We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must have Prime Rib and the Clam Chouder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buggy Whip - CLOSED

Buggy Whip
7420 La Tijera Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (Westside)
3106453171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: 405 FWY
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“You must have Prime Rib and the Clam Chouder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stop here EVERYTIME I'm in LA. A short drive from LAX. You can stand up a spoon in the chouder and enjoy a great prime rib....get here a little early for happy hour

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“good ole buggy whip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A throwback to 70's inside in an area that does not have a lot of restaurants - Quiet lunch spot for business and service is excellent by experienced no nonsense. Everytime I meet someone half way from the West Side of LA coming from down south they say the same thing. Easy location, nice atmosphere, a great spot. Food is all home made and the fish and seafood are great-- real FRESH - - Had a great shrimp and crap salad with great rolls and my guest had the Mahi Mahi. They have a full seafood and beef style steak house menu. YES, THEY HAVE GREEN GODESS SALAD DRESSING.
We had a really nice lunch and were never rushed - Not expensive for the size portions, service and quality of ingrediants. Also close to airport for killing time before flights.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, but what a dump!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

While on vacation we ate dinner at the Buggy Whip based on a recommendation from a local. The food was absolutely wonderful and plentiful. The dual lobster dinner was excellent and the prime rib was out of this world. I shared the prime rib dinner with my wife and we both went away stuffed with yummy food. My only complaint is the green beans were bland and tasted like cheap frozen product.

Unfortunately, the building and facilities are in bad need of updating. There was a damp, moldy smell when we entered the dining room (no, the restaurant is not on the beach) and the furnishings and fixtures need replaced. I guess some like the "step back in time", but I'm sure the owners make enough money to keep the furnishings fresh and classic instead of outdated and crusty.

Overall, the excellent food overshadowed the gloomy, outdated environment. The service was pleasant and effective, but nothing I'd claim to be outstanding. The prices are pretty high - $40 for the prime rib dinner - but it was more than enough food for two people, which makes the price quite affordable for the quantity and quality of food. My son and father-in-law shared the lobster dinner and had plenty to eat. If the facilities were in better condition, I would gladly give the Buggy Whip an excellent rating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did Sinatra Eat Here?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

In this retro setting, I'd expect to see Frank Sinatra dining with his cronies in one of the upholstered booths, or Dino crooning with the piano player in the bar. The food is quite good, the way I remember a special night out, and the service is spot on: friendly and efficient without any gimmicks. Our waiter knew the history of the place and, like an old friend, answered any questions we had. But he didn't loiter or neglect his other patrons. My husband and I lit up when we saw Sand Dabs on the menu because they aren't offered many places. The Buggy Whip Sand Dabs were excellent -- and plentiful!! The drinks were generous, too. We found every employee to be friendly and helpful. This is a good, solid experience for diners who want good food, good service, and no pretensions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very good atmosphere and food was teriffic. I had pepper steak which was delicious. Others also raved about meal. Large portions so doggy bags all around. Service very good and very pleasant. Pricey but....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buggy Whip also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buggy Whip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.