We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant re-introduction to Los Angeles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Los Angeles Century City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel) (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #50 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant re-introduction to Los Angeles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our first trip back to Los Angeles in 20 years. The InterContinental Century City certainly helped make this memorable.

Arrival at the hotel was certainly an eye-catching event, with the swoop up Avenue Of The Stars folllowed by pulling up to the sweeping driveway. The foyer is large, the staff all universally friendly and obliging.

We had previously joined the InterContinental's preferred-guest program, and so were upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor. This gave up some other sweeteners, such as 1 free in-house movie and a 4pm checkout on the last day (very handy as our flight home was leaving at 10pm).

The suite overlooked the 20th Century-Fox backlot, so as children of the 1970s we had great fun picking out which sound stages were used for the TV versions of M*A*S*H (Stage 8) and Starsky And Hutch (Stage 17 and the "old New York" outdoor set).

The foyer bar was a pleasant spot to unwind at the end of a work day, and the light-meal menu was actually quite sufficient (for us) for an evening meal.

LA is not noted for its public transport network, and Century City is no exception. As far as I can tell, this hotel is not adjacent to the current extent of the new subway network. There are local buses, but I failed to decipher the bus trip planner web page (it seems to assume a lot of local knowledge).

The hotel has a car service that will take you to places within 3km or so of the hotel - included as part of your tariff. This includes the nearby Westfield Centre (a big shopping mall, including a comprehensive supermarket) - but this is only about 10 or so minutes' walk away, so you might consider this as some walking exercise (the neighbourhood seems quite safe). Also, Rodeo Drive is within the hotel car service area.

There's not a lot else handy so you will find yourself either using taxis (on tap at the door), driving yourself, or using tour buses (book via concierge). We rented a car for our last day - organised via concierge and delivered to the front door. Be ready for the valet parking charge, over USD $30 per night (but with in-out privileges). Taxis are actually relatively cheap and plentiful in LA (compared to what I am used to), unless you are going a long way.

All in all - the InterContinental Century City was an excellent way to help us get re-acquainted with Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    313
    134
    35
    21
See reviews for
190
272
70
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This the best hotel in LA for me, the only bad thing is that it's the only one on the west coast that doesn't have a club room like the others!

The service is extraordinary, specially the Front Desk with Oscar, who is awesome, nice and a fixer for every problem that might happen! Suzie Ko is the host for the ambassadors and extraordinary at her job too! I could count on them for every request and know they will provide a great service for each and every guest there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I can't help it. I am in LA at least twice a year and this place is perfectly located for my work but it's the service that makes this place special. For new residents, you will not get a warmer, more genuine reception anywhere in LA. As a recurring visitor I am now welcomed with bear hugs from staff members. It is unpretentious, has a great gym and swimming pool and the bar has put up with a lot from some of my work colleagues - always with a smile and professionalism. The rooms are very comfortable, the food (restaurant and room service) is outstanding. Of course it could do with modernising and a makeover but this really doesn't matter ever affect my stays. I have yet to try the spa but have heard great things from others about it. This is a reasonably priced option for LA without compromising on 5* service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's closer to the lifts otherwise you can wind up walking for a while when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good hotel if you have business in the Century City area. The entrance to Fox Studios is right around the corner from the hotel within walking distance. The cab ride from LAX to the hotel runs about $46 without tip. I stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious with a separate living room and office desk area. The room also had an outside balcony with chairs and a table. The king size bed was very firm with four very long pillows. The bathroom featured a separate tub and shower. The room was well-maintained and quiet but beginning to look a bit worn. Hotel service was efficient and professional if not particularly warm. The lobby restaurant buffet breakfast featured a good selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during a quick trip to L.A.. Reception was friendly and welcoming. Beautiful big room with a big sitting area and desk for any office stuff you might want to /or have to do. Huge bathroom with tub and shower. Our view was facing west but we were only on the 3rd floor so couldn't see much. There are a few chairs and a table on one of the two balconies we had, but I think these were for any smokers that might have come. Bed was quite comfy and we enjoyed a few restfull sleeps while there, Heaven. Our only complaints would be the proximity to other things. We never partook of the restaurant in the hotel but instead ventured out to a mall about 3 city blocks away where we could have more variety. We felt very safe walking until an unfortunate homeless man came up behind us which freaked us a little, cause for a taxi ride home. Other issue was the valet charge for parking which turned out to be $37 a night. For some reason I thought I had read some where about a self parking option. We wish this could have been made a little clearer as this is something they really should include in their price so you don't have that deer in the headlights look when they tell you. If you're looking for somewhere a little off the beaten path then this is the place, we can't comment too much on the amenities as we only tried out the workout room one morning and it seemed clean and cool which is what we look for. If you're looking for action you might want to stay away but if you're looking for a great nights sleep and some good service pick this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located in an extremly calm and safe area of L.A. but still conveniently close to the highway. 30 minutes drive from LAX airport. Be careful that nothing is at walking distance, except than for the Westfield Century City mall which is the only place that might be eventually reached without a car(but consider that the walk will take no less than 20/25 minutes, although in a nice and green environment). The mall is upscale, with nice shops and restaurants. Hotel service is excellent. Personnel extremely nice and helpful. Gym is small but well equipped. Breakfast buffet is great. On the down side, some common area are a little torn (some ripping in the corridors wallpaper, some scratches in the elevators). Very small things, but noticeable in a 5 stars hotel. Would need some renovation touches here and there. Rooms, on the contrary, are very well maintained. From some windows you can see 20th Century Fox studios.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The room were somewhat old but well maintained. The hotel was a Park Hyatt so it acutally was built in a high standard. The location is great and right next to 20th Century Fox. Vallet parking was about $40 and the valet is super efficient and helpful so be ready for paying high tips. The overall service of the hotel is exactly what an Intercontinental should have.

You can look out the sign of Holloywood from your room's balcony if you are at the right side. Since it's in Beverly Hills so you don't need to worry about safety. The only problem is you will for sure need a car if you deceide to stay there. I do hope the hotel can waive the parking fees for RA and Platinum members of IHG.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Los Angeles Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Address: 2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Los Angeles Century City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Los Angeles Century City is a taste of true Hollywood style. Our convenient Westside address is within walking distance of 20th Century Fox Studios, MGM Tower, Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive and upscale shopping at Westfield Century City. A quick drive will take you to the Getty Center, Los Angeles city centre, UCLA or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Los Angeles Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Angeles Century City Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.