We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universal Studios Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6147 Lankershim Boulevard, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #164 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Universal Studios Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Comfort Inn & Suites for our entire 4 day trip with our grandkids and daughter. The reviews were good on this one so we decided to stay. We had 3 adults and 3 children so the two queen beds and sofa bed suited our needs and kept our costs down. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. Everything was clean and we had everything we needed.

The gentleman manning the laundry area in the parking structure was quite pleasant and gave me extra towels, washcloths, and coffee when I asked. The breakfast area was large (only one waffle iron though) and was well stocked.

The pool was very small, but the kids did get to swim for a short time after we returned from Universal.

The area was just getting into the unsavory part of town, but was still okay. To get into the elevator, you had to have a key so that was an added measure of safety.

All in all a good value with everyone getting breakfast as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We got in quite late on a Sunday night. Some of the parking was coned off and we weren't sure where to park, but it's under the hotel and seemed pretty secure. We walked up to the lobby and then were given a room that was on the second floor. The room numbers were made of paper and a sign said everything was going to be painted. We got into our room and could see several things were updated(bathroom) while others were outdated or damaged by the reno(door frames). There was complementary water and candy in our room. The view out of our room was the back of an ethnic restaurant and someones' backyard. My husband kept saying it's only for one night. We couldn't get our tickets for Universal to print on the lobby computer because of the lack of adobe and inability to download attachments. The breakfast was the usual and the lobby and morning staff was very nice. It was just a bummer, we have stayed at 6 hotels in the course of our trip. This was the most expensive and the least value for our money- maybe that's just LA?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your patience during your stay with us. Although we are delighted to improve our guest experience, we wish to make it an unnoticeable experience as possible. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel was a little hard to find. Our room was excellent. Beds were very comfortable. Room was very quiet. On the bed were soft and firm pillows. Looks like hotel is doing some remodeling in the rooms. The hallway carpet was in need of being cleaned. Breakfast was good but this location didn't offer fresh fruit besides bananas and apples. Parking is very secure. Disappointed they didn't have a hot tub. Pool is very small.

Room Tip: We got a room on the second level opposite end from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. . We will try our best to fulfill all areas that were of lacking. As we strive to make every effort to meet all the needs of our guests, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I found this property very convenient and met our needs very well. It was a very typical Comfort Inn in terms of offerings and amenities. It's located in a commercial section of the upper end of what is called No Ho. There is an obvious attempt to give the area a safer, upscale look and feel. It does mean there are restaurants nearby, but I would say they still have some work to do. The outside door to the elevator was locked requiring a room key for access. There is covered parking, but many places are double meaning you are going to get blocked in and have to go to the front desk to have a car moved. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our king bed room was clean, had reasonable room, but the large bathroom had a strange lighting and electrical outlet arrangement. There was no direct light over the sink, nor any outlets near it. Don't know if that was a standard arrangement or not. There also was no screen over our second floor window. Mattress was comfortable. Room was quiet. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

As a rule I sanitize the light switches, remotes and table top surfaces in hotel rooms. I usually use the wipes on these areas. Usually you come across a little dirt here and there, not at this hotel. My wipes were as clean and as white...as if they weren't even used. The room was large and quite clean. The breakfast had enough choices for everyone. They have free parking. The staff is very polite and accommodating. There is a grocery store across the street. The rooms offer plenty of outlets and free WiFi. The hotel is located between Burbank Airport and Los Angeles, central to everything. I will be staying here again. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Seems to be a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear about your experience. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We visited Los Angeles mainly for the Universal Studios. We searched at other hotels near Universal but couldn't find one that would cater to a big family for a lesser value. So, we stayed at this hotel, for 3 nights. Our family occupied 3 rooms, one is adjoining the other and another separate room. Four of us stayed in the adjoining room, and it was spacious. The room had a fridge and a coffeemaker, which are a treat nowadays when we compare it to standard rooms in other hotels. The staff were courteous. We requested for additional bathroom items and they gave it to us, at no extra charge. Breakfast was included in the package, and it was convenient. Continental buffet breakfast, though not overflowing, was enough to fill our tummies before we went out to explore LA. Our big family really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank yopu for taking our online survey. We appriciate your feedback. I am glad you and you family enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us. We hope to see you here again soon. We will continue to provide you with an exceptional stay.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Comfort inn & suites
North Hollywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On our 6 day tour of California we found our night in the Hollywood / LA area the most difficult. There are so many areas of town and it takes a personal knowledge of the area to keep from getting a dumpy place in a gritty part of town.

My cousin lives in Burbank and recommended that I get a hotel in the Burbank area. I did not find many options in Burbank, but this hotel was just a few miles away. I told him the address and that it was identified as "near Universal Studios". He assured me that Lankershim BLVD was a nice area. He went on to say, "If you head the other way on Lankershim too far you will be in North Hollywood which is not a very nice area of town.

Long story short this hotel is in the part of town he was referencing. Not really very close to Universal Studios. The area of town was not exceptionally bad where we felt unsafe, but it was not nice either. The view from the hotel room was an old local automobile service garage. We went from a picturesque view of the mountains in San Diego to a dumpy view of oil changes and brake repairs. My 5 year old said, "UGHH this view is horrible! Why would they even build a hotel here with such a terrible view?" I can't say that I disagree either. This hotel cost $110.88 per night which was more than double the price of some of the hotels we stayed at and the area was half as nice.

When we arrived we really were concerned about the parking situation. There was a 1 floor garage under the hotel. They had probably 15 regular parking spots and another 10 spots that they used to double park cars, making 20 spots. Luckily we never got blocked in, but when we left in the morning, the entire left side of the garage was double parked. This would require going to the owner of the hotel and having them move the car that is blocking you in.

The hotel room itself looked very nice although it smelled a bit musty upon arrival. The beds were comfortable and all around the place seemed clean. I believe that the room had been recently updated, although the view from the room was terrible.

In the morning breakfast was offered downstairs. The area was very nice and the selection of breakfast items were good. They had cheese omelets and sausage, make your own waffles (blueberry or original) and offered the other normal breakfast foods you expect at a hotel.

If I needed a place to stay for multiple days I would have probably looked elsewhere. This place was not the worst hotel we have ever seen, but it still lacked a lot to be desired. The good news and bad news is that the things that are bad are out of their control. The parking lot will always be too small and there is nothing that can be done about the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciuniversal, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you taking our online survey. On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize for the inconvience you were caused during your stay here. There is not much we can do about the view. However, the management will be notified about all your complaints and will address them as best as they can. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can provide with a better stay. Once again I apologize for the inconvience.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Comfort inn & Suites
North Hollywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank

Address: 6147 Lankershim Boulevard, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank is conveniently located with easy access to many southern California attractions. This North Hollywood, CA hotel is close to Universal Studios Hollywood theme park and the famous NoHo Arts District. The hotel is also minutes from NBC Studios, the Walt Disney Studios and Warner Bros. Studios located in Burbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Near Universal - N. Hollywood - Burbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.