We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We wanted to be near the beach for our first two nights in California, and this place couldn't have been more perfect. The room was clean and well-appointed, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location could not have been better. Right near restaurants, coffee places, shopping, and the Venice pier and canals. Terrific! The rooms are small, so if you're looking for something huge to hang out in, maybe not for you. Also, while the hotel is very well insulated from outside noise, the interior walls are a bit thin, so hope that you don't get a noisy neighbor who wants to stay up late.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    115
    22
    9
    21
See reviews for
25
171
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

my boyfriend and I stayed here 2/25, only one night on a whim as we drove to LA from Maine. After having been in the car for days, it was such a relief to pull up to venice on the beach hotel! found a room with an ocean view (thanks trip advisor!) for as much as I would pay for a hotel by the airport. amazing! even though I made a last minute reservation, we were greeted with open arms by greg and his staff. the hotel is like a bed and breakfast bc of the limited number of rooms, but it is very much a boutique hotel. the rooms are quaint, but it's part of the charm! the room was as promised, and not only did we have a view of the ocean, the location was amazing. very close to Washington Blvd, so even though its on venice boardwalk, it's very much away from the hustle but it's still right there(does that make sense?) breakfast was beautiful! (and part of the rate) and we sat outside and watched the waves as we ate. greg was an amazing "host" and I recommend this hotel 100%. it's def. a place I will go back to time and time again. I live in LA now and would pay money to stay there for a weekend "stay cation" I promise, you will not be disappointed! thank you greg and your staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Perfect location to explore Venice Beach - right on the seafront near the pier, on the quieter section of the boardwalk. The ideal place to stay on a stopover as it's only a 20 minute ($25) cab journey from LA airport and if you're jet-lagged, you can go for an early morning walk along the beach. I was up to see the sunrise and spotted a few early morning surfers, fishermen, a couple of seals, pelicans and dolphins.
Greg was incredibly welcoming and helpful in suggesting nice places to go for a beer and a bite to eat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right on Venice Beach. Our hotel room was right off the back lane parking lot so we didn't have much of a veiw from our room but that was fine as we only used it for sleeping and showering. The bed was very comfortable. They have cute vintage surfer art hanging on the walls. My only complaints about the rooms are that the bathroom is too small and the walls were paper thin. We were next to the stairs and heard people stomping up and down all the time.

The continental breakfast was the best I've ever had! There was good quality cereal, bagels, toast, fruit, juice and coffee. The rooftop eating area was great. It was a lovely experience to sit up there in the morning sun, watching the joggers go by as you ate breakfast. There were a limited amount of chairs up there so my only suggestion for improvement is to add more chairs.

The guy at the front desk was great. I don't remember his name but he was very friendly and always happy to recomend a resturant or give directions.

I actually didn't care much for the Venice Beach area. It seemed a little passed it's prime, but if I ever return I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a very quaint, comfortable Hotel. The bed was super soft and the ocean view room was well worth the price. Nice outdoor shared patio to relax on or an upstairs deck as well. The manager Greg very nice and helpful. Next time I am in L.A. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister n law and I stayed here for a week and it was fantastic. Greg made us feel welcome from when we first arrived. His hotel is located right next on the Water Front by the Pier, it was peaceful, the maid service is excellent, continental breakfast every morning. All the shops are right there. Muscle Beach and Santa Monica Pier are in walking distance as well as the famous Venice Canals. We were able to shop, eat and relax in peace. While there we were able to see the Whales migrating, dolphins and seal lions. Greg your the best!! Thank you and I highly recommend your Hotel to everyone!! We are back in Alaska now and believe me, we wish we were still right there in Room 14!

Room Tip: Our room was located in the middle of the top floor but there is a top balcony that is always open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I flew in from London and stayed at the Hotel this Christmas for about ten nights with my Son.
It has lots of things going for it and I honestly can't think of any draw backs, I have listed the best features below;

Great location, right on the beach, you can hear the surf pounding at night- Perfectly placed for walks along the Venice Beach Boardwalk, lots of good local restaurants. It was quiet enough to sleep yet close enough to the bars and shops that you had lots of palces to visit
Friendly knowledgable and helpful Greg (Manager)
Excellent Buffet Breakfast (Bagels, Cheese, Jams,Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Teas, Coffee)
Roof Top Terrace for lounging and people watching
Modern In room flat screen Television and Satellite System that was easy to operate
In room fridge sink/wet bar area and microwave (Not sure they all have this)
Good, thourough maid service every day
Free computer in reception for use and free Wi-Fi
Lending Library of Books and Magazines
Quality bedding and pillows!

Mail me if you have a question!


Free Parking

Room Tip: Ask Greg when you book, I suspect the ones at the front are premium, we had a roon with two queen be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice On The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.