We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Service and Comfort - Unbeatable Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressive Service and Comfort - Unbeatable Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

From the moment we arrived at this great Hotel, the service was outstanding. Very helpful with all information and locations to sight see in Hollywood and surrounds!

Situated only 2 minute walk from Hollywood Boulevard and the "Walk of Fame", from the corner we could see the famous Hollywood sign too! Whether you are a first time traveller to L.A. or a frequent visitor, this place is perfect for all needs. Extremely clean rooms with $6U.S Breakfast available everyday. Rooms are fitted out very nicely with hollywood style framed mirrors and Mahogany bed. The bathroom was brand new and VERY clean, had everything we needed.

The Manager here answered all our questions promptly and professionally and gave us pamphlets and bus / train timetables for just about anywhere.!

My Fiancee and I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a comfortable, stress free and great location place to stay.

P.s Marylin Monroe and James Dean stayed here too!! It has been open since the 1920's but refurbished beautifully. Also there is free tea and coffee available in the reception area all day!

Thankyou to the staff for making our stay with you such a highlight of our trip. Service like yours does not happen often.

Kate and Richard - Australia

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    127
    51
    13
    16
See reviews for
20
142
43
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed there this past summer and we had a great time. The price was excellent and the staff was friendly and at three in the morning we could order pizza or borrow a DVD movie or browse the web in the lobby and chat with people working through the night who were there to make sure everything was going okay.

We came back in December and all this was different! First the lobby is now open from eight in the morning until six at night. Heaven forbid our plane lands late and we get there at midnight! The door was locked and there was a paper sign telling us the new lobby hours and that we needed to call a phone number for assistance. Rather than pay roaming charges (and because our phones were buried in our bags) we found ourselves roaming Hollywood with our luggage in hand trying to find a payphone. Eventually we got inside and met with a manager who we presumably just woke up. He was cordial enough, but we felt like we were inconviencing him just by checking in! Our room was fine but the TV wasn't set right and we weren't about to wake the manager again just so we could watch TV.

The phones will call out at all hours but there is no one to transfer calls TO a room when the office is closed so ordering pizza is out of the question after six. In fact ANY phone call TO the room is out of the question after six.

The lobby has free intenet access but only when the office is open, and the rooms have DSL but only IF you brought a laptop. Truly there is nothing more frustrating then standing outside a locked lobby door at ten in the evening needing to map a trip for the next day, literally looking at the computers sitting there six feet away, and still having to walk almost a mile to a twenty four hour internet cafe and pay to use their computers because the hotel you're staying at closes down at six.

Finally we found that because security is extremely lax that people were wandering the halls at all hours in the morning or sitting on the stairwells drinking alcohol because the lobby was closed and there is no common area for them to congregate and there was no one to ask them to take it to their rooms. Plus we felt we might be inconviencing the manager if we complained about people sitting in the stairwells talking on their cel phones or playing their TVs too loud. He seemed stressed enough when we checked in. To be honest he's probably a pretty nice guy during normal working hours but we felt bad having to wake him for anything.

Do you suddenly realize that you need to iron your shirt before a big business presentation at nine? I hope you brought your own iron because the lobby isn't open yet. Do you need to call your mother in France at nine in the morning THEIR time, but don't have a phone card? You'd better walk to 7-Eleven across the street or suffer until eight. Do you need a cable for your laptop to connect to the internet? You'd better buy one at Sav-on down the road because the lobby just closed an hour ago.

If your vacation or business trip revolves around eight in the morning and six at night then this is a pretty good hotel to be at. Unfortunately, we left early and arrived late most of the time and really felt alone during our stay. No one welcomed us back at night, we got change for the vending machine from another guest, and if we'd had to check out early I don't know what we would have done. Thrown the keys through the little slot in the door and left?

I don't know what happened to this hotel. It was quaint and charming and reeked of classic Hollywood. The staff was knowledable and friendly and always available to make us feel like we really were guests and that they really wanted to help, whether it was recommending a restaurant or simply asking us about our day. Now it feels more like a prison. There are no incoming calls after six in the evening, just as there is no more internet access or movie rentals or change for the laundry machines after that time. At six the doors lock and your only option is to go to your cell. But don't wake the warden!

