We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely, Elegant Mexican Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sanchez

Casa Sanchez
4500 S. Centinela Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90066-6206 (Venice / Beach Areas)
310-397-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Sanchez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Venice / Beach Areas
Cross street: Culver Blvd
Description: At Los Angeles’ Casa Sanchez Mexican Restaurant patrons will enjoy delicious, authentic Mexican cuisine, amazing cocktails as well as a live mariachi band. At this LA Mexican restaurant you can sit back on Thursday- Sunday and listen to the live music or enjoy dinner and drinks under the stars on the outdoor patio. Whether you are looking for a romantic evening, out with a group, or just grabbing a quick bite you will enjoy the very diverse Mexican menu. The friendly and knowledgeable wait staff at Casa Sanchez Mexican Restaurant will assist you with anything you may need. Favorite menu items include scallop & shrimp ceviche, tacos dorados de pollo and Chamorro de Puerco. Pair these delicious dishes with a classic margarita. For your convenience, this Mexican restaurant is open every day, including most holidays.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Elegant Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We dined at this great restaurant to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The decor was elegant
and the mariachi band REALLY good. The service was efficent and very polite. And oh the
variety of Margaritas. I had a Kiwi margarita...quite good and others had a cucumber margarita and millionaire margarita..yum! The birthday singing was very lively and personal. Great
place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Who Knew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I were born and raised in this part of LA but we were totally unaware of this restaurant. Probably because it's only been there six years and we have lived in Ventura Co. for 36 years. We were taken there by friends and we're glad we made the trip. The food was excellent but what really made the evening great was the entertainment. The mariachi group was the finest we have ever experienced. Their show lasted what seemed like an hour and a half. We were very impressed.

The service was unrateable because it was so good. They have an army of waiters. We wanted or waited for nothing. They were right there all the time. Why the owner decided to build the restaurant in this part of LA escapes me. Closer to the Marina or Santa Monica seems fitting. Still, the restaurant was packed. Testament to it's food and entertainment.

For travellers visiting LA, it is a very short drive from LAX. If you would like a taste of what we gringos sometimes imagine Mexico to be, in all it's gaiety and great food, I heartily recommend this restaurant. That's saying something because I don't especially like Los Angeles.

My final recommendation would be to sit in the main room if you want to really experience the music. If not, the patio area was spacious and nicely appointed. Make reservations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Mexican Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I do not live far from Casa Sanchez and visit the restaurant about once every month or so. I love to celebrate my birthday there to hear the Mexican Birthday song, Las Mananitas. The place is very elegant. A first class Mexican restaurant. Although it may not have the best Mexican food in town it comes very close. I usually have the Chile Relleno (stuffed pepper) dish stuffed with a fish and some very delicious sauce. This dish is the best dish on the menu in my opinion and it out of this world. The entertainment was not all that great when I first started going to the restaurant years ago but now it has evolved into a world class Mariachi group. They have other entertainment during the week which is also excellent. What makes this restaurant so good is the entertainment, the ambiance, and the food in that order. They have valet parking at no charge but please tip the gentlemen. It is a great place to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and music...Perfect combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant is easily accessible. The place is very spacious and you can't go wrong with the excellent music performances. The Mariachis are the best you can find. The food, although a bit pricey, is delicious and authentic (Mexican). Make sure you get a tasty Margarita, they are to die for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great gem on the westside with a great mariachi show, stylish decor and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

They have fun mariachi music shows most nights which are very entertaining and include folkloric dancers. The decor is very stylish and culturally rich with beautiful oil paintings of Mexican heroes. This is a great place for a special occasion like a birthday because they announce the birthday guest, serenade you and give you a dessert with a candle to blow out. The food is good with generous portions. My favorite is the chicken mole (spicy chocolate sauce). The fish is good too. I take all of my out of town guests here and they love it too. You can book a reservation on open table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Sanchez also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Casa Sanchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sanchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.