We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconsistently good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki Japanese Restaurant

Kabuki Japanese Restaurant
20940 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91364-2340 (South San Fernando Valley)
818-704-8700
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,704 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“inconsistently good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ate 4x here during biz trip. sushi excellent, out of uni for one full week, service mostly great but had on server who misunderstood items that don't even sound the same (seared tuna ordered, mackerel served?) sushi very goo, though did get a gristly salmon cut one time. Found the fish to avocado proportion wrong in the rolls. still, reliable and rice good, just a but sloppy and some servers edgy rather than professional at the bar- would not admit mistaken delivery,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yum, yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have visited Kabuki Restaurant in Woodland Hills on a couple of occasions and at both times the food and service have both been good.

The menu is vast : The Chicken/beef Teriyaki with prawn & vegetable tempura was delicious;Calamari starter very nice; all very generous portions.

All four people in our group left happy and satisfied!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited Kabuki Restaurant in Woodland Hills,CA twice on our 8 day stay.
To start the Garlic Edamame were to die for. Dragon Roll was so good we ordered it both times.
My friend loved the tempura udon and the chilled sake was delightful with meals.
The service was outstanding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went to 'The Valley' for the week. My niece Nicole graduated from high school (go girl!!) Friday and we, (my sister Dina, her sis-in-law Meryl, my cousin Stace, girl of honor Nicole and her BFF's Jayne, Karyn, and Bridgit went here for dinner Weds while the gents had guys nite somewhere!!
Loved it all - very helpul that Dina is a regular here so no ordering just eating!! and yes we did do a respectable amount of drinking beer and sake bombs!. We took a limo (yea over the top - but knew we were all going to drink, and Meryl's hubby has connections!!!!) and the entire evening was fantastic!
No idea what all we ate, but it was so delicious and very fresh. Not alot of sauces to disguise the freshness which was nice!
Recommend it? Absolutely!
Susan

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Yummy Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I highly recommend Kabuki at Howard Hughes Center in LA. Not only is the food delicious and healthy :-) They have an excellent rewards program. My personal menu favorite is the Chilean Sea Bass. It is also an excellent place to take friends and out of town guests!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Kabuki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.