We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6001 West 3rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Horsham, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 days here for vacation. The hotel is centrally located and close to any attraction in the Hollywood area. The staff was pleasant and the had free parking and wifi. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is dated but well maintained. It is two blocks from The Grove and a great little restaurant right next door. There was a mini fridge, a safe, hairdryer and coffeemaker in the room and they have Direct TV. There is a small pool but people were swimming in it, we never got the chance. For the value this was a great little hotel that I would stay in again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    82
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
39
70
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked hotel through expedia at a very reasonable rate. Hotel is old... I would say 1960's ish, but it doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. It is comfortable and has everything you need for a short stay. We had a king room which was very big. Mini fridge, small table and 2 chairs, double wardrobe, safe, big bed (very firm). Bathroom is quite dated with very loud fan. We didn't use fan in the end as it wasn't really needed if you left the bathroom door cracked open. Water pressure in shower was amazing. Towels were small and barely covered anything, but more towels were provided when asked for. Air con was also very loud but did cool the room very quickly, so could put it on for a short burst then turn off for the remainder of the evening. TV had Cable with a gold range of chanels and wireless internet was free. Staff were great and after arriving at about 10 pm personally showed us to our room on the second floor and carried our suitcase. Although we didn't need it, staff were also able to help with any tour bookings etc.
location wise, there was a diner next door open for breakfast lunch and dinner. 7/11 was also very handy on the corner. Hotel is also only 3 blocks ish from the grove, farmers market, kmart and Ross. We felt very safe walking to 7/11 at about 10.30pm and also walking to the grove at sunset was no problem. Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: To get a quiet room ask for a room near 227. This is at the back of the hotel upstairs on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is convenient to the LA County Art Museum and La Brea Tar Pits, but is in need of serious updating. Dim lighting and worn-out appearance. Worst of all was the ancient, noisy, and inefficient window air conditioner. The filter looked like it had never been changed. Price was a bit high considering.

Room Tip: During the warmer months, avoid the south side near the AC compressor fans of the building next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed one night for business. The major things I look for when traveling on a budget are costs of the room, free parking/wifi, good wifi, and a clean room. I was happy with all these except the wifi. It was decent wifi but slow at times - trouble loading pages. There was no iron in the room, but the front desk brought one up in a few minutes after my request. The building and room decor are a bit unique - felt like a flashback to the '70s. It was close to food, two shopping areas, and Cedars-Sinai. The price was definitely for the location and not the quality (but again, the quality was solid). Overall, this was a decent place to stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are two reasons that this property gets 1 star. First, that is the lowest rating that can be given, and second, the location is great.

First, making a reservation has to be done by phone - not online. They screwed up the reservation and had us the night before we were supposed to be there - the date was set, as we were seeing a concert at the Greek theater and had already gotten tickets.

The person at the front desk informed us that we were a "no show", but we were there! She told us the manager would handle it in the morning and :not to worry, it happens all the time". We agreed to stay - kind of stuck otherwise! In the morning, the manager said that we didn't show up when we had booked the room for and would do nothing to help (even though we spent the night).

Now... the property itself. YUCK! The carpets are filthy and stained. Actually, everything felt dirty. Getting from the lobby to the room, is down a couple of steps, through and uneven walkway near the pool with very little lighting and into a dimly lit hallway with a laundry basket and vacuum cleaner left there.

The bottle of shampoo had a safety tape on it, but it was kind of squished up under the lid - like it was refilled and left for us. Gee - thanks for sharing. Ewww!

I kept my socks on, because I didn't want to be barefoot on the floor.

The room was near the pool (luckily it was cold, so no one was swimming). I mean right near the pool - maybe 10 feet away. The pool chairs were against our window.

We tried to turn the heat on, but it smelled like something dead was on fire inside. So we bundled up before going to sleep.

The free parking is great if you are on a motorcycle. It is very, very tight!

We have learned our lesson. NEVER again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is the closest lodging to our son and daughter-in-law and probably the only place under $200 so we stayed here once last year and then again this year. Last year we had a room in what I would call the "annex" - a rectangular shaped building to the west of the main building where you check in. On the south side of this building is the pool, on the north side it is a sort of alley way with parking. Both times we got a room on the top floor. The first time was on the south side. It was a good size with a king size bed, was clean enough (though old) and though I wouldn't have wanted to stay here very long, it was adequate. This year we stayed in the same building but were given a room on the north side. The room was much smaller and the bed was a hotel queen (you know, smaller queen than you have at home). I don't know if they are still in the process of working on this room, but there is absolutely nothing on the walls. It is a stark white room. The bathroom was adequate, everything worked though the drain was a little slow and had a little back up. But the water pressure and temperature of the water were just fine. The fan in the bathroom works VERY well, it is super loud so be prepared for that, but it sure does work! Because I am a female who does her hair and make-up in the morning, I really prefer an area outside of the room with the shower and toilet but the ONLY mirror in the entire room is in the bathroom. And the fan is connected to the light so you have to put up with the loud fan while putting on make-up. The biggest faux pas in the bathroom was the placement of the light. They had a very nice-looking triple light fixture that was mounted on the wall to the SIDE of the mirror, which is above the sink. Who in the world would have planned such a thing? There was a really nice large round mirror that was placed too high on the wall above the sink and then they put the only light in the room on the wall to the left of that. If they had simply put the mirror lower (which really needs to happen to accommodate shorter women) there was plenty of room to put the light fixture above the mirror. Did no one think of how ludicrous it is to put a mirror to the side for make-up application? This may sound petty to men, but for a woman who uses make-up, it's important. The closet area is large enough and there is a counter area immediately outside of the bathroom. There is a small fridge but no microwave. There is a coffee maker but you had to hold the button in the "on" position for it to work (I reported that). No breakfast included but there is a restaurant on the south side of the pool. We did not eat there. To wrap this up, I found this hotel to be adequately clean but I think you need to be careful which room you get. I was not with my husband this year when he checked in and maybe they thought he was alone so they gave him the room that would be fine for a man who doesn't apply make-up. If you need to be in this area, just need a place to sleep and don't want to spend a fortune, then this place is adequate.
P.S. There is no website booking so I emailed but got no response. I had to call and had difficulty with the man's accent. There are no discounts like AAA, etc.

Room Tip: Inquire when you get there, ask to see the room/bathroom accommodation to see if it meets your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Lodge Hotel

Address: 6001 West 3rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90036
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Plaza Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, CBS Studios, and Farmer's Market are located in Los Angeles near Fairfax and 3rd Street, near the Miracle Mile on Wilshire blvd., the Park Plaza Lodge Hotel is located just a stones throw from these historic landmarks here in southern California. If you are visiting The Grove at Farmer's Market or planning to attend a taping at CBS Television City in Los Angeles, the Park Plaza Lodge Hotel is the best place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Park Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.