We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hal's Bar & Grill

Hal's Bar & Grill
1349 Abbot Kinney Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3739 (Venice)
310-396-3105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hal's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #751 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Venice
Cross street: California
River Edge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend and I dined at Hal's in September. We were nicely greeted and escorted to our table. This is not your average bar and grill eatery. The food is really very good and the staff makes you feel comfortable from the moment you enter. I can't wait to go again, this time for the jazz.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.E. Tasmania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After trying to find a park closer to Venice beach, we found a free parking spot a few blocks away, then came across Hal's bar and grill so decided to go in for lunch.

The food and service were very good and quite reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Meet Me at Hal's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This has been around for a long time and is always a great spot to meet with friends. The food is consistently good, you're likely to run into friends and service has always been good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Located in a great walking area, we stopped into Hal's for dinner the other night. They were packed, as they always seem to be, so we sat at the bar. We had a wonderful server/bartender who was working at warp speed and not missing a beat. I had a tremendous mixed seafood dish and my husband had a huge pork chop. The guy next to me had a turkey burger that looked fantastic as well. Live music on Sunday and Monday night with a friendly, mostly local crowd. We did the a Sunday night several months ago and loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent entrees, great wines, wonderful desert, and atmosphere in a great location near Venice Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hal's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hal's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hal's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.