Hollywood is a twenty four hour town. This really needs to be a twenty four hour hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2005

I don't usually bother with things like writing reviews online, but since I found this hotel through this website, which at the time had only one review on it, I thought I should return the favour. I was glad I took that one reviewer's advice, because this little hotel is fantastic.

I don't know how you would find anywhere better or even the same standard for the price in this area. I booked through travelocity .co.uk and it was just over $80 a night (although if you are staying a while, check out their weekly rates). A male friend of mine who lives locally was a bit dubious about the area, but as a woman staying on my own, I didn't have any problems, or feel at risk at all. There is also 24 hour cover on reception so you can come and go as you please and you're aways returning to a friendly face. :)

Apparently it's best not to head up towards the hills from this street, but you really have no need, as everything of interest is in the opposite direction. You're only one block away from hollywood blvd, which is busy at most times, and brightly lit. It's bascily full of tat, a bit like london's oxford street if you took away the few good shops and left all the tacky ones; but can be good for people watching, espcially outside the chinese theatre. Also on HW blvd is the walk of fame -- shined everyday by a man with no legs (true!). Transport from there is pretty good too -- Hollywood and Vine station is a couple of minutes walk if you want to go down town, or you can get a bus to Santa Monica (takes about a hour or so) or even Pasenda (if you fancy a long trip!) straight from Hollywood blvd. Get a day ticket for the bus rather than a single though, it's only about $3 -- you need the correct change as the drivers don't carry money.

The hotel itself all looked brand new, and the staff were incredibly friendly, providing a really welcoming and homely atmosphere. The internet services in the lobby were really useful (and free), and my en suite room came complete with dvd player, satellite tv, free local phonecalls, fridge and microwave, I was truly amazed.
If I was returning to hollywood, I would DEFFINATLY stay here again. Although I have a feeling that they might well start putting the prices up!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for six weeks, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The entire place is very clean, up-to-date, and the staff are all so nice!!! The place is pretty recently renovated... everything is brand new, right down to the shower curtains! Cable internet is free... which is very convenient! (You just ask the front desk for a cable with which to plug in and they'll give it to you.) My room had a fridge and a microwave... the heating/air conditioning work fine, and it's very quiet if you close the windows.
They do provide free cookies and muffins in the lobby early in the morning, although I didn't bother to take advantage of that.
There are self-serve laundry machines and dryers downstairs, so you don't even have to leave the premises to do your laundry!

The area... well... I didn't have any real problems, although I don't suggest females spend too much time walking around outside at night. There is a save-on drugs, a 7-11, and a few other little markets right across the street, and Hollywood blvd. is right down a block! Sunset blvd. is 3 blocks down. Vine St., a major street that runs north/south, is a couple blocks east, as well. So, you are in a pretty central area. For most people, the Hollywood Bowl is walking-distance away- I'd say about 5 or 6 blocks (?).

I'm actually going back to Hollywood in a few days, and I'll be staying for about 6 weeks. Where will I be staying???
....You guessed it! Westside Rentals Hollywood Hotel, baby!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

Although this hotel seems to be aimed more at people who have just moved to the area and need a temporary base while finding a place to live, it's very convenient for tourists too. Under $100/night in Hollywood is really hard to find.
The location is great - one block north of the Walk of Fame, on the 163 bus route, about three blocks from Hollywood & Vine metro station and with a 7/11 and a supermarket within a block's walk. The rooms are recently renovated and have super-comfortable beds and brand-new DVD players. The staff and the other guests were relaxed and friendly. Best of all, the lobby has three computers with free internet access.
Notes if you're picky: maid service was not provided automatically. There was a sign you could hang on your door to request your room cleaned, but we decided to save the environment and skip it. Also, the rooms are extremely compact, but for that price you can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

We enjoyed our stay. The girl at the front desk (forgot her name, dark hair & glasses) was FABULOUSLY knowledgable and EXTREMELY helpful. The rest of the front desk staff not so much. The room was smaller than i expected but clean with a nice presentation. Rooms have a fridge and microwave and DVD player. The hotel was quiet. Guests are allowed free use of internet. The neighborhood is just fine. I didnt feel like i was in any danger walking back from events at late hours. Hotel is in a good location for travel by bus/subway and a short walk to Roscoes chicken & waffles. i hope this place continues to conduct business in this fashion. i would stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.