We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Laid Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vibe Hotel
Save
You added Vibe Hotel to your Saves list
5922 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Western US
1 review
“Cool and Laid Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

My visit to the Vibe was a great experience. They have a free BBQ on Saturday nights which gives you the opportunity to hang out and socialize with other guests. The staff is friendly and very accomodating going out of their way to make sure you have what you need (extra blankets, towels, etc). The private rooms are fantastic and decorated in a very hip and funky way. It is close to transportation and there are plenty of things to do down Hollywood Blvd.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and other guests
  • Disliked — Whiny guest next door
  • Tips/Secrets — Take any of the reviews with a grain of salt..some people are bound to be unhappy no matter what
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    9
    9
    18
See reviews for
8
20
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

They have bedbugs in 105 and it stinks. Plus there is a girl there who is having allergic reactions to the bedbugs and they refuse to move her to anothe room. The manager, Vlad, is shady and pocketed the cash I paid him, I was told by the employees this is common.

  • Liked — Parking
  • Disliked — Disgusting rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Dirthy, with death ants in the bed. The shower, bad!!!!, don't walk in without shoes.
The smell was terrible.
Free parking and free internet are a+ but that can't make me come back again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Vibe is good for the money, but the pictures are deceptive and the only rooms that colorful are private and maybe the kitchen
The weekly BBQ is so late that most people do not partake or are too drunk by the time the food is ready. In fact, too many were drunk on a nightly basis, and since the main area is outside you could not avoid the area.

There is NO airconditioning and dorms are 6 people. It was unbearable. The Vibe used to be a apartment building with little 300 sq ft studios. Somehow the Vibe thought a room designed for 2 at the most would be comfortable for 6. It was not. Further, they looked putting men in with the women when they had no reason to.

For the most part many people live in CA and live at the Vibe because they do not have jobs that can support them in their own place. There are some travellers, but they stay very short because of the issues with the staff moving people, touching their things, stealing by staff, etc.

Of the time I spent in the Vibe, 75% were living there on a permanent basis. They had mail delivered to them there. Further, the Vibe has been making more rooms into private rooms due the size, so by years end it could be back to its original purpose.

The computer lab was constantly busy, old OS, and slow.

The area is close to transportation, but the real problem is that it is on the seedie side of Hollywood Blvd where homeless teens sleep outside across the street.

This would not be the place to send someone who is getting their first view of America or Hollywood.

  • Liked — cost
  • Disliked — staff
  • Tips/Secrets — do research
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

Vibe is FANTASTIC. The location is great. The people are very friendly and groovy :). The rooms are clean and good price value.

And one last thing that I wont forget, I stupidly left my luggage there and just realized before take-off. So I called and asked them to keep my luggage until someone came over and took it. And now I've got my luggage back. Thank you guys. I'll sure stay there again on the next trip.

Note: Makasih Debbie...:p

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

this place was a good value for the money. nothing extravagant, but nothing wrong either. i'm not sure why there were so many complaints. we had a private room, which could have used some Air Conditioning, but once night time came it was manageable. this place definitely has a hostel vibe, so if you're looking for peace and quiet, you might want to look elsewhere. if you enjoy the friendly, party, hostel atmosphere, this is a great place to stay. great hollywood location too, close to everything you'll want to see and do.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2005

Fantastic service and a great location at an excellent price, we couldn't be happier with our stay. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious, all with free parking and internet access.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel

Address: 5922 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vibe is a cool Hollywood Motel with hip common space and clean, well designed rooms. You can park near your room and come and go as you please, it's fast and fun. Groovy Hollywood accommodation in Los Angeles with funky motel style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Los Angeles
Vibe Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.