We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 77 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Forget this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our recent trip to USA thinking that it is close to Hollywood main strip. Not that it is a long walk to the main strip, the place is great if you like old room without much character. The breakfast is in the reception, pretty much a write-off in my book. We had to carry our luggage up 3 flight of stairs. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    104
    46
    10
    15
See reviews for
18
120
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel was small and has no elevator. We were on the 3rd floor so we had to carry our luggage up the 2 flights of stairs ourselves. However, the room had a microwave and a fridge. It has a nice shower unit too. We got free wi-fi but had to pay $15 for parking for the day or there's street parking. The reception staff were absolutely fantastic though. they gave us maps and suggested an easier route to take to go Universal Studios instead. Given the value and location, it was very good. I was disappointed with Hollywood Boulevard as an area, but that's not the hotel's fault. Nearby the hotel, there was CVS which was very handy for any emergencies.

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor so you don't have to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaD_11
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great service. Great location.

It's a very simple hotel, but for the price, it is excellent value. The staff were very helpful, answering all our queries, printing off maps and bus/train timetables and assisting us with all other enquiries. The breakfast isn't much, but for what you pay, it's still pretty good.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Hollywood because we were going to a concert near by. We drove to LA and the parking was easy right outside the hotel on the street. It is meter parking, but cheaper than the parking garage near by. The front desk staff was warm and welcoming the moment we arrived. Our room was clean, comfortable and plenty of room. The bathroom was like new and clean. It was easy for us to walk to the venue and walking back late at night was comfortable.There is a breakfast in the morning included in the room, but we only had the coffee and a banana. Next time we go to a concert again in the area, the Hotel Hollywood will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAKERSFIELD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location, right by Pantages theatre and Beso restaurant ;1/2 block to Hollywood blvd. halls seem noisy- our room is right by stairs though. When we got back after seeing a show, it was dark and my 12 yr old daughter and I had to pass thru a group of men hanging out on side of street right in front of hotel.. They were sketchy and we couldn't get the code to work to get in the door; so we r scared for maybe a minute, but all was fine

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very clean old hotel. Room nice and comfy. Laundry room in the basement came in handy. Free breakfast was ok. Staff very friendly. You are in a good location to visit the sites but the area around is dodgy with lots of down and outs sleeping on the street which is distressing. Although I didn't feel unsafe I wouldn't like to walk around on my own at night and I definitely wouldn't go there with children.
We didn't really enjoy Los Angeles and were glad to leave but were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor and it was nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a really good hotel if you don't want to spent too much money in a hotel.

Rooms very well cleaned, hotel just one block from hollywood blvd.

Just one complain, the place to have breakfast is small, but it's not a big deal.

I've got a good price, less than $30 per night.

I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.