We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hotel in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
The Hotel Hollywood
6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you are wanting fancy service and a pool etc, move on, but if you really only need a place to sleep for running around gorgeous fascinating hollywood, THIS IS YOUR HOTEL!. super friendly helpful staff! great with directions. this hotel is close to everything and you cant beat the price. rooms are basic and keep the retro hollywood yesteryear charm. why pay big money for someplace when you are running all over fabulous LA? they even made special accomodations for me to stay in the same room marilyn monroe stayed in. three of my nights were avail but one wasnt for this room, they switched things around for me and it was such a thrill. to look out the window, and see what marilyn saw, when she dreamed of one day being the queen of the city! and see the capital hotel knickerbocker where marilyn eventually stayed with joe dimaggio on thier honeymoon. great location to everything. i will stay here again and again! VERY clean rooms, quiet, comfortable bed. i will be booking my next stay here also! amazing staff!if i had to pick a downside it is that the parking is down on the next block, NOT FAR though. thats not the problem. i wanted to park during the day and the lot was filled, but nights were ALWAYS open no problem. i came and went and had an amazing visit, and the great fair price allowed me to do other things i wouldnt have been able to otherwise!

Room Tip: many celebs have started here on thier way up to stardom. just ask and they will try to help you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    134
    56
    14
    16
See reviews for
22
150
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

At first, we were quite hesitant when we saw the hotel. Waited for ten minutes for the receptionist but the ladies cleaning the rooms were hospitable enough to entertain me and my kids. Check in was fast when the receptionist arrived. Luckily, we were give the room previously occupied by James Dean just few steps near the entrance. Location of our room was perfect. Room was exceptionally clean. Linens were obviously new. ANd loved the comfortable bed and pillows. Made me sleep in slumber after exploring Hollywood. Very near and accessible to Hollywood and other stores. Location is good. Although breakfast was serve in a small corner in the lobby, this was not a problem bec we are very near it and just brought the food inside our room. Amenities inside the room was ok. This place is a nice option for those who will spent more time outside exploring Hollywood and will just need to have a very good place to sleep at night. Although, they dont have their own parking, the parking nearby which they recommended seems to be safe and less than a minute walk. Lastly, we love their BAGEL!

Room Tip: Get the room occupied by James Dean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

While the room was slightly on the small side the bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower was more powerful than most, coupled with great location to explore Hollywood and very friendly staff who always greeted us as we entered/left the building. The breakfast provided is cereal bars and bagels with orange juice/coffee and the hotel also offers free wifi (though while my girlfriend's worked fine, mine would only work in the lobby).
Very close proximity to public transport links (bus stops and the Hollywood/Vine metro station) and attractions (about 10 mins walk away from the Chinese theatre) make this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We picked this hotel for it's location and price.
While the location is pretty good for moving around Hollywood (and close to subway stations), I feel that you can do better for the price.
The rooms are extremely small (like New York small) and are a little outdated. And the wifi is terrible. You have to stand out in the hallway to get a proper connection (Skype is impossible).

We stayed in room 306 (the Marilyn Monroe room) and the hype is really all for nothing. There's nothing in the room to suggest that this was the "famous" room (not even a picture).
Also, the bed is terribly squeaky. So bad that if the other person turns around at night, it wakes you up.

The staff were pretty friendly, but the hotel manager is not a very friendly man. He never greets anyone in the morning and seemed to be fighting with customers whenever we walked past reception.
If you do decide to stay there, try to deal with Karina (very nice recptionist).
I should note that although we never had any major issues, we witnessed a lot of people checking out early and asking for refunds during the week we were there.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are other hotels in the same area, for the same price (which I've stayed in before) with bigger rooms and better parking (Hotel Hollywood's parking is a couple of blocks away).

Room Tip: Do not get your hopes up about room 306 (the Marilyn Monroe room). It's nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaman, Terengganu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good location and easy access to Metro that get you to places like Highland Hollywood and Universal Studio. Convenient Store and Supermarket is within walking distance. Good for solo traveler.

Room Tip: For Solo Traveler, room is small but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was a really good hotel to stay in if you want to be within walking distance to all the major sights in Hollywood.

Our double room was lovely and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean.

There was breakfast each morning, which consisted of bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal bars, juices and coffee. Staff were friendly and helpful also. The only thing to note is that if you have a late check in time, make sure and let reception know. Overall, I would recommend staying here when in Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Rooms were OK, a bit old fashioned but clean and tidy & the bed was comfortable, fridge was useless but for the price we paid it was excellent value. Lovely having a balcony overlooking the courtyard but nothing to sit on, why do hotels do this? a couple of basic chairs and a table would have been brilliant. The pool area was nice. Inclusive breakfast & free WiFi were an added bonus.

The only downside I thought was the location - there were no bars or restaurant's within walking distance of the hotel and we didn't feel particulary safe in the area at night. However the hotel is close to a Metro station & at $5 for a 24 hour pass this was excellent value.

Be wary of using the car service the hotel recommend - we took an 8 minute journey and were charged $25

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.