We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A noteworthy diner at a great price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jans Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jans Restaurant
8424 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3402 (Central L.A)
323-651-2866
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,113 of 8,734 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A noteworthy diner at a great price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We only ate at Jans, to be fair, because it is located across the street from the Elan Hotel, which is an excellent place to stay when in LA. It is a solid diner, so if you are interested in diner food, you can come here and be satisfied as we were. If you are expecting something more, you will be disappointed. The place has been in business for years and there is a reason for that. I had the old-fashioned sandwich and it was delicious, complete with housemade Russian dressing on the side. My daughter ordered a salad and all of it was fresh and crisp. The decor is as old as some of the patrons, but who cares? To get a good meal in LA and not have it cost a fortune is enough for me to recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good honest diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate twice there for breakfast in late July. First day pancake stack with fried bananas and the second time Belgium waffles with strawberries. Both times with their delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Good service and good food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first experience of a diner in America, and it proved to be a nice welcoming experience. If you want grilled cheese, burgers and a greasy fry up or a traditional club sandwich this is the place for you.

The thing that made it so memorable was the staff, as they were so friendly and attentive but in a non obtrusive way. The diner has dated furnishing which most people may find uncool, but we think it gave it charm and preserves the real diner experience over tacky manufactured diners like johnny rockets.

I reccomended a chocolate milkshake!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Towed my car illegally from the customer parking lot beware!
We were having dinner at the restaurant, to come back find out that our car was towed away!
Filed charges at the court!

P.s.: food was barely eatable on top of everything

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Skip this diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

No way this has the "best coffee in Los Angeles". Mediocre food at best. Went for breakfast and it was just across from the Elan Hotel. Would have been better off with the hotel's continental breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jans Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.