We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BNguyen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maccheroni Republic

Maccheroni Republic
332 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA (Downtown)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 7,962 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
1 review
“BNguyen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We normally go to the west side for Italian but this time we decided downtown cuz one of my nephew highly recommended this spot. He said that this place made the best pasta dishes in L.A and that's all he needed to say. Nephew was dead on...!! Amazing food, friendly staff and prices is extremely modest for the quality of the food. Can't wait to go back to try the rest of the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Gnocchi in all of L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want mouth melting gnocchi with a fantastic meat ragout and mushrooms run don't walk to Maccheroni. I grew up helping grandma in the kitchen making gnocchi and for the last 20 years since she departed this world, I haven't found a place that makes gnocchi like my grandma until now! I literally got choked up with such excitement and memories from the moist melt in your mouth gnocchi I had to pull out the iPad and write this review.
Had the ricotta dessert and espresso and it was right on!
Will definitely be back and bring the family.
Again, just go and experience a great homemade meal!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First trip to Maccheroni Republic. Love the vibe of downtown folks. Very family feel to the place. Food was good. Best was the eggplant roll-up apps. They don't have a liquor license yet so it's BYOB.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian Experience in downtown LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

While on a recent trip to LA, we had the opportunity to dine at Maccheroni Republic. Service, atmosphere and cuisine were all wonderful.. The restaurant is run by an Italian ex-pat and. The. Dishes are truly exemplary. Not your typical American Italian experience. They do not sell wine but you can bring your own without a corkage fee. Try it...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Little Place for Great Food, Unexpected Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had read a review before and was curious. Situated where it is, I had my doubts about visiting at night (on Broadway in LA). However, we were pleasantly surprised. This is a very small neighborhood Italian eatery that serves great food!

Lack of Alchohol license earns this place one less point, but they almost earn it back by not having a corkage fee so, BYOB (or wine). The pastas were perfectly cooked. We had both the pesto sauce and the red. The red was an interesting flavor, not too strong, not too dark, more of a Chef Boyardeeish sauce, but no in a bad way, just the opposite. Sorry, I don't know how to describe the flavor any other way.

The place was busy, and noisy, but cozy and full of life in this otherwise lifeless block. The service wasn't the quickest, or the most consistent, or attentive. However, the "manager"(?) was apologetic. Hey, these are real Italians, seemingly fresh off the boat (I am a Dago myself, so don't get spun up), so perhaps you should interpret terseness as rudeness.

Bottom Line: grab your wine and head to Maccheroni Republic, and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maccheroni Republic also viewed

 

Been to Maccheroni Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maccheroni Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.