We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Rail

Metro Rail
One Gateway Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2952 (Central L.A)
1.800.COMMUTE
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 702 things to do in Los Angeles
Activities: Group tours/train
Attraction details
Beaufort
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glorious days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Used this method of transportation many times in our 9 day stay. All drivers were extremely helpful with directions and watching for our stops. Never lost which was very comforting. Definitely the way to travel around LA and San Diego. Very reasonable fares.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Riding the Gold Line in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Light rail from Union Station to Pasadena - jump on and off for coffee in Highland Park, lunch at the Orange Grove in Pasadena and a walk around Old Pasadena town. Great way to see LA

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good option for visitors and local people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

During our visit in LA, we used metro everyday! It was cheap ($5 per day) and we went everywhere we can using the metro. Didn't need to rent a car or take a bus. They may need to renovate a little bit but in overall good option for transportation!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very affordable! Thought it was quite quiet considering it is LA until people start yelling random things to no one in particular, or dripping blood everywhere, or doing drugs and trying to pedal their wares.... Only saw a couple of people with children traveling and they looked terrified - immediately jumping off at the next stop. There was no helpful information at any of the stations we visited (including bus stops) nor were there any people nearby to lend assistance. There are no bus lanes so the buses are stuck in traffic along with everyone else.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get way to see SoCal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have been using the Metro weekend pass for a long time and what a bargain it is. It used to be a better bargain when you could get a weekend pass for $10 but the daily weekend pass for $10 still beats driving anywhere in SoCal and then trying to find parking. The Metro keeps expanding and you can travel to most areas very easily. We have taking many trips with friends to Oceanside, San Juan Capistrano, LA, Santa Monica and Hollywood. We have taken trains from Rialto and Riverside and the stations are well lit and have security so you feel safe and comfortable about leaving a vehicle in the lot. The $10 weekend day pass also covers Metro Light rail and most metro buses. Check out the Metro to the Orange County Fair and express bus to the fair grounds. If you get the weekend day pass it covers the train to Orange County, and the Express Bus to the gate of the fair grounds and return. Plus they give you a coupon on the bus for $3.00 admission to the fair. There is no way you can drive there for that price. We love the Metro, no traffic hassle, no parking hassle and it is fun to do with a group of friends.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Rail also viewed

 

Been to Metro Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Rail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.