We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Moroccan restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babouch

Babouch
810 S. Gaffey St., Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Harbor)
310-831-0246
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,365 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Harbor
Tsugaru, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“My favorite Moroccan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My Dad taught me a love for Moroccan food at an early age, and I only wish he'd lived long enough for me to have taken him to Babouch. I was blessed by the fact that this restaurant was so close to home when I lived in San Pedro (L.A. Harbor) from 2007-2011, and I still make a point of dropping in there whenever I visit L.A. on leave. Great food (especially the Bastiya), great drink (try the Casa beer imported from Morocco), and great atmosphere (the friendly service of co-owners and brothers Kemal and Yussuf AKA Joseph, not to mention the friendly services and AWESOME belly-dancers). It's not just a dining experience, it's an adventure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food, service, ambiance, belly dancers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived at 7 and were greated with a half hour of fantastic belly dancing. I felt like I was in 1001 Arabian nights. The tent ceilings, Morrocan chandaliers, rugs, Morrocan tables and comfortable couches. It is small so the dancers are close. A male and female dancer with lots of shaking, hips and bellies that move faster and in ways that mine never could. Some of the diners got involved, one was quite good, a 5 year old and several men and women.
The service was attentive without being pushy. They wash your hands at the table. The shrimp and tomato appetizer was absolutely delicious. Honey chicken with prunes and sesame seeds - wow. My squeazes catch of the day -filet of sole was outstanding. Baclava for desert.
The first glass of cabernet sauvignon came from a bottle that had been open too long but the second - either because I was more mellow or more likely from a fresh bottle was great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere... no belly dancers in sight.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nice setting and decor, good food in very small portions... no belly dancers on Thursday nights apparently, which was specifically what we went there for. I should have called to check about the dancers. The restaurant's website carefully does not mention when belly dancers may be performing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I cannot say enough positive things about Babouch. I love taking friends and family there. We have delicious rabbit and lamb, watch belly dancers, and have a tarot card reading. It's always a delight. It's a favorite of my children; and although you don't see a lot of other children there, the ones you do see are always well behaved and used to eating in restaurants. It is very reasonably priced, but it can be very busy. I love the Moroccan decor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Interesting, unique.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is an enjoyable, clean restaurant with very good service. We did the a la carte dinner rather than the price fix. The food was nicely spiced, but nothing special. A female belly dancer entertained.....the male dancer didn't. If you find an online coupon for a discount, read it closely before you decide on your dinner choice. Prices are reasonable. Dinner for two, tax, and tip came to about $60......not including drinks. Fun!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babouch also viewed

 

Been to Babouch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babouch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.