We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay at LAX” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard to your Saves list
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6161 W Century Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Western Mass
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK Stay at LAX”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Convenient. Room was clean and in good shape. If you are driving here, understand that you MUST use valet parking for $18/night (no choice, even though I parked my rental car by myself in a parking space that wasn't marked "valet parking only"). No restaurant. No frills. Next time I'll try the Sheraton a few doors down. The Sheraton has a nice Italian restaurant (Paparazzi - we enjoyed supper there) Starbucks, shops, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    272
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
107
172
59
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to leaving on an early flight.

Positives:
- Great shower pressure and temp
- Good mattress
- Quiet room
- Working AC

Negatives:
- Bathroom had no vanity and no counter space, and a super-low shower head (more on that below)
- Lumpy, uncomfortable pillows
- Novice staff (or so it seemed)
- Teeny towels

When we first arrived, we were given a room directly in front of the very noisy elevator. Um, please tell me that when I check in?!? We asked for a room further from the elevator and ended up with one at the end of the hallway. Great! Except it was an accessible room, which the check-in staff member didn't tell us would have an uncomfortably low shower head and only a pedestal sink. These are things that should be mentioned! Yes, we were only staying for a night, but we might come back through LAX at some point, and I'd be hard-pressed to choose this Marriott again.

And come on hotel chains (especially Marriott properties)—you can do better with the pillows!!!

Room Tip: Make sure it's not near the constantly dinging elevator, unless you can tolerate the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After a lot of research on Trip Advisor of the various hotels close to LAX, we chose the Courtyard by Marriott LAX on West Century Boulevard for a three night stay.

We arrived at LAX and two hours after touching down, we were finally able to leave the airport! The hotel shuttle pick up point was easy to find and we waited only about ten minutes for one to arrive. This was at about 3.30 pm. The driver helped us load our five bags and we then proceeded to the Marriott which is one block away from the Courtyard by Marriott.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and check in was accomplished swiftly.

Our 7th floor room was, like the rest of the hotel, recently refurbished and in good condition. The room itself was large and comprised a king sized bed, wardrobe, 3 drawers writing desk, fridge (not stocked), a 3 seater settee, TV, safe, ironing board with a hand basin in the bedroom area. Completing the set up was a hairdryer which was virtually useless due to the extremely short power lead.

The bathroom comprised a large bath and toilet, with an overbath fixed shower head, which was the only item which had not been replaced, was difficult to operate, and dripped when turned off. LIghting in the room was very good and the bed was comfortable, with a good pillow selection.


There was a coffe maker with free filter coffee and an ice bucket which could be replenished from a room adjacent to the lift area. The towels were of good quality, face cloths were also provided, as were soap tablets, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, but no shower gel!

On the same level as reception, located on the ground floor entrance level, were four free internet terminals plus printer. Additionally there were three separate terminals to facilitate airport check in, again with printers. We felt that this was a very good idea, and freed up the other terminals for general computer work.

Also on the ground floor, was a "Bistro" which offered food from 6.00 am. The selection was limited and the price was typical of this standard of hotel.

Our choice of this hotel was mainly determined by the reports of the reliability of its airport shuttle, contrary to stories regarding other hotel shuttles; and the facility to walk to Terminal 1. The shuttle runs nominally every 15 minutes, but this interval can vary depending on traffic and patronage. It effectively starts at the Marriott, picks up at the Courtyard and goes to all the airport terminals starting at 1, before returning to the Marriott. During our stay we made a return trip to San Francisco from Terminal 1, and also a trip by train to San Diego, which involved catching the Fly Away bus from Terminal 1 to Union Station. Without luggage we did these transfers between hotel and Terminal 1 on foot at all times of day and night. At a brisk walking pace, we were able to leave our hotel room and arrive at Terminal 1 in 13 minutes. The route is reasonably well lit and busy, so this proximity to the airport is a big plus for the Courtyard.

Would we come again? If we return to LA, yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This would have been a great stay since the rooms are up to date and the hotel is close to the airport. Just when I thought that I was gettting my money's worth, I was wrong. When I was ready to go to bed, pulled the comforter and saw long hair and crumbles of potato chips on the bed. I tried to remove it but it was a lot. Then I noticed a bad smell on the linens and pillow case. I decided to call the front desk to have the linens change but they told me that there were no housekeeping at night and that I had to change the linens myself, can you believe that? This is Marriott?! So I had to do it myself which is the first time I have to do after staying in different hotels. My suggestion is to go and stay at other hotels, for the price you can get better and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLAX, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Your comments and feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you sharing your experience as well. We are also glad to hear you like our new updated look and multi-million dollar renovation to the entire property. At the Courtyard LAX we understand how critical it is to provide a clean and comfortable room that allows you to relax. Please contact me so I may follow up with you as this in not typical for our hotel. We pride ourselves on fresh linen, each and every stay. Our training and expectation is that we resolve any guest issues promptly and to your satisfaction prior to check-out.

Please accept my apologies and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to exceed your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Because of a snafu with our hotel reservations, we had to scramble to find a place near LAX. Took a chance on this place and was very pleasantly surprised. Luxurious, no, but if you need to be near LAX, it's great. Clean, good service, great little cafe...and Starbuck's coffee too! I would choose this over the LAX Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel is fine...check in is very quick and effiecient..room is very large and bathroom is fine..all is very clean.
The restaurant is a little pricey for what it is...
only problem was shuttle service --we waited a good 25 minutes which is not ideal after 12 hours on a plane...
would suggest

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is my idea of the perfect business hotel. The staff is so helpful, good location, free wireless, decent food, comfortable room. This will be my go-to place in LA. I was most impressed that they offered to pick me up at the car rental nearby--saved me a ton of time and bother. The food in the Bistro is unexpectedly good. Room was spacious. Every service was speedy and helpful. The management of this property should be proud--it advances the brand.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#73 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,724 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn by Marriott Los Angeles LAX / Century Blvd
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#70 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Westside
The Concourse Hotel at Los Angeles Airport - A Hyatt Affiliate
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard

Address: 6161 W Century Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Los Angeles Lax/Century Boulevard Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Courtyard
Los Angeles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.