begun a soft refreshment project in all of our rooms and hallways to increase and improve the lighting. This includes higher wattage bulbs, new lamps, and sheer curtains in all rooms.

I'm disappointed that you were not able to find entertainment in the downtown district during your stay. Our in-room compendium offers many restaurant and bar recommendations within walking distance, and our agents are more than happy to help you find a free outdoor concert, plan a Subway ride to Hollywood, or book a tour of the city. We are within walking distance of LA Live, Staples Center, multiple concert venues, restaurants, bars, parks, and metro lines. If you do choose to stay with us again, please feel free to reach out ahead of time so that we can assist you in planning your vacation. You'll reach our concierge team at reservations@ohotelgroup.com.

Warm regards,

Erin Holness
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

An average experience with the O Hotel. The King room was small, with a tiny bathroom that got pretty wet with every shower. Room on the 3rd floor looked directly into a tree but a city view room would probably just look across the road from where the hotel was sited on. Only the comfortable bed redeemed what would have been a gloomy stay. Reviews were right when they say lighting is an issue. Corridors were dim, and so were the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

So the pro photos used as advertisement must be of one room they've reserved specifically for advertising, because the remaining rooms have no space and odd closets (ours was actually off and wouldn't shut entirely, so it remained open the entire time. The lighting was too low and the overall feel of the room was cheap, not to mention dinky. This isn't New York City people, so there are better options at this price point (I'd go with them) just based on space alone. They have the lone restaurant downstairs which is okay, but you can head out to any one of the restaurants downtown for better meals at a better value. DT for an evening out has been being seriously revivied and there are some amazing dining options. The bed was okay and truth be told, I would never stay here again. At. All.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_O_Hotel, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate your feedback.

We are a historic hotel, built in 1925 and renovated in 2007. We take pride in being the only boutique in Downtown Los Angeles among a slew of huge competitors. Our rooms are a little different from what you'd find at a big-box hotel, but what we may lack in size, we make up for with comfortable rooms, quality amenities, and the personalized, friendly service a traveler should expect from a modern boutique.

We showcase photos of each of our room types on our website and Facebook page, and while the main photo above shows one of our Flower King rooms (which is an upgraded room type), we do offer realistic photos of all our available room types online.

I am disappointed that you were unsatisfied with your stay. In the future, should you choose to return, please give us a call at (213) 623-9904. Our agents are happy to help find the best discounted rates available for you.

Warm regards,

Erin Holness
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Address: 819 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.