We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your fancy fix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Capitan Theatre

El Capitan Theatre
6838 Hollywood Blvd., Rua Versalhes 45 Casa 4, Los Angeles, CA 04736030 (Central L.A)
800-347-6396
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour
Ranked #44 of 328 Activities in Los Angeles
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Get your fancy fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This theater goes all out for its premiers of Disney movies. I haven't been there for years, but I did see Narnia 3 and they had an actor come out on stage before the movie started, who was supposed to be the prince wandering about lost in the forest looking for something. There was also lots of confetti everywhere, and I'm not entirely sure why. But it did make a special experience! There was Narnia memorabilia in the lobby that you can peruse before you take your seat, neat stuff like costumes and props that were used in the filming. It was really fun!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    67
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Its Disney!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

No matter do not bring children. Theatre El capitan is a must when visiting hollywood. In my last trip to Los Angeles with my wife, we went to the Frozen function. Here only Disney-Pixar films are projected. Before the show there is a man playing a huge pipe organ. Entering this place is like entering Dinseyland.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“unique moviegoing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

go when they're playing something you want to see, but be sure to be in your seat 30 minutes early. the Might Wurlitzer rises out of the floor and you get a great mini-concert before the film.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Premiere party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just happened to be here while they were preparing for the premiere of "Frozen". Lots of electricity in the air for obvious reasons. Everything decked out in winter garb for the movie. Beautiful! Wish could have stayed for the premiere but we didn't have an invitation. Sadness!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic Theatre with a New Age Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We saw the Nightmare Before Christmas in 4D sitting in a balcony seat. Originally, we had the first row seats, but our daughter couldn't see over the wall in front of us, so we moved one row back. That make a world of difference. If visiting for the first time, I would recommend sitting in the balcony middle section and at least a couple of rows up. The 4D effects were pretty cool. Nothing super spectacular, but enough to make the movie better. The Theatre opened in the late 1920's and has been remodeled, but still holds great architecture and history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan Theatre also viewed

 

Been to El Capitan Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Capitan Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.