We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Frosted Flake encrusted French Toast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at the Standard

The Restaurant at the Standard
8300 W. Sunset Blvd. (Sweetzer Ave.), Los Angeles, CA 90069 (Central L.A)
323-650-9090
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #722 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Try the Frosted Flake encrusted French Toast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Breakfast items were all delicious but the French Toast was most memorable. The staff was friendly and quick

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“neat little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had breakfast here. Good service with a view of the Strip. Sort of set up like a coffee shop or cafe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was in LA for a conference in April 2013 and ate at the restaurant in the Standard hotel two times (one for lunch and one for dinner).

In terms of the positives, they do have a great patio. It was sunny and warm on the day we were there, and sitting outside was great. It was a nice atmosphere. Inside, they have bright coloured yellow, diner style booths. I ate there at dinner and with the lights down low, you didn't even see the bright colour.

For the food, it was OK and nothing outstanding. I had a salad both times I was there, and it was nothing spectacular. The size of the desserts was also a bit small. We ordered two for the table (chocolate tart and strawberry short cake), and for $8 each, I expected something a bit bigger.

The real problem was the service. I could overlook the average food if the service was good, but unfortunately it was not. It was very slow for our lunch. We had a large group of more than 20 people, and it took forever for them to come over and take our order, and to get bread, drinks and then the meals. We were on a timeframe to get back to the conference, and the slow service was not good. For a group that size, and given what we were paying, we expected something a bit faster. That being said, the service in the evening was fine, just not at the lunch.

Overall, I would say the best part of the restaurant was the atmosphere. But I am not sure it outweighs the service and food concerns.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cool looking place, just so so food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The restaurant decor was very cool, although if you hate yellow stay away. The service was very good and the food just so so. Definitely more a hipster experience than a foodie, if that's your thing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great family meal before taking off for the airport. Delicious food , extremely generous portions and a nice varied choice. Milkshakes were very popular with our teens.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Standard also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at the Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at the Standard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.