We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value, clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in 5 hotels across the states in 3 weeks, and this was by far the best. We got off a 7am flight from Australia and headed straight to the hotel thinking we could drop off our bags and look around for the day until we were able to check in (we so badly needed a sleep/shower). When we got there at 8.30am, the helpful guy said our room was ready for us! Awesome.

Room was spotless, perfect sized bed, tv, storage, clean shower and little nook for a fridge and desk (and suitcase storage!). Safe area of town, we could casually walk around at 3 in the morning without a bother. Quiet spot, off a main road with a short walk to all the action on Hollywood Blvd. We really couldn't have picked a better spot. Super friendly and attentive staff, and the breakfast was a really nice addition!

Right across from a CVS, market and pizza shop.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: We asked for a room that wasn't on ground floor and this was easily accommodated. We stayed at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    109
    46
    11
    15
See reviews for
18
127
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our first visit to LA/Hollywood, and enjoyed it very much. The desk clerks were both very helpful and friendly, the location was close to the Hollywood blvd, the rooms were a bit small, but large enough to be comfortable, the bed was nice, the shower a bit low for my taste (6ft6" tall), but nice and warm and the breakfast was simple (bagels with cream cheese, jam or butter, orange juice, fruit and granola bars) but enjoyable nonetheless.

All in all a good stay and not too expensive. I would recommend it to anyone on a modest budget.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Only one thing keeps this from being a dive. If you are an old movie buff you have the opportunity to stay in the rooms formerly occupied by James Dean and Marilyn Monroe. Based on this I called and spoke to Corinna, the front desk manager, to book 2 nights four nights apart. She assured me that the Monroe room was available the first night and the Dean room the second night. Upon arrival the night clerk advised me I would be getting a regular room since the Monroe room was already occupied. The next morning I cancelled my second reservation. I had no reason to believe the Dean room would be available and didn't want to stay again out of necessity. I don't know if Corinna is incompetent or dishonest but if she reserves one of these rooms for you don't count on it being available. As for the rest of the visit: (1) the neighborhood is a little dicey, (2) the breakfast is completely ordinary and there are only 2 small tables that share space with the front desk (3) the shower is nice and large but the shower head fell off while I was showering (4) there is no elevator and (5) it has no decor to speak off. The rooms have the personality of a dorm room. I will say that the night clerk was willing to help with my luggage had I needed it. I was really excited when I stumbled on to this place but it was a very big disappointment.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you don't want to carry your bags up 1-2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel hollywood for 2 nights and those nights were perfect. Great location (hollywood boulevard is next to the Hotel). Breakfast is good (bagels, fruits, coffee etc). The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are visiting they are good tips for you. The only negative point I see is that the neighborhood was REALLY noisy.
I highly recommend this hotel for its price and its location. If I had to go back to LA I would definitely stay at the Hotel Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.. must say that the location is perfect for tourists who are in LA for the first time... just opposite the Capitol Records building the hotel is just 2 stations away from the Universal City.... The Hotel staff was very friendly n helpfull... i would say if i go again to LA i would saty in this hotel without a dought...:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband ,10 yr old son and I stayed here. The rooms are very clean. Brand new showers. The hotel is 2 blocks from Metro. (Vine stn) great location. 24 hr pharmacy 1/2 block away with good view of Hollywood sign from that intersection. Easy walk to Hollywood Blvd ,then to Chinese theatre . Universal is 2 stops down on Metro. Very easy and cost $1.50 pp instead of $ 50 taxi.
Locals have been very helpful and friendly. We understand that we are in a major city and do not expect quiet at night.
The hotel is great value and very clean. This is a historic area so do not expect it to look like Beverly Hills. The staff are very helpful with directions. Breakfast was fresh bagels,coffee,juice and cereal bars. Quick and easy .
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'd compare it to a lesser Motel 6, bc you can hear everything, no coffee machine, no elevators, nothing on walls, furniture looks 40 years old. We booked it bc of Trip Advisor reviews-which now seem like a scam. BC NO WAY IS THIS PLACE 3 OR 4 ****

Room Tip: Choose no room-just spend the $ and get a better room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.