We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Los Angeles Century City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel) (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice big hotel in LA . Not in the centre but not too far either . We were here for a couple of days at the end of our Route 66 trip . Room was clean and done us perfectly . We travelled a lot in LA and our car is valet parked for us , just give a small tip when collecting if you want . We also wanted to go out drinking one day so the hotel arranged for their own limo to take us out . This was arranged in a Route 66 package for us so that's why we stayed . Not sure if we would stay here again or try get somewhere nearer the " action " .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    310
    131
    34
    21
See reviews for
185
271
68
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The check-in was slow, even after I asked if there was a designated area for Platinum Ambassador members. That was the only low point.....welcoming letter with fruit basket and water in a beautiful suite. They up-graded us and the suite was fantastic....spacious, spotless, and well-appointed. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful....allowing for late check-out as it was an afternoon flight out. Lovely property.....highly recommended.

Room Tip: Property is beautiful.....high floor with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family with two young children (9 & 6). I found the staff both at the valet to the reception very friendly and focused on service..didn't go anywhere with someone wanting to open a door and to say hello. The pool was very nice for the kids as well and got lots of sun. The hotel though needs some maintenance...the hallway walls are all marked up with scratches and marks from the housekeeping carts, the wall paper in places are peeling and they need to do a paint job. Parking is a big cash grab as well at $36/night and there should be free in room internet (have to pay $12.954/day) vs. just in the lobby. Despite these negatives if you can get a reasonable price then its worth staying.

Room Tip: Any room is good as long as you are not facing south and on floors 2-4 where you hear the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear vanha10,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I rarely ever stay at an Intercontinental-seems like a dated chain! But when I had to stay in a hotel in Century City for a week, decided to test it out, after staying at the Hyatt many times. Was looking for a park and stay rate, but neither offered one. Other than that, base rate very similar. I decided to join Ambassador, figuring I'd like the comp upgrade, internet, water, etc, since I'm staying for a week, Requested early check in. Figured a 2p check in wouldn't be difficult, as a VIP-the front desk couldn't accommodate my early check in, even though the lobby wasn't busy or crowded. Didn't seem like much was going on! No one seemed to be paying attention to my request to check in early. Finally, I initiated a request, and told them I had to leave to make an appt, which I did. Finally, after fussing, they let me check in after 3p. After that I received two
separate phone calls, asking if my room had been cleaned? Then I ordered room service, which
was quite good, far superior to Hyatt. But after that, trying to rest and chill, I had two people
knocking on my door, when my privacy sign was on, one phone call from room service, trying to
deliver food again, and I was trying to sleep that whole time! Could you please get with the program???
After the annoying and not so accommodating check in, I had a very positive stay. Manicure at
spa was great, valet, pretty good, upgraded room, quite nice, but in all fairness, feel that the hotel
is dated and needs a redo.
But excellent, quiet location, nice lobby, public spaces. And decent service! After all that, I would stay again!

Room Tip: Joining Ambassador is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed here previously and the property now really needs refreshing. The bathrooms are tired and lacking the extra detail that I expect in this brand......moldy shower doors and missing caulking............cracked sink............certainly not expected. I am a Platinum Ambassador member and was not recognized and did not receive my fruit plate etc without having to ask several time. It seems all the investment has been in the lobby and meeting room area and i am sure they live well off the conferences. But when using my points.......its hard to beat!

Room Tip: If you get a deluxe suite make sure it is not a corner room as they are small and cramped..........h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear malcolm h,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the room, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My new wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon after flying in from Australia. When we got there an irate guest was complaining in a very loud fashion at the front desk. He was yelling so loud I was like “what a rude guy.” Nope. Valid. We had just flown for almost an entire day and really just wanted a shower and to get something to eat when we got there. It was well after we were supposed to check in so we though no problem, shower and grab dinner at a nice restaurant. The front desk then told us our room wouldn’t be ready for hours, plural. My wife was upset at this as it was already over three hours after we were supposed to check in. The receptionist as completely unapologetic and made a snide remark or two before sending us to wait on one of the couches. We sat and waited with the steamed guest who kept saying to himself how ridiculous it was. Eventually, after about half an hour, we started talking. Turns out he had reserved ten rooms for a business conference and all of his clients had left because the rooms weren’t available. It was so bad he was afraid he might lose his job.

Finally we got to our room. A wheel chair room. The bathroom was ridiculous. It had handicapped fixtures everywhere and it was hard to take a shower due to the placement of all the fixtures. When you are over six foot and it’s designed for someone who is sitting down, showering is an adventure. I literally (not figuratively) had to almost get on my knees to wash my hair.

Well you probably get the idea by now. The service was horrible all around. Good luck if you want them to get you a cab. Good luck with room service. Good luck with a fast checkout.

Calling this place a five star (we had just stayed at a five star in Atlanta, Fiji, Sydney, and Cairns) is like calling dog poo a filet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsLAXHA, Dir of Room Operations at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mike T,,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback. It's comments like yours that help us grow. We are constantly seeking feedback to help us improve both our product and levels of service. Please accept my apologies for your less than perfect experience. I want you to know we take our service levels very seriously and your experience has been escalated to the Executive Office. I would love the opportunity to communicate with you on as many details as possible. I have sent you a private message to contact me directly. Thank you again and I look forward to our future correspondence.

