We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great find in a perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last 4 days of our San Fran to LA roadtrip and it was the perfect way to finish of our holiday.
When we arrived the sun was just setting right over the Venice Beach Pier which made it impossible to NOT get a beach view room so we ended up paying a little bit extra than we had planned.
The room was a bit on the small side but was very clean and newly decorated with an OK-sized bathroom. We would have to say for the price per night was worth it for location.
Breakfast was good with all the usual small hotel trimmings only we would liked to have not had disposable cups, plates and bowls.
Greg (the owner) is full of local information and was very helpful to provide maps/route planners. The only thing he didn't do for us was clean our windows outside as promised when we arrived.
All in all we would recommend Venice On The Beach Hotel and hope to stay there again soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    125
    24
    9
    21
See reviews for
32
184
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hotel is located right on the beach! Great outdoor gated patio - Great rooftop deck! I was wishing I had brought my girl! C'mon man what else do you need! Greg, the owner was an incredibly down to earth cool dude! Just like all the locals! All the restaurants were just steps way
- the beach was right there in front of you! For a dude from Aspen - it was absolute Heaven!!
I jogged from Venice Pier to Santa Monica Pier and the scenery is out of this world - between the
ocean and the Bohemians! Screw the chains and let your hair down and enjoy Greg's laid back cool place right on the beach - Venice On The Beach Hotel is a Five Star Resort in my book!

Room Tip: You gotta spend the extra for the ocean view! Live a little!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Situated just on venice beach, it was perfect for our short stay. Continental breakfast of bagels, cereal and fruit is included. Great sitting area outside and on roof top where you can enjoy the view of the beach on your door step. Rooms are smallish but have big showers, and flat screen TVs.coffee available during the day. The girl checking us in was so unhelpful and seemed like she didn't really care, although the manager was the opposite and very nice. Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want to stay near venice beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perfectly located at the quiet end of the Venice boardwalk. Can't beat the location or the view from the upstairs deck or downstairs patio. Room is clean and equipped with everything you may need. Comfortable beds. Furnishings and decor are average. Nothing amazing or luxurious. Bathroom was a bit dingy (no light reached the shower). Appreciated the free and convenient parking.
Breakfast counter in the hall is a nice touch, but the coffee needs improvement. Seriously bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Found this on the Net, a great find, right on the beach literally, the boardwalk is out the back door. Had a room on the ground floor, we could hear the waves. Friendly welcome from Greg, helped get us sorted and gave tips about the locality. A good walk to the pier. Good eateries just a minutes walk away, reasonable and tasty. An hour's bus to The Grove (not so good) but only about 20 minutes to Fifth Street Promenade (much better actually than the Grove esp on Wednesdays with the street market). Room comfortable and clean, bed FANTASTIC, slept really well. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try if possible to get beach facing room, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is really a secret to be kept, actually. It is more than a boutique hotel. The theme is so lovely, manager Greg and his assistant are so kind, room was excellent, clean and tidy. And the Ocean view rooms which we have stayed are just perfect. The neighborhood is also safe, been outside for evening walks and the people around seemed just safe :) .

During our USA visit, we supposed to stay in LA just for two days and according to a friend of us who lived in LA for a while, we are recommended to stay around the Venice Beach , so I have checked tripadvisor for a value place for young couples as we are, and found this hotel, thank God. It is also possible to park your car, free of charge, by the parking places, even if you could not there are plenty of other public parking places around.

We had to chek in late, I mean around 11pm at night, talked to Greg about it and everything was OK when arrived to the hotel.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: try to stay in an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was hotel number 4 of 4 on our U.S trip.

Im sure I read somewhere that the hotel was described as a "boutique hotel", now this term usually means its small and its has a theme, and in this instance, it was as you would expect.

You cant fault the location, if you walk out the front of the hotel there is approx 15foot to walk until your toes are in venice beaches sand, also its nicely located because its not in the middle of the crazyness that can be seen on the beachfront, but its close enough that you can dip in and out of that area and also really close to some nice shops and restaurants etc.

The room is the place where I have the most issues and they are as follows:

The room and bathroom was tiny, infact, with the exception of the hole in the wall in the shower there was nowhere to place anything in the bathroom.
Microwave in the room, I could understand why they would have this is there was facilities to eat, i.e sitting area or knives and forks etc in the room but there wasnt so what do you need a microwave for?
No safe, big one for me considering all the gadgetry I travel with
Average wi-fi
And the big one no air-con in the rooms, ok you can leave the windows open but this really didnt take the edge off some very warm nights, surely air-con is standard in hotel rooms nowdays?

Saying that the room was very clean with a nice comfy bed and big flat screen tv on the wall and plenty of storage space in drawers and a closet.

One other major issue I had was parking.

They pre-warn you about only having 8 spaces at the hotel, however, it doesnt help when you come in from an evening out and have to spend over an hour driving round the local streets because you cant park outside your hotel, and due to some dodgy advice, you end up with a parking ticket for the honour. Sadly on our penultimate evening this put us off driving out for dinner for fear of not getting parked again the next day.

Would I stay there again?

Despite the above I would jump at the chance but the main reason is for the location, however I would pay for a bigger room as the size of the room/bathroom was a slight issue.

Room Tip: pay for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice On The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.