We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little home/apartment away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a little home/apartment away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Convenient location, wonderful staff. Nostalgic/a bit of old Hollywood charm... close to the metro station,.. plenty of restaurants around.. I went without a car and found that getting around was quite easy... but if you have a small child or you plan to do a lot of site seeing you would probably want a car.. but good news, there is convenient parking available but call about the parking rates and options... there is no elevator- its only 2 floors (still easy access), but request bottom floor in advance if you have special restrictions.. I will definitely be booking this hotel again. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    115
    49
    13
    16
See reviews for
18
133
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We Stayed at the Hotel Hollywood for 3 nights. While there we found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast included in the price was basic and the breakfast room can get a little crowded although a great place to meet people. The location is good and we didn't feel unsafe at anytime. For the the price we paid I can not fault this little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been travelling for 7 weeks, mostly camping in a tent, this was our last stop. The hotel was very clean, staff friendly and only a block from Hollywood Boulevard. Not too badly priced although tents do come much cheaper, lol. Breeakfast was not 5 star but had bagels, coffee, fresh fruit, muffin bars so can't complain. It was enough to give u a start for the day.

Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

the place is somewhat between a hotel and a B&B. First and foremost, it is quite a bargain in this area. My rate was around USD70/double room/night, including a simple self-service continental breakfast with bagel, juice, coffee, fruits.

The receptionist was quite nice and courteous and I saw her giving guests directions with google map print out. The place looked like a cozy joint and there was a little style in its decor. The room was on the small side, but still with usable space. Bathroom was functional with toiletries. Overall, it was a tidy and comfortable place to bunker down.

There were supermarkets and stores across the road for you to stock up, which is a notch up. It was particularly convenient to go to universal studio as it was just 2 metro stops away. Metro station was 5 minutes' walk away. I was not sure whether they offer free parking because I did not see any parking slots within the premises. if you do not want the hassle, you could definitely go around by bus, with some planning. But you may probably need to change at some point if you target santa monica or elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you are wanting fancy service and a pool etc, move on, but if you really only need a place to sleep for running around gorgeous fascinating hollywood, THIS IS YOUR HOTEL!. super friendly helpful staff! great with directions. this hotel is close to everything and you cant beat the price. rooms are basic and keep the retro hollywood yesteryear charm. why pay big money for someplace when you are running all over fabulous LA? they even made special accomodations for me to stay in the same room marilyn monroe stayed in. three of my nights were avail but one wasnt for this room, they switched things around for me and it was such a thrill. to look out the window, and see what marilyn saw, when she dreamed of one day being the queen of the city! and see the capital hotel knickerbocker where marilyn eventually stayed with joe dimaggio on thier honeymoon. great location to everything. i will stay here again and again! VERY clean rooms, quiet, comfortable bed. i will be booking my next stay here also! amazing staff!if i had to pick a downside it is that the parking is down on the next block, NOT FAR though. thats not the problem. i wanted to park during the day and the lot was filled, but nights were ALWAYS open no problem. i came and went and had an amazing visit, and the great fair price allowed me to do other things i wouldnt have been able to otherwise!

Room Tip: many celebs have started here on thier way up to stardom. just ask and they will try to help you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

At first, we were quite hesitant when we saw the hotel. Waited for ten minutes for the receptionist but the ladies cleaning the rooms were hospitable enough to entertain me and my kids. Check in was fast when the receptionist arrived. Luckily, we were give the room previously occupied by James Dean just few steps near the entrance. Location of our room was perfect. Room was exceptionally clean. Linens were obviously new. ANd loved the comfortable bed and pillows. Made me sleep in slumber after exploring Hollywood. Very near and accessible to Hollywood and other stores. Location is good. Although breakfast was serve in a small corner in the lobby, this was not a problem bec we are very near it and just brought the food inside our room. Amenities inside the room was ok. This place is a nice option for those who will spent more time outside exploring Hollywood and will just need to have a very good place to sleep at night. Although, they dont have their own parking, the parking nearby which they recommended seems to be safe and less than a minute walk. Lastly, we love their BAGEL!

Room Tip: Get the room occupied by James Dean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

While the room was slightly on the small side the bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower was more powerful than most, coupled with great location to explore Hollywood and very friendly staff who always greeted us as we entered/left the building. The breakfast provided is cereal bars and bagels with orange juice/coffee and the hotel also offers free wifi (though while my girlfriend's worked fine, mine would only work in the lobby).
Very close proximity to public transport links (bus stops and the Hollywood/Vine metro station) and attractions (about 10 mins walk away from the Chinese theatre) make this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.