We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you are visiting Venice Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stay here if you are visiting Venice Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this little B&B hotel at the end of May. It is right at the boardwalk and Venice Beach. The rooms are small by American standards, freshly repainted, and although basic had all all amenities; a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and ample warm water, fridge, and a fan. Our room was on the first floor on the side of the hotel, and we could keep the windows open to let the sea breeze in. We did not notice the noise of the Saturday night party-crowds.
A good continental breakfast is served, with bagels and cream cheese, juice, fruit, coffee etc, and especially enjoyable sitting on the roof terrace and watching life in Venice passing by. Another plus is the free parking – true there are only 8 places for 17 rooms, however, we never had to pay for parking while we stayed at Venice Beach. As other reviewers mentioned, there are homeless people about especially after dark, still we never felt bothered or threatened by them.
The service is just great. Greg and his team are friendly, helpful and professional. They answered our queries, provided information and advice, and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Comparing the rates with hotels/B&B in the area, this is a great bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    114
    22
    9
    21
See reviews for
25
170
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrenton ,va
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you like european B& Bs and love the bech, this one's for you.
Determined to find an affordable hotel on the beach for a quick 2 day trip to LA, I somehow lucked out and found this place. Most beachfront is very pricy but this has all the ambiance and is quite affordable. Right On the beach, this little hotel has it all. The rooms are very practical with all the ammenities one expects..(& the water pressure just about blew me out of the shower!!!). The front desk is open until 9or 10 (can't remember) but with advance notification, they give yiu the code to get in and get to your room. The free continental breakfast is just right to get started and you can take it up to an observation deck and watch the beach life in action (always interesting!!) The wharf and main aea are right at your doorstep as well as the beach and bike/walkways.It is also a convenient drive to LA and the freeways. One could also walk forever down the beachfront pathways and get right to Santa Monica for a good hike/bike. Bike rentals are right there also.
About the only downsides are the parking and the beach "local residents". The locals have taken up much of the bench areas and live quietly amongst themselves. I don"t beleive they are dangerous in any way but it is worth noting for late night walks. Also the late night beach scene is rather busy on weekend nights and can get rowdy. Parking is the one factor I found troublesome as I arrived late one night and couldn't get the limited parking spaces at the hotel. One must park on a nearby street and walk which is a little unsettling for a single woman,but I never felt threatened as there were alot of people out then. However, on Mon AM, the streets are cleaned and one must move or be ticketed. I didn"t read the fine print from the hotel brochure and got nabbed for $75. There are limited spaces in front of the hotel, all taken by evening. Also, there is no AC so if the rare heatwave comes, it is worth being prepared. The ocean breeze should help out though.
All in all , this is a great bargain for the money . Just reserve early as it is a popular "under the radar"place.

Room Tip: Go for bechfront...its worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Awsome place to stay if you are in LA. The hotel is right next to the beach, a short walk from the strip and far enough from the noise of Venice beach. The hotel is well looked after, the room are a decent size for a couple and it has a roof top where you can hang out and relax in the sun. Service was exceptional and better than some big hotel chains out there i've stayed in. Greg the manager will go above and beyond to make your stay a great one and he will help you with anything you need. Will definitely go back when i go back to LA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Greg was the manager per se & had tips on hand for anything and everything. The location is perfect. The roof-top terrace a dream for people who do not live on the ocean, very clean, breakfast sufficient and fair priced. We will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here in August 2012. The hotel itself was great, we had a good side room on the bottom floor which was nice and bright with big windows. Location is fabulous to the beach and the Venice beach boardwalk. Breakfast was great.
Having said all this I really wasn't a fan of Venice Beach itself... I found it to be quite cheap and nasty.
I wouldn't return here again - simply as I wouldn't leave LAX via anything other than a plane! Instead I'd go elsewhere in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 5 nights back in Jan 2013. From the moment I arrived I liked the vibe. It's a cute building right on the beach and Greg - The Manager - gave the best meet and greet show around the place I've ever encountered. His customer service throughout our stay was fantastic.

Our room was great, we took a smaller room to get a better view but the bed and shower were fantastic and this place is amazing value for money.

Would I stay here again, most definitely, I really hope to!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

After searching for hours on the Internet we found this gem! Very pleased with it and it was an amazing price!

Good points: free parking (they don't specify online however that there are 17 rooms, and only 8free parking spaces outside!) parking wasn't a problem for us thou, and when we arrived a few hours before check in they let us keep our car there, likewise after check out. The staff are super helpful- if you need directions or anything they will print things out for you. Amenities of this hotel; computer desk upstairs with free Internet and free printing (so can do boarding passes amongst other things which is helpful!), a library of books is also available, the complimentary breakfast was really really good- bagels to die for! NOM! Lots of cereal, bagels, jams and spreads, fresh orange juice, milk, teas and coffees, fresh fruit- bananas, apples, and oranges! The roof terrace was nice, saw sunset on our last day which was a nice touch. Free wifi. Literally on the beach. If your driving its off the busy areas so feel safe leaving your car. It is within walking distance of attractions, our first day we walked to Santa Monica Pier which was a fantastic day. Venice beach is nice! Oh, complimentary toiletries too! Plus, microwave and fridge in the rooms- nice!


Bad points: there's not many- just the Internet is very slow and intermittent. Watch out for the ants- our first morning we had about 100 in our room all in a line- just make sure you don't have opened sweet things about! (Fruit juice/wine glasses we put it down to-maybe should have rinsed them after use!!). Also, a sign on entrance mentioned about carcinogenic substances in the establishment- we only stayed a couple of nights so didn't worry, I may have asked for more details had it been longer! Our room was also a bit short on floor space, two suitcases could just about fit!

Overall- staff awesome, location you couldn't get better, price was amazingly good.

Would I come back? Yes!
Would I recommend this place? Definitely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice On The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.