We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy place....Great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Won Kok Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Won Kok Restaurant
210 Alpine St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2302 (Central L.A)
(213) 613-0700
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,771 of 8,618 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dingy place....Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming since I can remember. The place has not changed at all. The food is great. The service not so great when the place is packed. You know the food is good when you see fat cops and a plethora of Mexican families chowing down. The place may look like a dirty clinic but the food is phenomenal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looks sketchy but its amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

The food is amazing. The restaurant is older but the staff are extremely friendly. They explained what the dishes were and had very fair prices for the portion sizes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Beef Stew in Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Won Kok doesn't really have a lot of good dishes, but it has the best five spice Chinese beef stew in Chinatown. This dish is one of my favorites and Won Kok's is up there on top...in LA or in SF Chinatown restaurants.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“yummy and reasonable prices! big servings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've been going here for years now. It has the best chicken bun (chicken siopao) and mongo sesame!!!!!! I also love the house special/hongkong special crispy chow mien and ginger beef!!!! I surely keep coming!!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA Land of Gracious Living
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“THE CANTONESE STYLE FOOD HERE IS THE BEST OUTSIDE of HONG KONG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Welcome to Chinatown LA...(New Chinatown) I have been going here since I was kid with my Dad for way over 40 years. Best place to buy Dim Sum fresh and hot! As a former Peace Officer I can tell you it is a safe place to eat because it is Cop Hangout. We use to go here for lunch or dinner after booking someone at LACJ just down the street. Parking is crowded at times but free and secure After all the neighhborhood is...well what can I say..it's Downtown LA. The Chinese food is Cantonese Style. I would Rx the Special Chow Mein with Pan Fried Noodles, Half a Roast Duck, War Wonton, Beef with Bean Cake,Steamed Rice,and a Tsing Tao Beer. They have a lot of Rice Plate orders too. The place shows it's age but you go here for the great food at great prices. The people you see here is like going to the Airport..for sure you will see many nationalites here especially Filipinos, Chinese, Mexicans, South Americans, and European Tourists and of course us the Local Native SO Californians...It is truly a melting pot of the USA and it is an awsome experience.Won Kok (what a name huh?) is open at around 11:00am and closes at 3:00am...that's another reason it's a Cop Hangout.The portions they give you are to feed a Linebacker! So....If you like Good Chinese Cantonese Food at Great Prices and aren't hung up on ambiance of table clothes with flowers vases,and Vivaldi playing over the speakers, then my friend this is the place to go!Won Kok...a real find and truly indicative ofthe SO Cal Lifestyle.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Won Kok Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Won Kok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Won Kok Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.