We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park
1218 Glendon Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)
(310) 474-1579
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 703 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Westwood memorial Park_ Small cemetery with a large number of graves of stars and other Hollywood folk: Truman Capote, Marilyn Monroe, Dean Martin, Merv Griffin, và Rodney Dangerfield. We were staying in Wilshire about 2 blocks away so spent a quiet morning walking around the cemetery. Beautiful and peaceful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    67
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Graves of the stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We thought we would like to see the final resting place of one of our favourite singers Roy Orbison.After a long bus ride from our hotel we thought it would be easy to find but no We ask several people and eventually arrived at the rear of an office block and a car park come delivery entrance with still no indication of the cemetery but undaunted we walked up this service road and discovered the entrance.Now it was time to locate his final resting place again not easy but we some grave co ordinates.It would appear that our English idea of a cemetery is nothing like theirs but eventually we found it or should I say the strip of grass he was under.Most disappointing to see no recognision of the great singer.However we looked around the park and saw many stars we remembered but not one had a decent headstone.worth a visit but download information and plot sites as the staff we ask were not very forthcoming

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Quiet Place to Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I obtained the GPS co-ordinates instead of the address, as I suspected it may me hard to find. I was kind of right...it is very discreet and if you aren't paying attention, you will miss the entrance.

The entrance is after the first building on the left, once you turn onto Glendon Avenue from Wilshire Blvd. It's is not extravagant in any way... in fact you wonder if you are going the right way. I think I expected some form of gate or security, buy there wasn't you basically just drive in.

I have to say, the cemetery is small, very private and of course quietly respectful. There are many stars laid to rest here...more than I actually expected and the whole area is landscaped and laid out well. Seemed really strange that it is placed bang in the middle of high rise buildings...you hear no traffic...it's so quiet. I did feel a little weird taking photos of memorial stones, benches etc...but workers there didn't say anything or indicate it should not be done. As long as one is respectful, I believe they are ok with it.

Oh yes, and you will notice Marilyn Monroe's...it's the only stone discoloured from being kissed from many coloured lips!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbyville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Westwood Cemetery is the place to go to see the stars of yesteryear. From Marilyn Monroe to Buddy Rich to Dean Martin and so on... This is a very small cemetery and you can aquire maps online. You will easily be able to locate 30 or more big star burial plots. Sound a bit creepy, but as long as you are quiet and respectful, the staff encourage you to look around

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hollywood history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a nice place where some of the best of Hollywood legends are at rest. Of course Marilyn Monroe's area is just amazing. There is many celebrities buried here. Anyone who loves Hollywood would love to see and pay their respects here. It can be a bit hard to find, but not to bad. A nice stop on a Hollywood vacation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.