We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice couple of days in California!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Inn & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Valley Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley Inn & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10621 Sepulveda Blvd, Mission Hills, Los Angeles, CA 91345 (North San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice couple of days in California!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Outdated hotel overall, but still very comfortable! Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Only major complain I have is that the phone service was off for my whole 3 days stay. Other than that, rooms are pretty large, breakfast is basic but acceptable, and the location is conveniently close to major freeways. I would definitively stay in this hotel again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    23
    14
    37
See reviews for
34
22
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I travel (I'm retired on a fixed income), I look for bargains and worry about some of the low-rated places, but sometimes I think only spoiled people do most of the ratings. This place was genuinely decent. It needs updating, and the tub didn't drain very well, but so what? Breakfast was fine, at least for those of us who don't make demands. And, for excitement, they scheduled an earthquake while I was there, but kept it to 3.9 to ensure that no one got hurt, Good of them, eh?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel is dismal. Bed is old and hard! Smells. The AC is on but doesn't cool the room. Pool area was nice. Tv is nice. Brkfst served at 7 am. We leave at 5:30 am so we'll miss it. Free wifi. Not fast enough to load my episodes of LOST. Eager to check out! Front desk was friendly but not very professional. The reception counter was built for tall people in mind. If you're short, they can't see you. I wouldn't reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must, ask for a room with a pool view and on the 2nd floor. See picture of hotel map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Before I go into a litany about the things that are wrong about this place, first let me compliment the very nice young woman who manned the front desk at midnight on Thursday, August 9, 2012. She was charming and presented a very nice image of the Inn. My first impression was positive, but it ended right there in the lobby after receiving the card key to my room.

Walking down the hallway, the carpets are worn and dirty. Good thing they are very dark brown. The room was on the ground floor, upon getting into the room I thought I'd entered the Twilight Zone, zipped back to the 1980's in low level motel decor. Everything gold and dark brown, dated in a unique time warp kind of way that says "No money has been spent to maintain this place in the last 25 years", what were you expecting for your $97 bill?

There was a sliding glass door to a small bare concrete patio sitting next to the parking lot, the shrubberies were half dead, like a land that time and the gardener forgot about. There is no furniture of any kind on the little patio. Can't they afford those white plastic chairs you get for $5 each at Target? The air conditioner is one of those old little wall units. Turned the thing on, and was surprised it blew some cold air. The king sized bed looked like one of those beds you'd expect to see in an 80's San Fernando Valley porn flick, with an old thin bed spread and three worn out flat pillows. Sitting on the bed, the rock hard appearance was confirmed, as well as the squeaky bed springs and the lumpy 1" foam base under the thin sheets. It would not be a comfortable night. Alas, it was already after midnight and I had driven 386 miles to get there.

The bathroom was tiled, with a large walk-in handicapped type shower. There was adequate water pressure and hot water, but since it was 1 a.m. I don't know if it would be the same at 7 a.m. The bathroom door did not close well because the carpet under it was frayed and torn, and the bottom of the door itself deteriorating from being dragged across the carpeting. The whole room gives a vibe from it's colors and condition that it's desperate need of an update. Actually an entire room update, including the 1970's dark wood furniture with gold leaf accent trim. It's really awful. I can hardly wait to leave in the morning. After a near sleepless night due to the uncomfortable bed (even though I brought my own pillow from home) I didn't bother to try the "free breakfast" offerings, I didn't even go there to see what was offered.

It did have one of those little four cup coffee makers with the little glass pot, and the coffee in the envelope. It was just as bad as I remember it being in the 80's. Fortunately, there's a Starbucks close by on Devonshire that will serve you a lot better. The small black refrigerator was there, too, but it had been unplugged from the wall and was room temperature. I plugged it in and it worked. My orange juice was cold in the morning.

I can't recommend this place to anybody, unless it's after midnight and you are too tired to drive anywhere else. In the area, you'd be better off stopping at Magic Mountain Parkway in Valencia rather than proceeding into Mission Hills. There's plenty of clean rooms there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvigny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I booked this hotel base on a 3-star rating on booking.com; however, it would at best deserve one star IF cleaned and maintained properly. What I found was phone & TV out of order, incredibly worn-down funiture, and cables ripped off the walls. Urine stench around the hotel and smelly lobby. Not a place to stay, especially if you want to enjoy your vacation - we had to check out and find a better place.

Room Tip: check the room out before you sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed as a last minute booking due to spring break trip that went awry. Hotel Staff was nice. Room was big and spacious. Bathrooms were nice as well. The free wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was amazing! But by the time I woke up, most of the good stuff was gone. No micro in the rooms, so that's a negative. Didn't use the pool but used the laundry facility, which was very useful! Area was okay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms are very comfortable and large...bed was hard like I prefer and bathroom was clean and had excellent water pressure in the shower....The hotel had a great workout room.
Hotel close to restaurants,presidential library and hwy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn & Conference Center

Address: 10621 Sepulveda Blvd, Mission Hills, Los Angeles, CA 91345
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#257 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Inn & Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Valley Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Los Angeles
Valley Inn And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;