Sincerely,

Dir of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a lovely and convenient place to stay in Century City, close by to Beverly Hills, Westwood, and reasonably close to LAX. All the service is first-rate, as you’d expect in the very best hotels. My room was immaculate, and I would stay here again.

I reserved a basic room (at a price just under top Beverly Hills hotels). When I arrived, I was told that even without my asking, they upgraded me to a small suite. There were 2 separate rooms, separated by a pair of veiled French doors. The outer room had a large sofa, armchair, coffee table, desk and chair, with its own small balcony large enough for a small table and chairs.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed. There was another, separate small balcony for the bedroom. One thing they did right: outlets. As every really frequent traveller knows, some of the fanciest hotels appear to have outlets only on the wall behind the immobile bed. There were 3-prong outlets available behind each of the bed tables and next to the dresser. The bed tables were thoughtfully placed about 4 inches from the wall, so I did not have to move the furniture the way I usually do in a hotel room. The room wasn’t perfect. The hotel thoughtfully provided a clock radio. But the mattress was 4 inches higher than the top of the table it was on. So I couldn’t read the clock from my side of the mattress. And, note to hotel management, please rotate your mattresses. The side near the bathroom sagged much more than the other side. The bathroom was large, with a separate bathtub and stand-up, if tight, shower. All the amenities are provided.

Be warned, there is one bank of elevators for a big hotel. The elevators were fast, but the walk to many of the rooms is really, really long.

I didn’t have the opportunity to eat more than once. I had a perfectly delicious hamburger with really good truffle fries and an excellent fresh salad. Service was great in the bar. I would have eaten in the otherwise empty restaurant, but the officious maitre’d made me feel completely unwelcome when I asked to see a menu.

Good job on the televisions, too. There's a flat screen TV in both rooms of the suite. The remote, as expected, is one that emphasizes the channels and movies you have to pay for. But to watch free TV, I just had to press channel up on the remote. A few were high def, most were not. There was an HBO channel that received no signal during my stay. Unlike my stays at several other luxury hotels, I did NOT have to navigate through endless premium-payment choices (movies, pay -per-view, porn) just to watch the local news. This is older, better technology. Thanks! It would have been nice to get a channel guide, and even nicer to be able to get a programming guide channel, but I found neither if they existed at all. For those who are interested, and since there was no programming or channel guide, there are channels in Spanish and Chinese and Japanese, and several channels in Arabic and maybe Farsi. There might have been others. Don't expect to get most basic-cable channels, however.

And a big, big compliment to the hotel for working climate control. When I was there for this visit to L.A., it was foggy with high humidity. The long, long walk to my room left me sweaty. It was 73F [22C] in the room. I set the thermostat to 64F [18C], and within moments, the air conditioner came on, with cold air and filtration pulling the humidity out of the air. Both rooms were comfortable within 15 minutes. This is impossible, for example, at the W hotel in Westwood, where their antiquated climate system is not able to do this.

I had one service problem, and one general hotel complaint. When I walked in to the hotel lobby from the entrance, my lungs seized up. The nauseating floral perfume air-freshener smell was overpowering. Ironically, the lobby had beautiful fresh flowers. This was not a quirk, and it was just as much of a shock every time I entered the hotel. When I went to my room, it too had the overpowering smell of floral air freshener. I walked the very long way back to the elevator and went to the front desk. Politely, I asked that an engineer be sent to my room to turn off the automatic air freshener. The desk person said, “Oh no, sir, we don’t have any automatic air fresheners.” I was thinking that perhaps she had lost her sense of smell in a horrible childhood illness, since she was working in a lobby that had a perfume smell much stronger than any perfume or soap store. I gently insisted, she repeatedly said there was nothing she could do about a problem that doesn’t exist. Begrudgingly, she phones housekeeping to turn off the automatic air freshener. They said..., not problem, they will turn off the automatic air freshener right away. The automatic air freshener that the front desk clerk insisted did not exist. By the time I got back to my room, the smell was gone. This story is partially about a failure of training, partially about not listening to the guest.

WiFi is $12.95 a day (3/2013) and it works. Parking is $36 a day.

Hold your breath as you dash through the lobby to the elevators. The smell makes it difficult to wait in the lobby or meet someone there. Note to management: it’s unpleasant, change it.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsLAXHA, Dir of Room Operations at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear 2542b,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your overall stay and the Hotel's offerings. You provided great detailed information that allows us to celebrate our successes and improve upon our areas of opportunity. My deepest apologies regarding the guestroom scent. Your recommendation has been taken under consideration. For the guestrooms, we are working to provide a neutral/crisp scent. Thank you again and we look forward to servicing you again on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Sincerely,

Dir of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Los Angeles Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Address: 2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#58 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Los Angeles Century City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Los Angeles Century City is a taste of true Hollywood style. Our convenient Westside address is within walking distance of 20th Century Fox Studios, MGM Tower, Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive and upscale shopping at Westfield Century City. A quick drive will take you to the Getty Center, Los Angeles city centre, UCLA or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Los Angeles Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Angeles Century City Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.