We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest diner food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jans Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jans Restaurant
8424 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3402 (Central L.A)
323-651-2866
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,294 of 8,646 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good honest diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate twice there for breakfast in late July. First day pancake stack with fried bananas and the second time Belgium waffles with strawberries. Both times with their delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Good service and good food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first experience of a diner in America, and it proved to be a nice welcoming experience. If you want grilled cheese, burgers and a greasy fry up or a traditional club sandwich this is the place for you.

The thing that made it so memorable was the staff, as they were so friendly and attentive but in a non obtrusive way. The diner has dated furnishing which most people may find uncool, but we think it gave it charm and preserves the real diner experience over tacky manufactured diners like johnny rockets.

I reccomended a chocolate milkshake!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Towed my car illegally from the customer parking lot beware!
We were having dinner at the restaurant, to come back find out that our car was towed away!
Filed charges at the court!

P.s.: food was barely eatable on top of everything

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Skip this diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

No way this has the "best coffee in Los Angeles". Mediocre food at best. Went for breakfast and it was just across from the Elan Hotel. Would have been better off with the hotel's continental breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great menu, fresh food, clean premises and pleasant staff. You can have a snack or huge main meal. Delicious food!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jans Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jans Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.