We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On the beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a very quaint, comfortable Hotel. The bed was super soft and the ocean view room was well worth the price. Nice outdoor shared patio to relax on or an upstairs deck as well. The manager Greg very nice and helpful. Next time I am in L.A. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    125
    24
    9
    21
See reviews for
32
184
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister n law and I stayed here for a week and it was fantastic. Greg made us feel welcome from when we first arrived. His hotel is located right next on the Water Front by the Pier, it was peaceful, the maid service is excellent, continental breakfast every morning. All the shops are right there. Muscle Beach and Santa Monica Pier are in walking distance as well as the famous Venice Canals. We were able to shop, eat and relax in peace. While there we were able to see the Whales migrating, dolphins and seal lions. Greg your the best!! Thank you and I highly recommend your Hotel to everyone!! We are back in Alaska now and believe me, we wish we were still right there in Room 14!

Room Tip: Our room was located in the middle of the top floor but there is a top balcony that is always open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I flew in from London and stayed at the Hotel this Christmas for about ten nights with my Son.
It has lots of things going for it and I honestly can't think of any draw backs, I have listed the best features below;

Great location, right on the beach, you can hear the surf pounding at night- Perfectly placed for walks along the Venice Beach Boardwalk, lots of good local restaurants. It was quiet enough to sleep yet close enough to the bars and shops that you had lots of palces to visit
Friendly knowledgable and helpful Greg (Manager)
Excellent Buffet Breakfast (Bagels, Cheese, Jams,Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Teas, Coffee)
Roof Top Terrace for lounging and people watching
Modern In room flat screen Television and Satellite System that was easy to operate
In room fridge sink/wet bar area and microwave (Not sure they all have this)
Good, thourough maid service every day
Free computer in reception for use and free Wi-Fi
Lending Library of Books and Magazines
Quality bedding and pillows!

Mail me if you have a question!


Free Parking

Room Tip: Ask Greg when you book, I suspect the ones at the front are premium, we had a roon with two queen be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is good if you can get a good desk on it. It's right on the beach, minutes to 30 restaurants and has free parking so has a lot going for it.

We wanted to be near the airport and its only a 15min drive so perfect.

Only bad things are room size is really small and there is no furniture, so nowhere to sit and nowhere to put anything on like a cup of coffee!
Breakfast there's nowhere to eat (I think) we are in the room but its tricky without furniture. I'm sure in summer you could eat on the upstairs deck or downstairs patio. Both great spots.

All in all pretty good if you can get a good price oh and the beds are soon comfy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A fantastic little hotel right on the beach. Greg, the manager met us and knew our names as we walked in the door as we had a few travel issues and had emailed ahead to let him know we would be in a day late. Personal service++. He showed us our room and the facilities and assisted us with transport and attractions. We had a fridge and microwave in our room, which seems to be rare in the US, we are used to at least a fridge in standard Aussie hotel rooms. The room was quaint and clean, great value and a good continental breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This isn't a luxury hotel and the room was a bit rough but totally minor points compared to all the plus points. Right on the beach with an amazing rooftop deck, felt like we were in heaven watching the sunset over the ocean. The help yourself brekkie was a nice touch and convenient. The hotel is right in the middle of the action, close to a few fantastic restaurants and the eclectic Venice beach. Plus to get free parking was a huge bonus. This place has a cool laid back feel and really added a lot to our first experience of LA, am really glad we choose it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Let me start by saying you are in Los Angeles, expensive hotels and for the most paid parking! But if you still can find a affordable hotel on the perfect location (right on Venice Beach) you should be very happy. Venice on the beach is a small cosy hotel with small rooms (nicely decorated) but oke just for sleeping. Parking is an issue as many has written before, There are limited spaces behind the building and you get a parking pass (so you don't have to pay) from the hotel. But this is no quarantee you actually get a spot. I believe this is being said on several websites so quests can expect having to drive around and find a paid parking place. The hotel is situated right on Venice board walk and has a terrace just in front of the hotel and on the roof top. Spectacular views on the ocean! Just a short walk from the hotel to Venice Pier, shops, bars and restaurants. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights in september 2011.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice On The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.