We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Los Angeles Century City to your Saves list
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel) (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

There is no denying that the hotel itself is nothing short of stunning. Its beautiful all around - the rooms, the lobby, etc. However, we had purchased breakfast buffet with our stay and it was the same exact food every single day - no variety. For myself it was ok because I was only there for 5 days but for my relatives who stayed there for a month it got to be boring. We had a room and several suites and the suites were obviously nice and spacious the rooms are tight. Forget about sleeping on a pull out sofa- you can feel the springs in your back and they are not comfortable. Also, all the pillows they have are large and extremely firm - very uncomfortable as well. I should mention that in one of 4 suites my relatives had reserved an ipod and a very expensive watch went missing. So just beware and lock your stuff up!! There is nothing within walking distance or near so be sure you have a car or count on using a taxi to get around. Other Intercontinentails I have stayed at had kids activities or playrooms but I didnt find anything of the sorts at this location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear MGabil,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are sorry for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay and for not creating a memorable stay for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    351
    147
    42
    26
See reviews for
215
305
71
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is very well located right on avenue of stars, but you need to drive or get a cab for everything. The parking is 15 bucks and not well organized, I lost my card and their charged twice a single night. The room is clean and the bed will take you in a very good sleep quality. The room is large and well organized. I traveled alone and my experience was OK but I will recommend only for couples or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice big hotel in LA . Not in the centre but not too far either . We were here for a couple of days at the end of our Route 66 trip . Room was clean and done us perfectly . We travelled a lot in LA and our car is valet parked for us , just give a small tip when collecting if you want . We also wanted to go out drinking one day so the hotel arranged for their own limo to take us out . This was arranged in a Route 66 package for us so that's why we stayed . Not sure if we would stay here again or try get somewhere nearer the " action " .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The check-in was slow, even after I asked if there was a designated area for Platinum Ambassador members. That was the only low point.....welcoming letter with fruit basket and water in a beautiful suite. They up-graded us and the suite was fantastic....spacious, spotless, and well-appointed. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful....allowing for late check-out as it was an afternoon flight out. Lovely property.....highly recommended.

Room Tip: Property is beautiful.....high floor with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family with two young children (9 & 6). I found the staff both at the valet to the reception very friendly and focused on service..didn't go anywhere with someone wanting to open a door and to say hello. The pool was very nice for the kids as well and got lots of sun. The hotel though needs some maintenance...the hallway walls are all marked up with scratches and marks from the housekeeping carts, the wall paper in places are peeling and they need to do a paint job. Parking is a big cash grab as well at $36/night and there should be free in room internet (have to pay $12.954/day) vs. just in the lobby. Despite these negatives if you can get a reasonable price then its worth staying.

Room Tip: Any room is good as long as you are not facing south and on floors 2-4 where you hear the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear vanha10,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I rarely ever stay at an Intercontinental-seems like a dated chain! But when I had to stay in a hotel in Century City for a week, decided to test it out, after staying at the Hyatt many times. Was looking for a park and stay rate, but neither offered one. Other than that, base rate very similar. I decided to join Ambassador, figuring I'd like the comp upgrade, internet, water, etc, since I'm staying for a week, Requested early check in. Figured a 2p check in wouldn't be difficult, as a VIP-the front desk couldn't accommodate my early check in, even though the lobby wasn't busy or crowded. Didn't seem like much was going on! No one seemed to be paying attention to my request to check in early. Finally, I initiated a request, and told them I had to leave to make an appt, which I did. Finally, after fussing, they let me check in after 3p. After that I received two
separate phone calls, asking if my room had been cleaned? Then I ordered room service, which
was quite good, far superior to Hyatt. But after that, trying to rest and chill, I had two people
knocking on my door, when my privacy sign was on, one phone call from room service, trying to
deliver food again, and I was trying to sleep that whole time! Could you please get with the program???
After the annoying and not so accommodating check in, I had a very positive stay. Manicure at
spa was great, valet, pretty good, upgraded room, quite nice, but in all fairness, feel that the hotel
is dated and needs a redo.
But excellent, quiet location, nice lobby, public spaces. And decent service! After all that, I would stay again!

Room Tip: Joining Ambassador is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed here previously and the property now really needs refreshing. The bathrooms are tired and lacking the extra detail that I expect in this brand......moldy shower doors and missing caulking............cracked sink............certainly not expected. I am a Platinum Ambassador member and was not recognized and did not receive my fruit plate etc without having to ask several time. It seems all the investment has been in the lobby and meeting room area and i am sure they live well off the conferences. But when using my points.......its hard to beat!

Room Tip: If you get a deluxe suite make sure it is not a corner room as they are small and cramped..........h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear malcolm h,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the room, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Los Angeles Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Address: 2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Los Angeles Century City 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Los Angeles Century City is a taste of true Hollywood style. Our convenient Westside address is within walking distance of 20th Century Fox Studios, MGM Tower, Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive and upscale shopping at Westfield Century City. A quick drive will take you to the Getty Center, Los Angeles city centre, UCLA or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Los Angeles Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Angeles Century City Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.