We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place. Visit every time I go to California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claim Jumper

Claim Jumper
9429 Tampa Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91324-2700 (North San Fernando Valley)
818-718-2882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #903 of 8,552 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: North San Fernando Valley
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place. Visit every time I go to California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great service - everytime. The old standards of "black bean steak chili in the sourdough bowl", "goldrush chicken", "chicken pot pie", not to mention the "chocolate motherlode cake" just have no equal. I've made myself hungry. Someone give me a plane ticket. Please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    10
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sourdough bread bowls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Good ok but not San Francisco sourdough bowls but good and in Northridge!
With clam chowder very good
Extensive menu lots of choices
Recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Claim a great meal at Claim Jumper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We go to Claim Jumper about once every year as not everyone in our going out group like the huge portions and the long wait. But wait! Last time we checked, you could call in for a reservation and they would guarantee a table for you within 1/2 hr. after your arrival. There is a large bar area and happy hour munchies at half the price of the regular hours.

The salad bar is gigantic and clean and the menu is gigantic also meaning if you go there hungry you will want one of everything. More than enough to share a dinner with a companion, date, or spouse and can always take it home and claim it as your own leftovers!

A word of caution however. When taking a group of teen agers there after the movies across the parking lot, one ordered an appetizer which is also offered as a entre and she was brought the entree even though the waiter knew each teen had a budget and all were ordering small plates.
We got it fixed financially, and the lesson learned was to point to the selection and mention the price if your'e going to order something on the page Also, if the soft drinks are not listed with prices, be sure to ask the cost and if refills are free or not. .

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

May have just been a bad night, but was there last week and service was poor. We we were not all served food together, orders were wrong. You felt if you didn't flag down a waiter you would be left out there with no help. Very disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time and the food was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Food tasted great and the salad bar was fresh and clean. Service was tip top

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claim Jumper also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Claim Jumper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claim Jumper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.