We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Plymouth, Mass
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in the suite which has a walk out patio, full kitchen and sleeps 6. Hotel is on quiet end of Venice boardwalk .Bagels,cereal, fruit ,coffee and tea each morning.There is a rooftop patio ,not real fancy but nice for people watching and sunsets.Todd the manager is wonderful! Restaurants and bars close by.We didn't have a car,however parking is free but limited.I would recommend the suite as we were able to heat leftovers etc.The oceanfront rooms are nice also, as we stayed in one last year.The Venice canals are a short walk away and are lovely.Cab ride to LAX 20.00 and 15 min ride.My daughter was able to drive us to many places, so if you wanted to see other areas Malibu ,Santa Monica a car would be in order.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    130
    26
    9
    21
See reviews for
33
192
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised by almost all aspects of this hotel. The view, the room and staff were all better than expected given recent experiences at other Venice Beach hotels.

Room was very clean and cozy. Had an amazing, undisturbed view of the ocean from my windows. Additionally, an added perk here is the rooftop deck which would make a great location for hanging out by the sunset.

Hotel is located on a rather 'subdued' portion of the Venice Beach Boardwalk, at least when compared to the area immediately surrounding the Venice Beach Freakshow for instance. All in all, good experience, would visit again!

Room Tip: I'd rather be in a 2nd floor room w/ ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed with my friend last year for just over a week. The room was a good size. It was very clean and tidy. A fridge was also available. The bathroom was compact but had a clean toilet and powerful shower....Towels were also provided. The breakfast was a good selection of cereals, bagels, jams, butter, fruit, coffee, tea and juice. The breakfast could be eaten either in your room or on the balcony which gives fantastic views of the beach. If you like to people watch as I do then the balcony is perfect for it. Also this end of Venice beach is the quieter end, but if you want hustle and bustle you just need to walk a few minutes along the boardwalk where there are many tourist shops, Strong Men on display (which I found hilarious!) and other street entertainers. I haver to admit that I wasn't too impressed with the food locally and had to go further to get good food (I'm a big foodie!). The staff at the hotel were fabulous and really helpful. They allowed our luggage to be stored even after we checked out as we had some time before needing to catch our flight. The time of year we ravelled which was June meant that it got chilly at times where we stayed because as they say it was "june gloom" so it was very foggy which blocked the sun out on the beach. However when we went hiking in LA it was BOILING HOT and good fun..... Venice On The Beach Hotel is a great base to explore other parts of LA from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with my daughter. Great location. The beach is right outside the back patio. The beach walk and bike paths are right there, and although there are lots of people around, especially at night, noise was not a problem. We stayed in the room on the first floor, with a beach view, right next to the back patio. The hotel is far enough removed from the main part of Venice beach attractions, yet it's an easy walk to all the shops, etc. The staff is super nice. Breakfast is pretty basic: bagels, cereal, fruit, OJ, coffee. There is a rooftop patio and the back patio.
The only problem I had was with parking. There aren't many spots. Our flight got in late, and no spots were available. I ended up parking on Washington Blvd, which is free until 8 am. Right before 8 am, I moved the car to the parking lot at the pier, which was $5 for all day if you park before 9 am (I think it's 9 am.) After 9 am, all day parking costs more. The pier parking lot is very close to the hotel, so not a problem. The second night, we were out late and when we got back there was no parking at the hotel, so again I parked on Washington, then moved the car to the pier parking lot in the morning. If I did this trip again, I would just take a taxi from the airport. It's not far. And since we mainly walked around and stayed at the beach the next day, we really didn't need the car yet. Then I wouldn't have to worry about parking.
Overall, this is a great place to stay. Great location, very comfortable, right on the beach, friendly staff, close to the Venice beach attractions, close to LAX 9yet not TOO close!) I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I needed a room in a pinch on short notice (decided to drive from our vacation in Las Vegas to Los Angeles for an overnight) and was lucky enough to find one right on the beach at this boutique hotel on a quiet residential beachfront block in Venice Beach. I had stayed there previously and the hotel has been updated. The location can't be beat with the sound and view of the Pacific just a stones throw away, and right on the boardwalk! It is next to the canals as well. We had dinner at a restaurant a block away and watched the sun set over the ocean. Great location, small but clean updated rooms, and friendly helpful staff! That is our 'go to' place in Venice.

Room Tip: Ocean view or not, every room is good there. Ocean view means that you may hear everybody walking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived after a long-haul flight from London and fell straight into this place (having been recommended by friends who'd stayed there) for a couple of days of relaxation before taking off on a road-trip. It was a great choice - the location right on the beach is wonderful and the little roof terrace is a pleasant place to watch the world go by. We did a really enjoyable walk down the boardwalk to Santa Monica one day, had a fascinating potter round the canals another morning and walked down to the marina at Marina Del Rey as well. Todd and the desk staff at the hotel were welcoming and friendly and we had lots of space, having booked the Suite with a table and chairs out on the patio. The whole place felt safe, too. A happy, chilled-out start to a great trip.

Room Tip: We liked the suite a lot - it gave us extra space, a kitchen and a table and chairs on an outside pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a few days of beach (to walk and run on), salt air and the sound of crashing waves. Venice on the Beach hotel was the perfect hotel for our visit--close to LAX, Abbot Kinney and literally on the beach. The housekeepers did a great job and were customer focused. The front desk was able to answer all of our questions in a professional and courteous manner. The rooftop terrace was a big plus!! We had a wonderful stay at the Venice on the Beach hotel.

Room Tip: Great value, great location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice On The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.