We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price for good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good price for good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel hollywood for 2 nights and those nights were perfect. Great location (hollywood boulevard is next to the Hotel). Breakfast is good (bagels, fruits, coffee etc). The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are visiting they are good tips for you. The only negative point I see is that the neighborhood was REALLY noisy.
I highly recommend this hotel for its price and its location. If I had to go back to LA I would definitely stay at the Hotel Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    111
    47
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
129
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.. must say that the location is perfect for tourists who are in LA for the first time... just opposite the Capitol Records building the hotel is just 2 stations away from the Universal City.... The Hotel staff was very friendly n helpfull... i would say if i go again to LA i would saty in this hotel without a dought...:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband ,10 yr old son and I stayed here. The rooms are very clean. Brand new showers. The hotel is 2 blocks from Metro. (Vine stn) great location. 24 hr pharmacy 1/2 block away with good view of Hollywood sign from that intersection. Easy walk to Hollywood Blvd ,then to Chinese theatre . Universal is 2 stops down on Metro. Very easy and cost $1.50 pp instead of $ 50 taxi.
Locals have been very helpful and friendly. We understand that we are in a major city and do not expect quiet at night.
The hotel is great value and very clean. This is a historic area so do not expect it to look like Beverly Hills. The staff are very helpful with directions. Breakfast was fresh bagels,coffee,juice and cereal bars. Quick and easy .
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'd compare it to a lesser Motel 6, bc you can hear everything, no coffee machine, no elevators, nothing on walls, furniture looks 40 years old. We booked it bc of Trip Advisor reviews-which now seem like a scam. BC NO WAY IS THIS PLACE 3 OR 4 ****

Room Tip: Choose no room-just spend the $ and get a better room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

room was clean, bed was comfortable, no complaints on the bathroom/ shower. Friendly staffs and nice breakfast + fruits. location was the most excellent part, walking distance to the whole Hollywood area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved everything about the Hotel Hollywood. Great low price, very clean room (more about that later), excellent shower, friendly staff, and unbeatable location, especially since I was going to the Cinerama Dome on Sunset Blvd. every night. 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Metro Red Line train is about 5 minutes away on foot.

I was lucky enough to get Room #306, where Marilyn Monroe stayed in the 1950's, when she was still a contact player at 20th Century-Fox before hitting it big. I could almost feel the presence of Marilyn in that room. A definite old Hollywood vibe, from the time when all the studios were turning out one classic after another. You don't get that from a modern skyscraper hotel.

There's also an excellent Italian restaurant directly across the street. If I ever go back to LA, I will definitely stay here. Maybe I'll try for the James Dean room next time.

Room Tip: The bathroom in the Marilyn Monroe room has a great view of the Capitol Records Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay near the walk of fame, an not pay too much, this is probably your place. The room wasn't exactly new, but had everything you'd expect from a hotel of this class. Checkin was really friendly, and the location was great.

The only drawbacks were that the mattress was a bit to used to be relly comfy, and parking was an extra 15 bucks.

If I ever had a reason to come back to Hollywood, I'd stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.