We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic American Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Drive-In

Mel's Drive-In
1650 N Highland Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)
(323) 465-2111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #510 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic American Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I always like heading to Mel's for that authentic American eating experience. They have booths or you can sit outside and people watch. Great selection of food (almost too much to make a decision) and the service is always friendly. A nice place, not pretentious like other eateries in the area and good, honest food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    114
    50
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Love it! A great base too...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate at Mel's twice during our stay in Los Angeles. The service was excellent on both occasions, and the food was everything it should be - tasty, filling, and plentiful. We LOVED the chilli cheese burgers, outstanding. The restaurant is clean, with a great atmosphere... and many a famous name can be spotted in the pictures on the walls!

Mel's is also a great base if you're going sightseeing and have a car. The car park is 10 dollars for the day, and you get money off if you eat in the diner. From here, you can do the HollyWood Museum (which is next door to Mel's) which we thoroughly enjoyed, the Red Line Tours Hollywood Behind The Scenes ticket booth is just around the corner, and its only a 20 second walk to Hollywood Blvd.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“The Drive-In Standard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want comfort food Mels is the place. Service is fast and friendly. You'll be eating real good food quiok. Anything that includes gravy is a good bet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Franchise resting on laurels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Really bad food, folks. Haven't been to a Mel's in any location that was worth the $$. No excuse for such poor fare and such a disappointing experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food good, atmosphere fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

By the time we sat down at Mel's we were really ready to eat. We'd had a full day of sight seeing. The service was good, the foot was yummy and I really enjoyed the old diner atmosphere and 50s music. This place was a treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Drive-In also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Mel's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.