We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sanchez

Casa Sanchez
4500 S. Centinela Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90066-6206 (Venice / Beach Areas)
310-397-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Sanchez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 8,575 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Venice / Beach Areas
Cross street: Culver Blvd
Description: At Los Angeles’ Casa Sanchez Mexican Restaurant patrons will enjoy delicious, authentic Mexican cuisine, amazing cocktails as well as a live mariachi band. At this LA Mexican restaurant you can sit back on Thursday- Sunday and listen to the live music or enjoy dinner and drinks under the stars on the outdoor patio. Whether you are looking for a romantic evening, out with a group, or just grabbing a quick bite you will enjoy the very diverse Mexican menu. The friendly and knowledgeable wait staff at Casa Sanchez Mexican Restaurant will assist you with anything you may need. Favorite menu items include scallop & shrimp ceviche, tacos dorados de pollo and Chamorro de Puerco. Pair these delicious dishes with a classic margarita. For your convenience, this Mexican restaurant is open every day, including most holidays.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food, great margaritas, great service, great mariachi! A little off the beaten track, but definitely quite a gem in this town full of mediocre mexican restaurants. The chicken mole was great, but a little heavy on the mole. The shrimp starter was amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!! Dinner & a mariachi band/show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

There is no cost for the show/ mariachi performance! Reservations are very important here! Request dining room seating if you want to see & hear the show. The patio seating area is beautiful & they will open the doors so you can hear really well.

Now to the food ... Delicious! I had carne asada & an enchilada plate for $17. There are other items that are more. So it's very reasonable for the quality of the food, elegance of the decor, and the show. It is not designed to be a rushed dinner restaurant. Enjoy the chips, guacamole & salsas for free. Savor the food & the atmosphere here!

Valet Parking is tip only which is unusual for LA. So come a few minutes early to allow time to have it parked because street parking is nearly impossible here. The valets work quickly & efficiently to take care of everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dance 10, Food/Service 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We celebrated Father's Day with my wife's family -- thirteen in all. Casa Sanchez has several seatings through the night, each spaced fairly far apart to ensure that folks can eat and stick around after the entertainment is over, and not feel like the bum's rush before the next seating.

We knew that it was bad when the valet parking was backed up. We eventually found street parking. This happens, of course, because as one seating was arriving, the other was trying to leave. The parking area is small, so park on the street and be done with it.

The service was a little slow. Again, we assume, the seating simultaneously of the entire restaurant makes preparing and serving all entrees for the entire restaurant problematic. As it was, we had challenges getting chips (seriously, chips?!?). Despite other reviews, the guacamole was average -- kind of watery, to be honest.

We finally forced our order in just before the lights dimmed at 7:30 and the mariachi's began playing. After countless requests for chips.

to be fair, when wait staff talked to us, they were pleasant and cordial. it just wasn't very frequent.

The entrees were good, not great, average tasting, and certainly not the best Mexican food we'd ever eaten. I had the carne asada, which was flavorful, but ultimately, too tough, and not necessarily worth the trip. My cheese enchilada was stuffed full of cheese. Maybe a bit too much cheese. The mole enchilada was okay, but not spectacular. The chile relleno was tasty, but overall, not impressed by the food.

Service -- kind of slow and not attentive. Hard to get more chips, more water, take our order.
the mariachis were great -- passionate about what they do. The dancers were terrific. The singers were excellent. The whole "call and response" did not work -- the audience was politely attentive, but not enough to repeat verses or scream and shout.

In summary, the entertainment was good but the rest of the restaurant (food, service) was found lacking

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Elegant Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We dined at this great restaurant to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The decor was elegant
and the mariachi band REALLY good. The service was efficent and very polite. And oh the
variety of Margaritas. I had a Kiwi margarita...quite good and others had a cucumber margarita and millionaire margarita..yum! The birthday singing was very lively and personal. Great
place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Who Knew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I were born and raised in this part of LA but we were totally unaware of this restaurant. Probably because it's only been there six years and we have lived in Ventura Co. for 36 years. We were taken there by friends and we're glad we made the trip. The food was excellent but what really made the evening great was the entertainment. The mariachi group was the finest we have ever experienced. Their show lasted what seemed like an hour and a half. We were very impressed.

The service was unrateable because it was so good. They have an army of waiters. We wanted or waited for nothing. They were right there all the time. Why the owner decided to build the restaurant in this part of LA escapes me. Closer to the Marina or Santa Monica seems fitting. Still, the restaurant was packed. Testament to it's food and entertainment.

For travellers visiting LA, it is a very short drive from LAX. If you would like a taste of what we gringos sometimes imagine Mexico to be, in all it's gaiety and great food, I heartily recommend this restaurant. That's saying something because I don't especially like Los Angeles.

My final recommendation would be to sit in the main room if you want to really experience the music. If not, the patio area was spacious and nicely appointed. Make reservations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Sanchez also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Casa Sanchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sanchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.