We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still scenic and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 94th Aero Squadron

94th Aero Squadron
16320 Raymer Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91406 (North San Fernando Valley)
818-994-7437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,274 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North San Fernando Valley
Cross street: Woodley and Roscoe
Lancaster, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still scenic and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Before I retired I worked on the corner of Woodley & Roscoe. We would eat at the 94th Aero Squadron often. I do miss the waitstaff in the old nurse uniforms, and the menu was changed. However, the service was excellent, and the staff was very friendly. It can be fun for children to listen to the tower while watching the planes and helicopters take off and land.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for Business Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Was pleasantly delighted with this lunch option that I found through my GPS while in Van Nuys/North Valley area for business. Great first impressions from outside historical artifacts. Classy 1950's interior. No waiting mid-week. Special mention for a well mannered and attentive staff. Can't wait to go back for a repeat experience so I can give a five.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“STILL GOOD BUT SOME OLD FAVORITES ARE GONE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife's family has been going to the 94th Aero Squadron in Van Nuys for many years for various special occasions. We have also celebrated some personal milestones at this restaurant. The service and food have always been good however, they have made some changes to their menu that have detracted from the experience. They used to always have french onion soup (which was wonderful) and my wife always looked forward to having their bouillabaisse. Both of these menu items are gone. Their menu is also somewhat less extensive than it used to be. Though the prices are not cheap, the good service, good food, and unique view of the Van Nuys Airport runways still make it worth a visit for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time for Mother's Day brunch. The ambience was wonderful, the assortment of food was spectacular. However expect to wait about an hour if you are going on a holiday and to their all you can eat brunch. The restaurant was overbooked, and everyone seemed to linger on more so than usual. All-in-all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I haven't been for many years, so took advantage of a trip to the area to take my wife. It was, by coincidence, Valentine's Day. Although we got there close to 4 p.m., they weren't serving lunch, but a special (higher priced?) Valentine's Day menu all day. I had steak, at just over $40, and my wife had salmon (farm-raised). Both were very good. We did have dessert, since there was a special one for the occasion. No booze. Total bill, withtip, came to a bit over $120. Nice views of the general aviation Van Nuys Airport. We did see a couple of very large private jets. The restaurant is on a very quiet street, so easyto miss. A few blocks from the restaurant is a special public viewing area for the airport, with historic photos of the airport and speakers with control tower chatter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 94th Aero Squadron also viewed

 

Been to 94th Aero Squadron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 94th Aero Squadron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.