We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you are on a budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood City Inn to your Saves list
Hollywood City Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 N. Western Ave., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4807 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent if you are on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

When looking for a fairly cheap yet decent hotel in LA we had massive difficulties, there just didn't seem to be much apart from very expensive hotels.
Im so glad we eventually found the Hollywood City Inn. Upon arrival at the hotel we were a little anxious, as its a little ugly looking from outside. However, when we checked in at reception the staff were very helpful and our room was very nice. It was exactly what we needed, clean and tidy, no frills but thats not what we were looking for anyway.
Theres free internet access in the reception area, leaflets on all the tourist events and breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is also in a good location, a 2 min walk from a metro, which we used lots- its a great way to get around!
Overall I would throughly reccommend this hotel if your not bothered about frills!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    208
    143
    27
    30
See reviews for
102
187
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Inn is a good choice fora budget stay in LA. The room was comfortable but showed more than a sign of age, which is the only reason I don't feel like giving it 4/5. Quite limited choice of food for breakfast, but it's there, included in the room rate. Good location for driving to the Studios, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, and downtown. Free parking is a treat in LA. Overall a good choice for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a great value hotel. Nice, well maintained pool area with beautiful roses all around. The room was absolutely fine. No complaints at all. We really enjoyed our donut breakfast sat by the pool in the wonderful LA sunshine! How I wish all breakfast times could be like that - although not so good for the waistline. Never mind! Handy to have parking at the hotel as well, and it was easy to find also. The staff were quite helpful. There isn't a lot of bars, restaurants, etc, that we could find in the immediate vicinity but it is great as a base. Loved LA as well, have to say!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights here with our 2 children in a downstairs 2x queen room. The room was pleasant and clean and a good size, beds comfortable. The pool area was very nice to relax in after a busy day. There was breakfast of pastries, mainly donuts, one cereal, milk, juice, tea and coffee available in the small lobby but you need to eat it by the pool or in your room. The donuts were (too) delicious but my stomach had had enough by the third morning!
There was a station across the road but we didn't use it as we had a car. There were also a couple of nice Thai restaurants within walking distance, a McDonalds and a few supermarkets which were handy.
The immediate area was a little seedy, especially at night although it didn't seem particularly unsafe - short drive to Walk of Fame and close to Universal Studios. Overall it was nice to return here after a long day of tourist activities and a great budget option.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Ideally located (subway, Hollywood Bld at 200 yards, Freeway entrance/exit just 3 blocks away), very kind and helpful staff, free parking and well equiped rooms (refrigerator, microwave oven), will make a very pleasant stay. We booked nights 3 times in 2009 and 2011 and we will come back there for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was a good choice if you want to stay in LA for a budget price. It's a bit old fashioned but clean. Breakfast is nothing more than doughnuts and cakes but they are really fresh and tastefull. A Subway restaurant is around the corner if you want to have a better breakfast.
A ten minutes drive brings you to downtown LA. The highway entrance is near the hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Firstly, talk about nearby amenities around the hotel
walking distance to Metro (Hollywood/Western Station)
walking distance to CVS pharma, Ralphs, and Starbucks!
FREE carpark!!

Secondly, talk about the hotel itself
Ultra accommodating and friendly staff! ask them questions, they will glady help.
Quiet area/street, Clean room, no bugs no smell!
Breakfast is great, donuts and milk!! Orange Juice available depend on availability.
Has got a pool. So do take a dip if necessary!
Free internet! Remember to get the ID and password before proceed to your room

Room Tip: Go via their website to reserve a rm! good price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood City Inn

Address: 1615 N. Western Ave., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4807
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood City Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood City Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.